Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Willow Springs Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 969 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

My son loves being at this school and I can see how fast he is learning and how he loves to go to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2014

Willow Springs is an awesome school! My kids have excelled there. My son is now in all Pre-AP classes in middle school! My daughter is reading and learning at a high level! The staff and teachers are always friendly and helpful! It deserves a much higher rating than a 2 out of 10! It is at least a 6 or 7 out of 10 bar none!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2014

BEST PLACE I'VE EVER WORKED! Awesome admin and staff! Things are turning around at WSES. A difference is being made by a great staff who cares :))
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 22, 2014

This school has been the biggest disappointment since moving here. In my child's case they have a great teacher. However, she is faced with too many students that do not know how to behave, so most of her time is wasted trying to get them to behave which takes away from the students who are really trying to learn. Also, students are not allowed to talk during lunch at this school because the teachers cannot control the noise level. Recess is short and the days are long. On top of all of this there is a lot of bullying going on. It makes for a long, grueling day for children. I hope they are able to correct these issues. My children will not be returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

This is my child's second year attending here. I have been incredibly pleased! My child's teacher, Ms. Kunz, has been fantastic! She keeps us updated on everything! The principal has been so kind. We haven't had a single negative experience in dealing with any of the staff. Our child is excited to go to school each and every day. We really couldn't ask for a better school. It is incredibly disappointing to see some of the ratings. Please do not go off of the negative ratings though. Sadly, so many people do not have feedback until it is something negative. We really enjoy the area we are in. We're a short distance from the school. They do a phenomenal job at keeping traffic flowing even being near a very busy neighborhood. The neighborhoods surrounding the school have been quiet since we've lived here, and the kids friendly. The staff makes it a point to greet each and every student and parent each morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

Willow Springs has had trouble in the past. But, that was in the PAST! It is under new leadership and has improved immensely. Willow Springs MET the standards for last year's STAAR test and will continue to do so! Willow Springs offers excellent opportunities for children to learn. It has opportunities for parent to become engaged in their child's education through volunteer opportunities, PTO, and a parent liaison. I am the parent of a 1st grader who attends here now and a 7th grader who attended here when it had issues. If given the opportunity to change schools when my 7th grader was at Willow Springs, I would have jumped at the opportunity. Now, I wouldn't want to change schools at all. Mrs. Pennington, the principal, is an outstanding leader who completely understands the needs of an elementary school. She is a leader who leads by example. She is always concerned about the well being of her staff, students and their families. She goes above and beyond to see to it that the needs for success are met. Please understand that the low rating on this website is primarily based on the PAST issues. No one can please everyone, but it definitely deserves a much higher rating now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2013

avoid THIS SCHOOL if you can , no homework , kids out of control , and allot of teachers,don't seem bothered by the lack of curriculum,fights, pants being pulled down cutting backpacks w/scissors, kissing in bathrooms, just do your research.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

I just register my kid in willow spring,and Iam looking forward for a great year for him,the reviews are not great ,but i'll put my effort and will get involved to help get things better.my first impression when I enter...well fisrt of all they need to clean the hallways better,there is an unpleasant smell.Also they are not very organized and I think they need more people to help ,later I will be posting in regards teachers,office staff,etc
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

The staff has been increibly welcoming, polite, and helpful. Our daughter seems to be very enthusiastic about her "new school." We were a bit hesitant to send her here given the previous ratings and school's performance. However, there is a new principal is charge this year. They seem to be off to a fabulous start! They had a welcoming orientation prior to "Meet the Teacher" night for the pre-k group. That was wonderful for the parents to be able to see where their babies would be going. We were very happy about that. "Meet the Teacher" night is a bit busy. That would've been a bit overwhelming first school experience for these young children. They seem to take security very seriously with the children - 100% ID check which as a parent I appreciate tremendously. I've seen nothing but smiles from the kids. Looking forward to a super great year for our daughter!! The school is also very diverse which we can appreciate!!! What a wonderful learning opportunity to be with children of all different backgrounds!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

2011-2012 I had both of my girls in this school. Pre-K and 4th grade. Pre-K was good (could've been better) but 3rd and 4th was horrible. Our oldest is quite smart, but gets bored REAL fast of the subject once she's learned the subject. The teachers would tell us that they would challenge her, but never did. They made her sit and be quiet while everyone else finished their work since she was done. She did this for a couple of weeks and then quit all together because she was bored. You could NEVER get in to talk to the principle, but you could talk to the VP. Not that that did any good. Yes, We understand your concerns and we promise that we'll address these issues. Yet nothing again would be done! I am SO glad that neither of my girls will attend this school again! A few of the teachers taught my girls discrimination and I am NOT okay with this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2012

We've only been through pre k and kindergarten and so far I'm happy with them. The teachers we have had so far are great!! The principle is awesome, you can tell he loves and cares for the students!! I see him e dry morning and afternoon when dropping off and picking up. I've spoken with him on several instances and he has addressed the problem every time!! We are going into 1st grade and a new student into pre k. Looking forward to another great year!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

I immediately pulled both my children out of WSES. The TAG program is non-existant (was told that my TAG student would not get the gifted education she was entitled too, and that I should just move her up a grade so she doesn't get bored... within the first 2 weeks at school, I transferred her to another elementary school in KISD that did have a TAG program). The principal runs for cover when a parent requests to see him, and the office looks at and speaks to parents like we are an inconvenience. Parking/pick up is unbelievable, with the admin not doing anything to direct horrible traffic (was almost hit a few times trying to cross parking lot due to parents blatantly parking at the "no parking" signed curb). Even after Killeen Police have been called several times, admin stands by and tells us "parents will do what they want - we can't control them". Another occasion, it took admin 4 days to clear an active wasps nest at the pre-k pick up door, even as we were dodging active wasps swooping down at us while we grabbed our children and ran. I just PRAY that my daughters in-district transfer is approved again next year. I would rather home school then have my children attend WSES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

I was a student at this school many years ago and I would like to know if my teacher still works there or anyone knows Mirian Jacob if anyone could help me please please please let me know thank you ...


Posted January 24, 2012

I have 2 daughters going to this school. I give one star since the pre-k seems to be a great class for my youngest. My oldest is in 4th grade and this school is so unorganized. I hope come next year neither of my girls will have to attend this school again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

We are a military family, much like most of the other families in this area. We moved here from GA. My daughter went to Willow Springs for a week before I withdrew her and put her in a wonderful private school. When she was at Willow Springs she had some adjusting to do, remember we did just move her 1000 miles away from everything she knew. She was in kindergarten. She was misbehaving and acting out a little but most schools understand that it is her adjusting. No, not this school. I had a parent/teacher meeting her 6th day into being in this school for her behavior. The teacher actually sat there and told me that my daughter needed counseling. They didn't even give her time to adjust. Plus she was already reading, that's how far ahead GA schools are. They were learning the letter B in January at Willow Springs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

My son has gone here for 3 years. We moved and my son has adjusted to the new school at all as he has PDD. The principal has helped wtih getting him transferred back to WSES. Although I wish they would help more with getting him the therapy he needs for his PDD. He needs in school therapy. I will have to go to other people to make the school help him this year. Good school though
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

I am truly happy that my child is a student at Willow Springs. There are a few things that I would like to see happen. More extracurricular activities for the Kindergarten class. The P.E. Room with central air and heating.Also there have been a few occassions that I have not felt as though the office staff was as attentive as they should of been. I should feel at ease with all the staff and I can't say I feel that with the front office staff. Parents are involved in many of the activities and programs. We adore all of our childs teachers. Her home room teacher is wonderful. When we pick our child up she always has a great report about how much she learned or what she did that day in her classes. The fact that she can tell me what she learned says alot to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

The tag program is great. Ms Anderson the thrid grade tag is the best that they come. This year in 4th grade it seems to be the total oppisite. This is the first year my child has dreaded going to school every day. However on the positive side the principal and school counsler are wonderful and have been a big help. If only every teacher was a Ms Anderson, then all the kids would have the best of the best and the stuff going on this year would not be happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2004

my child is attending this school. it is very advanced teaching wise. before my child came to this school, he was at a cicero school bearly being teached anything,like 2+2=4. When he transfered over to Willow springs school they were teaching division and fractions. The teachers took there time and teached him well and he is now a honor student. He was also struggling to read, not anymore. great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

We've had 2 children at this school for 2 years. It has taken 18 mos to get the schools attention that my children were in accelerated classes prior to enrolling here. As a result, I now have 2 children losing interest in their education at school, but are still eager to learn at home. Make sure you are heard when you need to voice your concerns. It shouldn't take kids being literally 'bored to tears'...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

136 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

137 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

121 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

121 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

117 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

111 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

114 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female77%
Male73%
Black or African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education60%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students60%
Female58%
Male63%
Black or African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education50%
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant60%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female83%
Male84%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education100%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students82%
Female79%
Male84%
Black or African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education100%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students88%
Female92%
Male85%
Black or African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female93%
Male84%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education50%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students84%
Female93%
Male77%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education60%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students65%
Female63%
Male67%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education33%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)14%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant65%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Female69%
Male58%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education29%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted63%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students42%
Female42%
Male42%
Black or African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Special education0%
Not special education44%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant42%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted41%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Female58%
Male50%
Black or African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander60%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Special education7%
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant53%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted53%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students44%
Female44%
Male44%
Black or African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracial33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander40%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Special education7%
Not special education50%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant44%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted44%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students45%
Female58%
Male35%
Black or African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special education21%
Not special education49%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant45%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted45%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Female68%
Male64%
Black or African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education42%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant66%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students55%
Female56%
Male54%
Black or African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education31%
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant55%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted55%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students57%
Female50%
Male63%
Black or African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education42%
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)14%
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant57%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 13%
Hispanic 21% 52%
White 16% 29%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 7%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DENISE PENNINGTON
Fax number
  • (254) 519-5606

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2501 West Stan Schlueter Loop
Killeen, TX 76549
Website: Click here
Phone: (254) 336-2020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT