Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ira Cross Jr Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 787 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Killeen

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $78,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

My son attended Ira Cross for one school year. It was awful. Before we moved to TX he was a B student. After one year at this school, we returned to NY and the teachers here informed me that he missed the equivalent of 2 school years. He fell so far behind and the curriculum was so behind. He is finally caught back up. As for the blue line and the whacked out nature of how they handle children.. You're better off with a different school. This was an awful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

Can't wait for the school year to finish by far one of the worst schools. My son loves to go to school until he was enrolled in this school. Since he's been at the school his attitude and his grades have been dropping. We have done parent teacher conferences because he never brings graded papers home beacause i dont know if hes doin better unless i see graded papers to make sure hes in the right path an when I asked the teacher she said she would be sending some out soon. The following week. When she did she sent home probly a total of ten papers from last year I've even given her the benifet of a doubt an checked my sons desk, and bag when I went to see her and didn't find nothing also since my son has been sucker punched and elbowed in the face for no reason the teacher use resese as social hour so kids had to go tell the principal never called me I found out when school was over I can go on and on this school I thank god school year is almost over
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2012

I pulled my daughter out because I was asked to send extra clothes for her to school, and the other children were stealing them, including her jacket and hat during winter. One kid actually cut my daughter's shirt while it was on her. She was in pre-k which in this district is a glorified daycare. I put her in school because I wanted her to learn how to read, write, spell, count etc. When I asked the teacher when she would learn to read I was told it is not allowed due to the curriculum. The staff forgets to notify you of your children's lunch account and if it is low on funds they will actually take your child's lunch from them at the register and give them a peanut butter sandwich, and if your child asks to call their parent they are refused until the teacher returns after lunch. I have spoken to the principal's several times about this issue and I was told it is school policy. This school also has the highest rate of homeless children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

My son went to this school from pre-k and most of kinder but we had to move. I have no idea what the parent below me is posting about - they have OBVIOUSLY never gone and had lunch with their child. I spent many many hours with my son having lunch with him - and it's SO loud you cannot hear yourself think in there! The kids chat and play and enjoy one another, but I don't know about the bus thing. Also, to address the "no recess" thing, the principal has rules in place for the kids, they can't go outside when it's over 80, and below 45 - which I think is reasonable for their well being, comfort, and safety, even though at times, it never drops below 80 in the region, just let your kids play at home. The teachers are wonderful - they communicate and are ALWAYS willing to listen. The male VP is so kind and GREAT with the students, I adore him. They have EXCELLENT family nights to get parents involved in learning with their kids (reading night, game night, math night). The ONLY issue I had with the school was a lack of field trips. To me, field trips mad school MORE exciting, and my son only went on one in 2 years. I loved the teachers, staff, attitude, and compassion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

about to move and my daughter goona go to this school......im concerned cause i didnt sign her up for a military school... yeah education is important but social skills are as well ....no talkin during lunch....what the heck is that ....no talkin on the bus.......no wonder why my daughter hates school ,......how u even supposed to make friends.....when i was a kid it was on the bus or at lunch and reeces .....and so far from the schools shes been to down here it seems they only hav reeces once a week ...if .....i can understand why she comes home with that miserable face
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

I have worked at this school and one of my children attended this school over a year ago. Ira Cross is really a great school. I always enjoyed how friendly the staff was and how professional the administration was. I felt appreciated and was commended on my hard work. There was always something positive going on that the children and staff could attend. I did love the TEKS pep rallies. This is truly a great place to work and/or send your children too. Ira Cross Jr. Elementary, you will be missed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

I AM A GRANDPARENT AND A THREE YEAR VOULTEER. ITS TRUE THERE IT ALWAYS SOMETHING AFTER SCHOOL AND DURING SCHOOL TO HELP THE KIDS WITH THERE SCHOOL WORK ARE JUST FOR FUNNY.


Posted November 5, 2010

By far one of the best schools in the KISD district. I understand why they are have been accredited as one of the best in the district. I do not believe our kids will ever get a better PUBLIC school education like Ira Cross. Being a army family we will move alot and I am nervous that we won't find a school as great.The teachers are nice and really have a passion for what they do, the school offers alot of activities for the kids, and the kids absolutely adore the principal and assistant principal. My kids have learned spanish and portegues and alot about music in just 4months.and they have went from below avg to proficient in their work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2009

I have a child that is now in 4th grade... She has been going to this school ever since pre-k... I think this school is a good school for my child because the teachers spend almost all of there time teaching kids... I dont like where i pick up my child and drop off my child its to small.... They should relocate it... Somewhere else.. My child teacher is a very good teacher she teaches my child everything she needs to know... When my child comes home she tells me everything she learned and did that day.... It just amazed me how smart she is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

i have had two children at ira cross. one is now at khs. the other is now in fourth grade. they both have had some good and bad teachers. my daughters third grade teacher was excellent. she saw my daughters weakness and strengths. she recommended my daughter read every night and take tutoring for math after school. on her taks reading perfect score every question right and math 37 out of 40. a teacher at is really involved with the student is always great. the office staff needs work. the principal who is it. did not see him this year. the female asst principal is the worst she has an attitude, mean and is very grouchy. she has some of the kids in fear of her and kids should not fear the leadership but should feel they could go to them at anytime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

The 5th grade team is strict but fair! 5th grade teachers ROCK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

I love this school they are the best around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

We have been here a full calendar year and now have two sons attending this school. The amount of things that my Pre K student has learned amazes me everyday, and his teacher seems to be very caring and nurturing. My 2nd grader is also doing very well, especially in reading. His grades keep improving and he gets nearly all A's and B's. The parking/pick up situation is terrible. I have to get there no later than 2:20 to be able to park and school is not out until 2:45. I then have to pick up one son on one side, and the older son on the other. The side where older kids are picked up is not covered at all, and this is a big issue when it starts raining and getting cold. The office staff seems to be improving their people skills some thankfully
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

I have two children, one is in third grade and the other is now at killeen high. i think my children have had good and not so good teachers there. i don't see the principal at all. the new drop off they are doing in front of the school i think is a mess. they need to go back and rethink that. the wait to drop off is too long. and if you need to go inside the school there is no park in front and go in. don't like the no pickup after 2:15. i try and schedule appt's late so that they don't have to miss much school, so i think that needs to be looked at by case basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

Ira Cross is an wonderful school for your child to attend. They are strict, they make the children walk on a blue but I feel that is because to keep their class together and not have them all over the hallway. They are teaching structure which our children need. The admin portion of the school really can use some help. For the most part, I have only had problems with one teacher but overall they all seem to have one goal in mind and that is to teach our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

This school has the worst administration I have ever seen. It seems that the principal is just on a power trip and will say what he thinks you want to hear. The kids here are not allowed to be kids. With a child in first grade, I know that he needs to have time to relax a be a kid all day. The school is run like a military camp. They are just little kids, not soldiers. I love my childs teacher but can see that she feels the pressure from the administration to be tough. I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2007

It is an excellent School with the rate in which they have your child reading and learning overall.However the semi-military attitude might be a bit much. Walking down the hall ,on the blue line, hands behind back, and mouths shut. In the lunch room they are being trained to be quiet and if they talk they are not allowed outside for recess the only time the child has to express him/herself. I am not saying allow them to just be loud and obnoxious but heck over half do not eat there lunches anyway, try focusing on that instead of forcing them to be quiet. I have sat and watched numerous times the staff focus on the child talking instead of trying to coax the child into eating the entire meal. After all, they do have the Food triangle plastered all over the cafeteria.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

This school is still growing,they try to make it strict but its not. They still have alot of things to work on. Especially if you have two kids in that school. Everyday I walk to one side of the school to the other because their in different grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

This is a great school. My children attended this school last year.The teachers are really dedicated. My daughter's teacher was great. We moved to a new school this year and when I had a problem with my daughter's new teacher, her previous teacher talked to me for an hour about it. My son had a Pre-K teacher who had them reading by December when my son hardly knew the alphabet at the begining of the year! Now he's in talented and gifted Kindergarten!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

Initially upon enrollment at this school I was highly disappointed with the quality of academic programs. After about a few weeks the issues I had had been resolved. I wasnt so disappointed. The availablity of sports and extra curricular activities at this school did concern me. I feel that it needs more activities for the students. because there aren't many activities within the school. From my standpoint I was very involved in my childs education and noticed quite a few parents involved also. This school is still in progress and with the proper programs and extra curricular activities can be even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

103 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

104 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

110 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

84 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

83 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

85 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female91%
Male84%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students82%
Female83%
Male80%
Black or African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female86%
Male80%
Black or African American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education80%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female93%
Male88%
Black or African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education91%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students79%
Female83%
Male73%
Black or African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education45%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education80%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students92%
Female97%
Male86%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education78%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students80%
Female80%
Male80%
Black or African American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education43%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Female74%
Male67%
Black or African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education22%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students58%
Female57%
Male59%
Black or African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education22%
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted56%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Female63%
Male45%
Black or African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Special education18%
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted53%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students49%
Female55%
Male43%
Black or African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Special education25%
Not special education53%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted47%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students63%
Female72%
Male50%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Special education10%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted61%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Female74%
Male65%
Black or African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students62%
Female59%
Male67%
Black or African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special educationn/a
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted61%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students56%
Female49%
Male67%
Black or African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial0%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education33%
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)62%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted55%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 13%
Hispanic 24% 52%
White 13% 29%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 7%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Texas Education Agency Recognized Status (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30am
School end time
  • 2:45pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • GEORGE GAMBLE
Fax number
  • (254) 680-1795

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Manor Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1910 Herndon Drive
Killeen, TX 76543
Website: Click here
Phone: (254) 336-2550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT