Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pines Montessori School

Private | PK-8 | 170 students

Authentic Montessori Education
 
 

 
 

Living in Kingwood

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

We have one child at Pines. It is a very good school. The Lower Elementary has had it's issues with instructors over the past few years, but is has been corrected and they are now fantastic. Upper Elementary has 2 of the BEST teachers I have seen. Just Excellent. Middle school is still developing. The only reason for 4 stars is the lack of independence between the school leadership and the board. For any school to flourish, these areas must be separated. At Pines, it is not. The tail wags the dog much of the time and has held back the school from becoming current in several needed areas. Many great students (and parents) have left because of this. That said, we love the education our child continues to receive from the Montessori teaching method. Based on education alone, it deserves 5 stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

My child began at Pines 8 years ago -- for financial reason we had to withdraw for a couple of year but returned in 2012. The school is by far the best private school in Kingwood. They have an amazing staff, caring teachers and top notch educational materials. While the Montessori method of teaching might not be right for every child, it is an amazing way to teach for most students. Pines educates the whole child and nurtures the whole child. This is the reason we return to the school after being in the public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2013

We love the Montessori philosophy and our children are leaps and bounds ahead of their public school peers. The kindness of the families who attend and the supportive environment make Pines a great private school choice. While there are personnel changes throughout the years, this is normal for any small business. There is some student turnover, which is normal and healthy also...as not all children can self direct and succeed in an environment that offers so much freedom. If a child has behavioral and/or attention problems, this environment will not do them justice and will disrupt others. Our children are gaining problem solving, time management and life skills that no public (and very few private) schools are capable of teaching. I'm confident that Pines is developing the future entrepreneurs and bosses of the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

If you seeking an amazing education for your kids and a true place of belonging for your child(ren) and family, then Pines is the place. Highly trained teachers, wonderful staff, and a great bunch of kids. Such a beautiful campus and playground too. I feel so lucky to have such a wonderful school right here in our neighborhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

Parents be ware and erroll you children elsewhere. We decided this summer not to re-enroll our child at Pines after 4 years of attending. We began seeing changes within the schools leadership and staff during the 2010-11 school year that we questioned and were told that these changes were in the best interest of the children. A few other parents that we are casual friends with advised us to seek other options for our child's education. I wish we had listened then and did not enroll our child for the then upcoming 2011-12 school year. Instead of filling this board with the MANY instances of questionable behaviour and decisoins made regarding the safety of the student body on the part some staff and the Dean of students, we would rather stick to facts and hard quantifiable data. Pines Montesorri has seen little to no ergonomic growth in the four years our daughter attended. Since the start of the 2010-11 we are personally aware of 14 students who's parents have chosen not to re-enroll their children because of the issues with the Pines staff. The 7th grade class at Pines for 2011-12 was 10 students with 1 of 10 being the child of staff. 2012-13, 4 of 10 will not return. STAY AWAY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

This school is a gem in the heart of Kingwood! The teachers from Preschool through to Middle School are fabulous. They show such care and concern for each of the children, and show a hunger and excitement for their learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2010

We currently have 2 children in the school and in the past years, the school was quite educational and the teachers (certified) did an excellent job. This past year several changes have occurred which have resulted in excellent certified teachers being relieved of duty and teachers/subs with longevitiy with the school being let go. Changes are in the wind and they do not seem to be for the better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

This is a school that is getting better all the time. The Administration has stepped up and really taken control - eliminating many of the politics and insider jostling that takes place at small private schools. Other great changes: - addition of new activities and teams - addition of a highly qualified and excellent lower elementary teacher - improvements to materials and facilities - better financial controls - better integration of the PCO (equivalent to the parent-teacher organization) - addition of middle school classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

As parents of two children who attend Pines, we have been delighted with both the environment of the school - which is nurturing, peaceful, and loving - and the quality of the teachers, which continues to exceed our expectations. We had originally planned to place only our pre-schooler in the school and to put out elementary aged child in the public schools. After visiting the school and interviewing the teachers, we felt it would be unfair to give our youngest such an extraordinary experience and not offer it to our oldest as well. We have not been disappointed. Both children are thriving. We will keep them there as long as we can - we just hope the middle school takes off!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

Pines Montessori is a wonderful school. While it has gone through its challenges in the past couple of years the new director of the school, is montessori trained, and has required all of the teachers to be certified. It is a authentic montessori school and first rate in kingwood. None better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

My 3 1/2 year old daughter loves the Pines - she feels totally at ease there, and has developed a lovely, spunky spirit that is delightful to see. She will begin her third year there this fall - she just completed her first year in the Primary Community. I am most impressed by the commitment to the Montessori method, the focus on teacher and parent education, and the encouragement to forge relationships among parents, teachers, students and board members. The new Head of School is an experienced Montessorian, with a masters degree in early childhood and many years of experience in administration and teacher training. Many of the teachers have bachelors and masters degrees in addition to Montessori certification, and parents are very involved in the school. I served as the president of the Pines Community Organization this past year 2006-07. This is a beautiful, special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

My child has flourished at Pines. Her teachers have always been professional and helpful. I think the Pines does a great job teaching and using Montessori methods. I have learned more about Montessori as an activity member of the community. I will send my next child to the Pines.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

Our son has attended Pines for almost 2 years now, and he started in the toddler community when he was 18 months old. He is an incredibly happy, well-behaved, and inquisitive 3 year old, with very strong verbal skills. I give all the credit to his excellent teachers and their use of Montessori methods and a well-prepared classroom environment to expand our child's horizons. One of the most amazing things about this school is the staff's desire to educate parents about incorporating Montessori concepts in the home. My approach to parenting has changed in many respects, all to our family's benefit. Although we never thought we would consider private school in Kingwood beyond pre-school, my husband and I are now committed to Pines for our children's education through elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

We had our daughter there for two sessions when she was 3 yrs old. We pulled her out. Too much chaos and teachers prefer kids who 'fit' the Montessori style. Not sure it's Pines, but the unstructured environment was too loose, unfocused for a preschooler and just a bad fit for our scheduled and structured household. She'd come home rattled after her day there. We moved her to a traditional preschool classroom and she flourished. Some aspects of Montessori concepts are good to incorporate, but not for total curriculum. We are glad we pulled out early!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2006

We were very disappointed with our experience at Pines. We loved the families and felt like this would be a good experience but we were forced to pull our child out mid term our second year. They hired the secretary to serve as principal. When we moved our child to another private school our child had to have some remediation in order to catch up to the new peers at the new school. Although I like the concept of Montessori education for preschool I could not recommend Pines to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

My daughter went to Pines for 2 years. I had to withdraw her from Pines due to unprofessional behavior by her teacher. While volunteering, I witnessed the teacher humilliating her assistant teacher, a student, and swearing out loud around the children. That teacher was nasty to me too. I reported the incidents to the director and to a member of the board and they didn't do much. They were aware of the incidents, but decided to shove them under the rug and wanted me to do the same. They suggested that I move my daughter to another classroom instead of dealing with the problem. I refused. It appalled me that Pines is more concerned about keeping appearances than about the welfare of the children. If the teacher had the nerve to act badly in front of me, you can only imagine what goes on when no parents are around. Very scary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2005

Pines Montessori School has been the best thing for my family. The teachers are top quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 31%
Hispanic 7% 51%
Black 6% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Accreditation (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Origami club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Patty Sobelman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAEYC
  • Other Montessori
Fax number
  • (281) 358-3162

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Model UN
  • Origami club
  • Philanthropy club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Spanish club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Nestled in the heart of Kingwood, at the edge of the Creekwood Nature Reserve, Pines Montessori School has been a part of the community since 1977. We are the largest Montessori school in the area and serve the widest range of ages, from 18 months through 15 years (8th grade).
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3535 Cedar Knolls Drive
Kingwood, TX 77339
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 358-8933

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT