Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Liberty Hill Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 873 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Killeen

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $153,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 7, 2013

This school is horrible! The children are out of control and the teachers and principles are unable to take that control back. Bullying is rampant and school administration is slow in taking care of discipline problems. Lack of supervision is also a problem. My child doesn't feel like she can talk to teachers about any issues because she feels they're unapproachable. There is just a general lack of discipline from the children and no control by the administration. We're transferring our child to a different school! Don't send your kids here if you can help it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

This school is absolutely horroable !!! My son went here for 3 years and turned from a happy child into a depressed child ! Now my daughter is here and I already seen big changes in her behavior and I will not look at this and say nothing this time > This week my daughter had to draw pictures of terrorist , war and murder !! Im asking everybody as a mother : what kind of school is this ????!!!! Not is it enough that they present war related pictures in their hallways , no ; children are getting sick in this school and are getting nightmares from doing their homework ! I will not let this happen any longer , I will bring this to the public and want that changes are happening there !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

My son is just finishing up his first 9 weeks of 6th grade here and so far I'm pretty disappointed. He is special needs and we had so much support from KISD elementary schools I was looking forward to that at the middle school level but I'm not seeing it. He will be attending Saturday detention for having forgotten his badge once and having 3 tardies while trying to change classes and work his locker in the crowd. Dealing with aspergers/adhd has been such a struggle and I'm shocked that these minor infractions will land him in detention but we are going to be big about it and then celebrate the fact that we are awesome despite others failure to see that as soon as detention is over :) I'll reserve further judgement on this school because I'm always hopeful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

Liberty Hill Middle School is bad. My son has had problems with this school from the beginning. He was on the Honor Roll throughout elementary school but has struggled to pass many of the classes here. They only offer liberal arts elective classes. The choir class has a requirement to attend too many after hours concerts. The orientation was a joke because everything they tell you at it gets changed once school gets started. He got several MORs because the tardy bell was five minutes early. When I pointed out that it didn't even agree with all the other clocks in the room, the secretary said that they knew it was broken, but that it was our responsibility to know what time it was at. This would be ok, except it kept changing. Bullying is a big issue at this school. When I went in to talk to the asst principal about it, there was a stack of 20 or so complaints from that week alone, and it was only Tuesday. The teachers need to stand out in the hallways or something. My son has came home several times and told me that he was given less than 5 minutes to eat lunch. He has had 5 different lockers this year because he either couldn't open or couldn't lock them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

I love this school. Teachers and staff are very professional and friendly always looking to help the students excell in their education to include the extracurricular activities. The Spanish Department goes beyond expectations in assisting the students and providing experience to students around the world. Way to go Mrs. Alago. LHMS proves with high TAKS scores they sure make a difference in the district.


Posted February 20, 2011

I love it at liberty hill. it's my 1st year here so it's kind of new. the teachers are helpful and really care. ive come sometimes telling my parents everything ive learned something i never could do in elementary school. this school also built my self confidence. i'm even more courageous than i was before. i love it here.


Posted December 10, 2010

i am a student at this school and i love it!!!! the teachers make sure that you understand everything. mrs. harris help me alot she works at the math center and helps you, so does mrs. nunes. this school has been a pleasure i will never forget my time at this school.


Posted April 19, 2010

I have been there for 10 years and I have had a wonderful time teaching and being a part of the lives of my students and their parents. It truly is my 'second home'.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2009

I'm currently an 8th grade at LHMS, and I wouldn't transfer for the world. The teachers take their own time out to help students, The history teachers always have a review after school on a day before a test, and the students are all distinct and have their own personality. It's a fun school to be at and finding your classes is a breeze. Go LHMS!!! ~8th Grader-Chan
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2009

Love everything about this school with the exception of one thing. Involvement with the PTA. If we get one, yes I said ONE, parent who is not a member of the board to show up for a PTA meeting it is a banner night. While I of course realize that people have things going on in thier life, I find it hard to believe that not a single person from any family can find 1 hour to spare 1 or 2 days a month. My only real regret is having to send my kid to High School next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2008

i see why they say liberty hill is the best school i nthe district. They get district in sports everyyear and get recognized in acadmics. The teachers do an excellent job. There is a non-tolerance for failing. The band is one of the best one day you should hear them. If your a parent i think you might consider to send your child to this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2008

The staff at the school continues to find new ways to baffle me with incompetence! I am convinced the administrations is aware of racial bullying problem but afraid to take action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

This school is absoluletly amazing. I enjoyed my three years there, and was very upset to leave. I feel this school has a made a great impression on me and I hope it will with all the other students as well. The band was outstanding with thanks to our band director Mr. Peterson, as well as theater arts, choir, athletics, lionettes, the cheer team, and acedemics. Teachers were very helpful and very nice. I almost made it out with straight A's which is not likely to come from me. It was probally the best three years of my life because people there just connect. I'm usually a little socially withdrawn but going there I made tons of new friends in only a few days. You are luck if your child attends this school. You should expect great things from them one day ~Formal Student Cassidy
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2007

liberty is a very great school and they really care about the kids nobody cannot beat the band, lionettes, sports,teachers,students nor the the best grades in town
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

The test scores and most of the teachers at Liberty Hill are amazing, but there are many discipline problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2007

This school served it's purpose while were there. My son had a lot of friends, however I felt like the teachers had little control over the halls and classroom. Some of the children were loud and unruly and it seemed like consequences for misbehavior was a joke and fell on deaf ears. There was ample chance for tutoring which I loved. On a scale of 1-10, I would give this school a 7.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

Hello everyone. I have had my two sons attend this school. This school is great, but it could be excellent only if we had more parents to attend the workshops that are provided threw the pta and join the pta ! Parent involvement this year has excelled along with the workshops offered. We are champions in everything we do !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

This school has shown that parent involvement increase the productivity of the schools performance. Teachers and administrators deserve a pat on the back for excellence in teaching. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

The staff at Liberty Hill are not at all concerned about the well being of our children. Staff should be on duty at the time they are assigned but they are not. When i go to the school i get little support from the staff and many times they've been extremely rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

Our son has attended LHMS for all three of his middle school years and we love it. The demographics are culturally diverse enough that the kids don't gang up on eachother, the academics are excellent - the teachers truly care about the kids and their learning and well being, and the band and drama depts. are the best in the area - the band director is great with the kids and really teaches them a lot, and the Theatre Arts teacher loves the kids and gets them so involved in every aspect of the arts - she even takes them to a Broadway show in Austin every year! We will miss LHMS when our son graduates and moves on to high school. If you're considering where to live when you move to Killeen or buying a house here, check out the neighborhood of LHMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

290 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

293 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

311 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

309 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

308 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

255 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

254 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

257 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

256 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female84%
Male79%
Black or African American75%
Asian90%
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education56%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented95%

Math

All Students73%
Female73%
Male73%
Black or African American68%
Asian100%
Hispanic76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education40%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female93%
Male85%
Black or African American89%
Asian82%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education68%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students88%
Female91%
Male86%
Black or African American83%
Asian91%
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education65%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students97%
Female99%
Male95%
Black or African American96%
Asian82%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education89%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education80%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Black or African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education93%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students80%
Female77%
Male84%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education63%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Black or African American98%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education88%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female86%
Male75%
Black or African American72%
Asian75%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education37%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students80%
Female87%
Male73%
Black or African American69%
Asian92%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education33%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Female76%
Male81%
Black or African American73%
Asian100%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education30%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students85%
Female85%
Male85%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education62%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students73%
Female74%
Male72%
Black or African American71%
Asian100%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education38%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)22%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female93%
Male86%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education65%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education83%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students79%
Female75%
Male82%
Black or African American74%
Asian91%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education50%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students69%
Female68%
Male71%
Black or African American67%
Asian73%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education28%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented89%
Non-Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 13%
Hispanic 24% 52%
White 20% 29%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 3%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • KURT HULETT
Fax number
  • (254) 953-4367

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4500 Kit Carson Trail
Killeen, TX 76542
Website: Click here
Phone: (254) 336-1370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Union Grove Middle School
Harker Heights, TX



Killeen Jjaep
Killeen, TX



Gateway Middle
Killeen, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT