Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Kingwood, TX
Students enrolled: 170
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pines Montessori School 4

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
We have one child at Pines. It is a very good school. The Lower Elementary has had it's issues with instructors over the past few years, but is has been corrected and they are now fantastic. Upper Elementary has 2 of the BEST teachers I have seen. Just Excellent. Middle school is still developing. The only reason for 4 stars is the lack of independence between the school leadership and the board. For any school to flourish, these areas must be separated. At Pines, it is not. The tail wags the dog much of the time and has held back the school from becoming current in several needed areas. Many great students (and parents) have left because of this. That said, we love the education our child continues to receive from the Montessori teaching method. Based on education alone, it deserves 5 stars

Pines Montessori School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
My child began at Pines 8 years ago -- for financial reason we had to withdraw for a couple of year but returned in 2012. The school is by far the best private school in Kingwood. They have an amazing staff, caring teachers and top notch educational materials. While the Montessori method of teaching might not be right for every child, it is an amazing way to teach for most students. Pines educates the whole child and nurtures the whole child. This is the reason we return to the school after being in the public schools.


Pines Montessori School 5

Posted June 23, 2013
- a parent
We love the Montessori philosophy and our children are leaps and bounds ahead of their public school peers. The kindness of the families who attend and the supportive environment make Pines a great private school choice. While there are personnel changes throughout the years, this is normal for any small business. There is some student turnover, which is normal and healthy also...as not all children can self direct and succeed in an environment that offers so much freedom. If a child has behavioral and/or attention problems, this environment will not do them justice and will disrupt others. Our children are gaining problem solving, time management and life skills that no public (and very few private) schools are capable of teaching. I'm confident that Pines is developing the future entrepreneurs and bosses of the world.

Pines Montessori School 5

Posted November 07, 2012
- a parent
If you seeking an amazing education for your kids and a true place of belonging for your child(ren) and family, then Pines is the place. Highly trained teachers, wonderful staff, and a great bunch of kids. Such a beautiful campus and playground too. I feel so lucky to have such a wonderful school right here in our neighborhood!

Pines Montessori School 1

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
Parents be ware and erroll you children elsewhere. We decided this summer not to re-enroll our child at Pines after 4 years of attending. We began seeing changes within the schools leadership and staff during the 2010-11 school year that we questioned and were told that these changes were in the best interest of the children. A few other parents that we are casual friends with advised us to seek other options for our child's education. I wish we had listened then and did not enroll our child for the then upcoming 2011-12 school year. Instead of filling this board with the MANY instances of questionable behaviour and decisoins made regarding the safety of the student body on the part some staff and the Dean of students, we would rather stick to facts and hard quantifiable data. Pines Montesorri has seen little to no ergonomic growth in the four years our daughter attended. Since the start of the 2010-11 we are personally aware of 14 students who's parents have chosen not to re-enroll their children because of the issues with the Pines staff. The 7th grade class at Pines for 2011-12 was 10 students with 1 of 10 being the child of staff. 2012-13, 4 of 10 will not return. STAY AWAY!


Pines Montessori School 5

Posted July 06, 2011
- a parent
This school is a gem in the heart of Kingwood! The teachers from Preschool through to Middle School are fabulous. They show such care and concern for each of the children, and show a hunger and excitement for their learning.

Pines Montessori School 3

Posted August 14, 2010
- a parent
We currently have 2 children in the school and in the past years, the school was quite educational and the teachers (certified) did an excellent job. This past year several changes have occurred which have resulted in excellent certified teachers being relieved of duty and teachers/subs with longevitiy with the school being let go. Changes are in the wind and they do not seem to be for the better.

Pines Montessori School 5

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
This is a school that is getting better all the time. The Administration has stepped up and really taken control - eliminating many of the politics and insider jostling that takes place at small private schools. Other great changes: - addition of new activities and teams - addition of a highly qualified and excellent lower elementary teacher - improvements to materials and facilities - better financial controls - better integration of the PCO (equivalent to the parent-teacher organization) - addition of middle school classes.


Pines Montessori School 5

Posted August 22, 2009
- a parent
As parents of two children who attend Pines, we have been delighted with both the environment of the school - which is nurturing, peaceful, and loving - and the quality of the teachers, which continues to exceed our expectations. We had originally planned to place only our pre-schooler in the school and to put out elementary aged child in the public schools. After visiting the school and interviewing the teachers, we felt it would be unfair to give our youngest such an extraordinary experience and not offer it to our oldest as well. We have not been disappointed. Both children are thriving. We will keep them there as long as we can - we just hope the middle school takes off!

Pines Montessori School 5

Posted February 26, 2008
- a parent
Pines Montessori is a wonderful school. While it has gone through its challenges in the past couple of years the new director of the school, is montessori trained, and has required all of the teachers to be certified. It is a authentic montessori school and first rate in kingwood. None better.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pines Montessori School
3535 Cedar Knolls Drive, Kingwood, TX  77339
(281) 358-8933
Last modified Pines Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Pines Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top