Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Medina Valley High School 1

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
Horrible school. Stay away at any cost. My daughter, 10 grade student was verbally and physically assaulted in a class by another female student. This happened in the presence of a teacher at the beginning of May, 2014. Vice-principal, Russell, called me and left a voice message saying that it was a verbal conflict and physical contact was not made. On May 28, 2014 my daughter's brand new white BMW 328i was brutally vandalized on school parking lot. Coke, smoothies, ice cream were all over the car. My daughter told the vice-principle that on that day the student who attacked her previously along with her friends were on parking lot and showed my daughter middle finger. Not surprisingly, vice principal informed me next day that school performed investigation and they didn't find anybody who may vandalize my daughter car. Now my daughter suffers from severe case of anxiety.

Medina Valley High School 5

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
I think MV is a great school with high calibre teachers and high expectations of the students. Success is expected and achieved.


Medina Valley High School 1

Posted August 17, 2011
- a community member
I noticed that all of the postings condemning the school's shameful handling of the religious graduation have been removed. This public school supported a religiously-themed graduation and made pariah out of the poor student who tried to put a stop to it.

Medina Valley High School 5

Posted May 27, 2011
- a student
Hi my names Veronica i love this school. They have an awesome band program they also give oot a lot of rewards for not getting in trouble and having good grades. The band field trips are amazing we get to go everywhere. I made a lot of really good friends here. TEACHERS ARE AMAZING. here

Medina Valley High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
There is great teachers and great staff here! Academics are great, as is the band, sports, UIL, and AFJROTC progrms.


Medina Valley High School 2

Posted August 04, 2009
- a parent
I do believe that the main focus is taks testing , and very little parent teacher communication. Most of the time it is left to the student to report information. Athletics are awesome and Band well just as another said its focus is marching and that is about all. What happened to preparing are youth for college. This school does not seem to care and principal of 2008-2009 seems to make excuses rather than admit when something different needs to be done.

Medina Valley High School 2

Posted March 28, 2009
- a parent
I can't believe the new administration has done away with AP courses. They didn't do their homework on this one. It seems they only want to reach the middle and lower students.

Medina Valley High School 4

Posted October 26, 2007
- a parent
My son is a student at the school and he has nothing but good to say about the school. His mother is a former student and likewise is of the same opinion. My experience with the school and its programs has been positive. Acadmically the program is sound, but I believe they put to much emphasis in passing the TAKS test and the students suffer for this. They have a great sports program. I have some concerns, because of the number of student atheletes that have been injured so far this year. Overall the sports programs, are great, the boys, learn leadership and team work.


Medina Valley High School 3

Posted May 13, 2006
- a teacher
Academics are stronger at the high school than middle school. High emphasis on TAKS. Band program is really outstanding - in past three years, they have been bringing home numerous first division, best in class and marching caption trophies. The directorship is strong. There is no orchestra program and the choir program is not consistent. Very strong district-wide emphasis on sports even though their sports don't all having wining records.

Medina Valley High School 2

Posted February 20, 2006
- a parent
My daughter is a big reader, has extensive vocabulary. She is constantly put-down for using 'big words' (most are not really that 'big'. The intellect of her classmates (she is in advanced classes) is very low, as it seems the general population of area. Only language taught is Spanish or ASL, Spanish classes or very weak. No child learns to actually speak the language. ASL (sign lang.) is excellent. Music is limited to marching band. There is virtually no parent involvement at any level. The PTO (PTA) meetings are held at night because 'working parents' need oportunity to attend, but never do (same handful of parents do). SAHM's could attends during day and prefer not to at night, want time with family. There is no PTO at High School level. I would have to say, i believe drug/violence problems are lower than big city schools, but they do exist.

Nearby schools

Medina Valley High School
8365 Farm to Market Road 471, LaCoste, TX  78039
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (830) 931-2243 x1120
Last modified Medina Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top