Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Lake Dallas, TX
Students enrolled: 930
 

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

19 reviews of this school


Lake Dallas Middle School 2

Posted April 12, 2015
- a parent
Half my son's teachers are horribly disorganized to the point where we can not tell what projects and homework are due. He has one that is well organized and keeps the homework list updated online. When we contacted administration about these problems, they assumed we were the problem instead of looking for consistency from their teachers. After great experiences with LDE/Shady Shores Elementary, we are extremely disappointed.

Lake Dallas Middle School 1

Posted January 15, 2015
- a parent
We took our son out of Lake Dallas Middle School when he was in 7th grade after we had had enough. The teachers are disrespectful, the administration is incompetent and biased, the list of problems goes on and on. As a result, the students tend to do whatever they see fit, including bullying and fighting often right in front of the teachers! We couldn't have our child in an environment where it was basically a free-for-all and the lowest priority seemed to be education.


Lake Dallas Middle School 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
I greatly appreciate the teachers at this school. Not only have they challenged my daughter and son to do better academically, they also gave them the tools to make better decisions among friends. Great Job LDMS!

Lake Dallas Middle School 1

Posted December 26, 2013
- a parent
Lake Dallas Middle school & the district in general has some very serious issues according to the news media. I believe the articles because our child had a very hideous encounter in April with one of this schools band students while at a band competition. Out of no where, and in my presence as well as others, the Lake Dallas student began screaming and hurling insults out of thin air towards an innocent student. Students from other districts became upset because it was all so unnecessary & offensive. I had never seen this type of erratic behavior before. The shocker is that this school had already had an issue with the student that very week but still allowed her to participate which later put innocent students in harms way. Never reward bad behavior. The worst part is that the parent covered up and justified the behavior as opposed to taking that very moment as the opportunity to do the right thing & show some humanity. You are not doing your child a favor by reinforcing bad behavior. There is nothing wrong with taking responsibility and saying you are sorry. That is a spiritually mature act that should be encouraged, not combatted. God is always watching looking for growth.

Lake Dallas Middle School 1

Posted August 10, 2013
- a community member
How can parents teach their sons to respect all females when some of these girls are being raised to be disrespectful, given a false sense of entitlement, and their abnormal behavior is being coddled ? We raised our child to treat everyone under God s sky with the utmost respect but what he got in return from a student from this school, during a multi- district event, was unpredictable rage at an amusement park. How could a student be allowed to attend this culminating experience after just getting in trouble with the school? If that were not bad enough we subsequently changed our phone number because this school gave it out to the delusional parent who felt the need to not render a sincere apology for their child's behavior but rather illustrate a fictional story while attempting to take immature, juvenile, petty, and uneducated jabs at a voicemail service until it finally cut off! LOL. Thanks Lake Dallas Middle for passing out our number to a loon as opposed to doing your job and setting up a professional mediated conference call that would end with one student showing responsibility & the other being given what they deserved. I see why your district stays in the news.


Lake Dallas Middle School 1

Posted May 02, 2013
- a community member
This school is filled with the most disrespectful students I have ever encountered. I must agree with the other two recent posters. The boys are moderately rude, but the female students are very rude and have some of the nastiest dispositions. These students have absolutely no respect and its a reflection on how they are being raised at home. I don't understand how anyone could raise their children to conduct themselves in such a savage like fashion? You should hear some of the things that come from the female students mouths. I really believe it is the leadership & parents modeling bad behavior, because 9 out of 10 times you can trace any school, group, company, or organizations negative or positive environment right back to the authority figures. There is no accountability, responsibility, or respect being taught. One poster said "Self- Fulfilling Prophesy" and this is very true. How one acts in middle school is a direct reflection upon how they will proceed throughout life. Human behavior seldom changes.As for you parents raising you children correctly, seek another district because you don't want your kids to grow accustomed to this kind of environment. Show them there's more.

Lake Dallas Middle School 2

Posted February 01, 2013
- a parent
This school seems to punish the one being bullied rather than the bully. Academics are average at best. Better than the high school, but only due to less drug use. Yes I said less.... Admin needs to step up and make the district the small town with huge pride it used to be before it was taken over by administers treating our children like inner city delinquents. Ever heard of self-fulfilling prophecy? It's education 101 to treat kids how you would like them to treat others.

Lake Dallas Middle School 1

Posted November 08, 2012
- a parent
Staff should pay more attention to bullies! It's scary when children want to hurt themselves or others. I have met several students that struggle with bullies at Lake Dallas. It should not be ignored...


Lake Dallas Middle School 5

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
I have a sixth grader at Lake Dallas Middle School this year. To be honest, I was a little nervous about the transition from elementary to mdidle school. However, I have been so pleased with Lake Dallas Middle School. My daughter loves her teachers, loves the environment, and can't stop talking about what she is learning! Lake Dallas Middle School is an awesome campus!

Lake Dallas Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2012
- a teacher
This school is a very strong middle school as I have been in the district for 12 years and have seen the other middle schools in the area. This school is just as strong, with a home town feel, and the teachers are very qualified with many teachers having their masters. The leadership of the district is off the chart as well. GO FALCONS!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Dallas Middle School
P O Box 548, Lake Dallas, TX  75065
(940) 497-4037
Last modified Lake Dallas Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lake Dallas Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top