Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bear Branch Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 623 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2013

BBE is an awesome learning environment for my son. I also like that the school encourages parents to participate throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

We have been at BBE for 4 years now, my son is about to move into middle school. The teachers have been great, we had one cranky teacher but she has since left the school. Most of my complaints have to do with low funds (lack of field trips, music, computer and art programs are not full year, small and not enough classrooms). There are 28 kids in my childs classroom, it's way too crowded. Two formal parent/teacher meetings a year, in my opinion, are not enough. There are always things a school could work on to improve and I do think BBE is trying. The PTA has a lot of ways to get parents involved in the school. One big way I feel that the school needs to improve is the principal and school counselor. When I tried to reach out to them, neither of them were willing to speak to me unless my child was a trouble maker or had serious learning problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

My child has been at BB for 3 years and starting his 4th. We've had awesome and concerned teachers. I've had interaction with several teachers and love them all. Most of the critical reviews are old and we don't actually know what the child was like. I have a friend whose child is high strung and won't listen to authority. Does that make the school bad? No. It means you want to school to cater to your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

We love Bear Branch!!! Great teachers, friendly parents, nice kids. We've been here for 3 years now, loved every minute of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

Unfortunately we have since moved out of state and have yet to find a school as good as this one. I've read some of the complaints here and must admit I'm shocked! Granted 'some' teachers might be considered 'average' but the overall academic expectations are anything but. We LOVED the Spanish Emersion program and have yet to find its equal. There IS a lot of emphasis on appropriate classroom behavior but having witnessed the alternative enviornment, that's a PLUS in my book! Last but not least, the parent involvement at this shool is excellent and a HUGE part of their success. What I loved best about it was the fact that the teachers actually ecouraged, if not expected it. They were constantly offering opportunities for parents to get involved and encouraged us to participate in classroom activities when it was deemed appropriate. The kids and I absolutely love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

- The teachers are not looking into challenging the kids. Homework takes 5 min, and my G/T labeled kid comes some days with no homework! - Everybody is happy while our kids are ill-prepared to compete, which may explain why Kingwood schools have been in decline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

What a fabulous school!!! The teachers really care about the welfare of each and every child. Both of my children have attended BBE and I can honestly say they got a superb eduction. The teachers stretch the children's thinking far beyond the expected 'TEKS' while also foster their emontional and social learning. The leadership at BBE is wonderful as well! Parents are a huge part of the school environment! You can find parents reading to children, listening to children read, playing math games, helping teach science lessons and facilitating many great PTA events. I can not think of a better school. They really go out of their way to make it a great place for kids to actively learn with hands on fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

We recently had to move out of Texas and hated to leave this school. My son absolutely loved Bear Branch. It is a very nurturing school. My only complaint would be the academics could be stepped up a notch. Much more was expected of him from his new school. But, overall, we were very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

This school is great. The parents are highly involved, and the teachers take a lot of pride in what they do. The extra programs such as the gt program (wings), spanish immersion, and programs for special needs children make it a fantastic school. The only thing holding it back from being 'exemplary' is the raw science scores, which the parents and teachers are working on. I'm glad my first kid goes there, and can hardly wait to start with my second kid there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

Hardly any homework given, classes far behind than private school attended in san antonio
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2005

This school has a few teachers who are great (in grades K and 1), but most of the teachers are cranky, uninspired and have no apparent affection for children. The principal has no understanding of or connection with the children, and it shows in the school's downhill spiral in ratings. Beware if you have a son attending, unless he is silent and never moves. The focus at BB is on silence. The constant mantra preached to children is 'Be respectful,' and the teachers use negative reinforcement in the form of conduct marks which are handed out constantly. The halls of BB are silent, and very little participation is encouraged, as that would break the silence. Parents are called for the slightest infraction (once I was called because my son giggled in music). Most of the teachers there can barely crack a smile. I only wish we'd gotten them out sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

The principal at Bear Branch Elementary is not available to parents or students. She does not support the science structure in the school. She believes in 'look but don't touch learning'. She does not support hiring a science teacher but did hire 2 art teachers and 5 spanish teachers for a small group of children. Parent involvement is decreasing rapidly under her leadership. However, the teachers are wonderful and still manage to cope even when their grade assignment is changed yearly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

There is a lack of concern for children and their emotional needs - lack of productive discipline and fostering of positive character traits at this school. Many of the teachers have been there a long time and continue to teach their students under the 'old school' concepts of children should be seen and not heard. We moved to get our child out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2004

This is a great school. The administration and teachers really care about the students and are skilled in educated them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

careful...just because it's a kingwood school doesn't automatically make it great - do your homework - go to the school - often! daily if necessary - ask yourself why there are only 2 teachers supervising 80 kindergarden students after lunch? then ask - where are they? notice....that's them - up on the sidewalk chatting with each other - not supervising the students! this is only one example - as a tax payer you have every right to view the school at anytime - i highly suggest you do this!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

77 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

76 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

76 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students97%
Female100%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female96%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students99%
Female96%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students95%
Female89%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female100%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education90%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female93%
Male89%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education80%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education67%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education80%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education50%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female92%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students93%
Female92%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 29%
Hispanic 19% 52%
Black 2% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 3%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3500 Garden Lk
Kingwood, TX 77339
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 641-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT