Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shady Shores Elementary School 2

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
Don't worrie about the kids just passing a state test. If you educate them in all areas they naturally pass the test.

Shady Shores Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
Teachers need to have an passion to genuinely help educate the kids. Working as a teacher for the schedule will not cut it.


Shady Shores Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
10-15 mins of homework for a 5th grader?! Really? At his other school he had more than that in kindergarten!

Shady Shores Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
From the very beginning we had troubles. SSE is not the place for children who are above average as there is no effort given to challenge them. Two hours of GT doesn't cut it. We were told by the principal that by 3rd grade all of the students will catch up with my child. So I guess that means she would just sit and wait on them for 2 years? I was very disheartened when my second child had similar issues. We moved into another district known for better schools and have found a complete opposite experiences.

Shady Shores Elementary School 2

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
The teachers at SSE have always been first rate but due to the poor leadership of VANGEE DEUSSEN We have lost some of our best teachers. Even the "Teacher of the Year," was made so miserable that she moved campuses. I wish the school board and Ms. Stinson would take noticed of the high turn over rate of staff at the campus. It speaks volumes to the unhappy work environment she has created at SSE. Parents are not treated warmly. Deussen is cold, and condescending in her interactions with parents, staff and children. My own child came home one day and asked me if I thought the principal even liked children!


Shady Shores Elementary School 4

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
My first child is going into the 2nd grade. We have had teacher who care about teaching. They have really been wonderful. The one and only issue I have had with the school was my child fell at school and severely broke her arm. We were told to keep her out of school for a couple of days. Not one member from the administration bothered to call.

Shady Shores Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2014
- a parent
Our two children are now in 5th grade and have attended Shady Shores Elementary since 1st grade. We have been blown away by blessing upon blessing at this school for our children. Each year, teachers have been amazing in terms of skills/qualifications, as well as kindness and genuine concern for all students. The administration is GREAT and runs a tight-ship on safety and proper procedures. The halls are bright and cheerful and the environment is very warm and welcoming. Cannot think of any complaints & feel very blessed for such a great school.

Shady Shores Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2012
- a parent
It amazes me that SSE could even receive a negative review. So many positive things are going on. We are the only elementary school with a morning assembly where the entire school gets to be part of news, the pledges, and acknowledgement of student successes. The leadership of SSE continues to accept new ideas. SSE is a great school! Get involved and see all SSE does for the students!


Shady Shores Elementary School 2

Posted October 30, 2012
- a parent
Shady Shores USED to be an amazing place. Unfortunately, when the last principal retired and the new principal took over everything changed. Long gone is the warm environment where you where happy to place your children. The place seems so cold now, and as a parent who has had three children walk through those doors I find it heartbreaking. The principal is responsilble for setting the tone, and how sad it is that the tone she has set for the staff and students is that laughter, happiness and fun are no longer welcome in the halls of Shady Shores. The teaching staff there is truly top-notch. However, I have watched the life drain from their faces over the past few years since Ms. Deussen took charge. When a principal can't even manage to fake a smile for children, it is clearly time to find a new job. I pray that Lake Dallas ISD realizes this before it's too late. Kids deserve a wonderful elementary school experience.

Shady Shores Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2012
- a parent
My wife and I have developed a good rapport with SSE because of the wonderful willingness of teachers and staff at the school. The receptionists are always very helpful, as are the principal and assistants. My child takes medication while at school and the teachers and nurse have been wonderful at reminding him and even rewarding him for independently coming to take his medication.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shady Shores Elementary School
P O Box 548, Lake Dallas, TX  76208
(940) 497-4035
Last modified Shady Shores Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shady Shores Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top