Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Lake Dallas, TX
Students enrolled: 1,292
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lake Dallas High School 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a community member
I see many mixed reviews about this campus. I can tell that a lot of them are upset parents and disgruntled students. I am a current student in the 2015 school year and I can tell you that this school is what you make it. If you sit back then you're obviously going to get a C- education. I've had to sit back and watch amazing teachers that I look up to be yelled at by parents that can't see that the problem is with their child. I have never drank, smoke, or used any other type of substance and I've been in this school system since kindergarden. If you have a bad child then that is your problem, but don't you dare reprimand this district for it's empathy when your child hasn't actively sought out help that has always been there. The teachers in this school have always offered help when I need it and try to make time for my time schedule. They know a lot of students (that actively participate) on a personal level. I would recommend this district to anyone and maybe more strict parenting to make sure your experience goes as well as mine.

Lake Dallas High School 3

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
Great if you are naturally "gifted" in academics, athletics, band, theater, etc. If you don't naturally have it, good luck. Especially students with special needs...if you don't have a parent that speaks up, they will only do the minimum, if they even identify needs. The teaching quality varies from skilled/caring to "im here for a paycheck". Too many coach-teachers. LDISD needs leadership that doesn't pat itself on the back the year they have suicides/attempted suicides, or for receiving accolades for financial viability when students are suffering from lack of needed programs/services, when there is a school culture that allows for student bullies to continue do their thing with little consequence, and when adult bullies (teachers and the school officer) and sub-par quality teachers are allowed to keep their jobs. They say they want parents involved, but only parents they can control and in activities that district can closely influence....same old thing....not progressive. The state ratings don't mean much in reality. If you have a choice, try somewhere else.


Lake Dallas High School 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
Great school! My son is now a junior and has loved every minute of his experience there. Although the teachers are pretty strict, they have taught him to take responsibility for his own education. His advisor, who I believe is also the head advisor, and a certified counselor, has been incredible providing him with resources for college and career prep and encouraging advanced academics. Everyone from the front office secretary, to the nurse, to coaches have always been pleasant and helpful.

Lake Dallas High School 1

Posted February 01, 2013
- a parent
Drug use galore with apathetic teachers and admin. There are a few wonderful teachers, but it enough to make it worthwhile. Student bullying is out of control. The academic advisors are presented as counselors, but do not have counselor training. They fight AGAINST parent involvement. If you can avoid this school do so for the sake of your child.

Lake Dallas High School 1

Posted September 21, 2012
- a parent
I I really hate to disagree with the post before this one, but PLEASE! Biology end of course exam or any other exam can be passed at this school! This school and believably most schools in Texas DUMB down the exams for our children. Check most other states and this info is actually true! Know wonder our kids can pass just about any test with a high grade. There is no challenge! This is NOT a good school at all period.


Lake Dallas High School 4

Posted September 20, 2012
- a teacher
91% of freshman passed the Biology end of course exam the first time they took it (and the first time it was ever administered). Very impressive.

Lake Dallas High School 1

Posted January 13, 2012
- a parent
It is a horrible school. I would never recommend this school to anyone. It starts with administration and works its way down. The administrators are unprofessional and need training .

Lake Dallas High School 3

Posted March 02, 2011
- a community member
What was a GREAT school and district three years ago is quickly dropping due to new admin. A young and ambitious supt. who spent minimal time in the classroom has school principals worrying that she will zero in on them next. Just lost the two best principals in the district last year because they wouldn't put up with her macro-management style. Look for the good teachers to continue to look for lifeboats on this Titanic of a district. Great teachers, students and parents, but administration is poor and school board is weak.


Lake Dallas High School 1

Posted July 22, 2009
- a student
Yeah, this school was ok, I guess. They need better teachers, and less emphasis on nitpicking dress code or identification. I gave it a 1 out of 5 because I graduated from there. Make sense?

Lake Dallas High School 5

Posted August 21, 2008
- a parent
From Mr. David Ketcher on down, the students are treated with respect and consideration. The staff encourages involvement and parent interaction. If a student applies their skills and studies, the LDHS faculty will make sure that child is ready to enter the post HS world. For the student not so involved, the LDHS team will do their darndest to reach and help that student meet the challenges ahead.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Dallas High School
P O Box 548, Lake Dallas, TX  76205
(940) 497-4031
Last modified Lake Dallas High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lake Dallas High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top