Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maxdale Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 779 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2014

I love Mrs. Peggi Nunley and Mrs. Kerri Baugh Fattig. They have always addressed issues and they love my kids. Every time I go to office, they know who I am and they help me immediately. Since my sons have started here, their speech went from 14-18 words to 100s of words. They can count, do ABCs, and have manners like crazy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Do yourself a favor and NEVER enroll your child in this program if you care about his academics or well being. My son has attended Maxdale Elementary since he was in Pre-K. He was in the TAG program and in the 2nd grade he was diagnosed with ADHD. The unprofessionalism of the staff tops the charts. They were more interested in policy and proceedures than the child itself. There was very little effort to work with my son on a personal level. It felt if he was more of a burden because he did not fit the "mold" My son is very intelligent, inquisitive and has tested well above his grade level and peers. He was also very verbal with his opinions and this seemed to not set well with ANY of the staff. He was issued an assault warning for making a slingshot out of pencil and rubber band and hitting a student in the head with a paper wad the size of a pea... this was only one instance of many. Needless to say we have moved him to Richard E Cavazos Elementary School. Their scores are much better, their staff nicer and overall seem to care about the kids. My daughter will start school next year and I vowed she will NEVER step foot into Maxdale Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

My daughter attended Maxdale for special needs pre-school while we were stationed at Fort Hood. We had Ms. Baugh and she was TERRIFIC! I did experience a little attitude from the office staff but I really think that your whole experience depends on what teacher you get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

I really like Maxdale Elementary School because my grand daugther attend there and she is comfortable attending Maxdale. The staff has always been very polite to me. I do not live in Killeen, Texas but do visit often and have went to Maxdale Elementary School to pick up my grandchild to take to a doctor appt and was very pleased with the office personnel.


Posted November 1, 2011

I had my daughter spend one year and had enough. I volunteered A LOT in my child's class, but had a very difficult time with the office staff. I found it highly inappropriate to be showing movies so frequently (even during gym). Not only that, but ones I felt were not age appropriate or educational by any means. (ie: Come on... High School Musical for kindergarteners?) Lunch was pathetic. My packer could not eat until the whole table was eating. So they had to wait for the lunch line. By the time all the kids were sitting they had between 5-10 minutes to eat. I was not impressed with some of the teachers going down to students level of disrespect either. My daughter was exposed to issues with sexual abuse from another child and after talking to a teacher & admin about how concerned I was that things were going on at the playground I was told "Welcome to Killeen". Just shocking. Everyone was nice on a personal level - just the standard was very low... Maybe I should blame that on being in Killeen??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

Unfortunately we were just resumed to maxdale from willow springs elem. And I am very disappointed with the school! The teachers and aids seem friendly! As far as the cafeteria staff they are absolutely unacceptable. By the second day of school they were yelling at 4 year olds to remember a six digit pin number for their breakfast and lunch and when they ouldnt remember the pin trays were snatched from their hands and sent outside to another teacher or aid to get their Pins!!! I saw kids leave in tears! The office staff is so rude!! They have attitudes as soon as you walk in. They claim to be following policies yet they have not a clue what the policy is. They say that we (parents) shouldn't walk our children to class because we need to let them grow up, well that's easy tO say when your child attends the school you work out and sits in the front office with you all morning until it's time for class!!!! Not all students have older siblings to help them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

My daughter, Jordan Anna-James Davidson-Frazier, graduated 5th grade and will soon be embarking on her 6th year in Middle School. Residing here in Killeen, Texas for the past few years, and having the opportunity to communicate with the educators at Maxdale. I found that many are passionate about what they do and the children they teach, in which reflects in the TAKS Scores, and the overall environment at Maxdale. Thank you, for teaching my child as will as the other children in attendence at Maxdale, you have broaden her furture. AFCMSVO/NAPSP
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

Maxdale is a fantastic school. My pre-k son was evaluated and placed in their PPCD program. His teacher was unbelievably caring and they were in the process of mainstreaming him into a normal classroom with another wonderful teacher when we received PCS orders sadly taking us away from TX. We have since relocated to GA and still miss Maxdale greatly! The teachers there clearly care a great deal about their students. The prek teacher in the classroom my son was being transitioned to took pictures of every individual child throughout the day in school and emailed them to the respective parents to let them see what their child was working on. For a parent with a child who struggles with speech, I thought that was pretty amazing. My son and I could open the pictures she sent each day thus enabling us talk about his day. To me that showed a great deal of dedication students and their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

I have 3 kids who attend Maxdale. This is 5 years going. I am not a fan of the office staff. They aren't the friendliest. The turnover rate in principles and staff is crazy. Dropping off and picking up is a mad house and then add in the other parents who act like this is a highschool. People complain of parent involvement but don't want to get involved even when you ask for help which in some way if the school was more welcoming to the parents it would help. The school is strict with the kids with recess (they will take it before they give it), talking (not even at lunch 95% of the time). Most of the teachers are caring and do a very well job. There are a few who have been known to not be appropriate at the work place and shouldn't be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

We are a military family and my son went here K-5. At one point they did have to end the PTA because of lack of parent involvement. We now have a PTO that is very successful. It's a safe school with a very diverse student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

I think Maxdale is a great school as far as the teachers go. I think as far as the parent involvement goes it's terrible. There is no PTA at this schol and there has not been one since the new princible took over last year. The music program here is terrible, but has improved, and there are two many kids in PE that there is not much room for the kids to run around and play. I don't like the fact that the kids can not talk at lunch and more then half the time they forget to turn the cups to green so the kids can talk. I would like to see recess be required. These kids do not get outside enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2006

My son loves Maxdale and I am very pleased with the teachers and staff. You could not ask for a better school...everyone is friendly and willing to help. The teachers are superb in making sure the children are getting what they need out of each lesson. Being military, its sometimes hard to adjust to new surroundings, but they have been wonderful in helping my son fit in and feel welcome. I highly recommend this school to anyone moving into the area. Its a school who cares about the safety and well being of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

My son goes to Maxdale and is in Kindergarten. They have high expectations for 5 year olds. My son can answer comprehension questions from a short story in a complete sentence. Students go to 20 minutes of music and 20 minutes of P.E. daily. Parents are pretty involved in book fairs and fundraisers. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

My son goes to Maxdale and I think it is a very good school. I think the teachers are nice and the office staff is extremely friendly are are willing to do what they can to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

I would like to add that my son is also in a special Ed. class at Maxdale and the review i read about special ed. not being what it should be there is untrue in my opinion i think they have a really good special ed. program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

For the March 2004 posting: Accidents happen! I have 4 kids but I can't smother them and expect babysitters or school's to watch them and only them. The school should have an explanation, yes, but if it was an accident, what more can they tell you besides sorry? My daughter was stabbed in the hand with a pencil, on accident, by another little girl in her class, but I would never NOT recommend this school because of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2004

Maxdale is the best elementary school that my children have attended. Due to military moves, my children have gone to five different elementary schools. One of my children has been in special education and one has been in the pre-kindergarten program. Both programs are exceptional. My children have excelled beyond my expectations and the administration and teaching staff are superb. I hope we are able to stay here long enough for my children to finish school at Maxdale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2004

At first I did not have a problem with this school. That is, until my son was injured due to teacher/aide negligence. My son is confined to a wheel chair, and somehow it was tipped over, resulting in him landing face first onto the asphalt. To date no one from the school has provided me with a reasonable explanation as to how this occurred. Unfortunately this is the only school in the district that provides the services that my child requires. If you have a child with diabilities I would avoid sending them to this school if at all possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2003

I taught at Willow Springs and then at Maxdale. Unfortunately, the military decided it was time to move on to another country. I am currently teaching in Europe. I just want to say that Maxdale is a wonderful school. The administration is awesome and the staff is terrific. I hope to come back to the Killeen area after our tour is over and will be looking forward to teaching for the K.I.S.D. Hopefully, Maxdale will welcome me with open arms. Keep up the super work.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

86 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

86 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

100 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

100 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

97 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

83 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

82 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

83 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female88%
Male79%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students83%
Female86%
Male79%
Black or African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female90%
Male73%
Black or African American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
Black or African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students82%
Female90%
Male74%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education50%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students96%
Female95%
Male98%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education86%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students89%
Female83%
Male95%
Black or African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education78%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female88%
Male83%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students58%
Female60%
Male55%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant58%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted55%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Female72%
Male64%
Black or African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education58%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%
Gifted/talented88%
Not Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students61%
Female61%
Male61%
Black or African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracial43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Special education42%
Not special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant61%
Gifted/talented88%
Not Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students64%
Female63%
Male66%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special education62%
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted61%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female80%
Male68%
Black or African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education50%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students75%
Female75%
Male76%
Black or African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education40%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students63%
Female62%
Male64%
Black or African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracial40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education38%
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted61%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 39% 13%
Hispanic 26% 52%
White 20% 29%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 10%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • BOBBIE EVANS
Fax number
  • (254) 634-6135

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 Westwood Drive
Killeen, TX 76549
Website: Click here
Phone: (254) 336-2460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT