Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lancaster Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 988 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lancaster

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2007

LMS's only disadvantage has been the parent participation. The academic programs are there for any child to succeed, the extracurricular activities are there and the people that want to be on the PTA board are there. It is up to the parents/voters to come out and show support for the needs of our children. If we have too many children in this building and not enough teachers, we only have ourselves to blame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

I am a former 8th grade student at Lancaster Jr. High school and now a Freshman at Lancaster High. I myself agree with some of the parents about behavior problem at the Jr.High. Some stutdents go to school to learn and stay focus. There are plenty of teachers that do their job and teach the students. I was also on the National Jr. Honor Society and a Dancer. The more extracurricular activities keep the students focus on their school work. Because the rules are 'No Pass No PLay' therefore they will try their best to pass.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 1, 2007

The administrators do nothing about the kids that are struggling to learn and can not due to consist interruptions. It seems the kids that act the worst get the best respect from the teachers and administrators. Way too many projects given to students at a time. Afterschool programs are needed for the schools. I am thinking about removing my child and placing her in another district. If tax dollars pay for education, then we are they going to start
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

I don't know how many kids they have but, they have a lot. It has to be over 1300 students. Anyway, my child id experiencing success because I am active. There are a few teachers that should not be there but, the majority of them care about students. The discipline is better and my kid can learn is a safe environment. The teachers and Principal meet with me when I schedule an appoinment and they get back to me soon. I went to the first PTA meeting and all the parents complained. This is my 3rd child in LISD and I'm one of the many happy parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

Lancaster ISD is the worst school district ever. My son has not had success in any area. They moved the Jr. High to the old high school and it is falling apart. Every time I am there to make an inquiry about my son I have a long wait or no answers. The school rules are ridiculous, they focus on things such as the hair style a child has and if the child wears a suite on Wed. The expectation that a child can go all day without talking is crazy. What happen to the days when at lunch you can sit with whom you want and talk. Lunch is too short and children should be allowed to step outside to have a breath of fresh air when in a stuffy old building for so long. I think things could be a 100% better for the amount of taxes I pay
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2006

this school could not be any worse
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2006

My daughter has been at the Junior High for the past 2 years. She's never passed any part of the TAKS test and I don't see where they did anything to improve that. I agree that the teachers attendance is poor. Even though in some classes she was supposed to have a regular teacher she continously had subs. This affects the children's learning. They spent a lot of time worrying about the right color belt or things of that nature and suspending kids for those infractions. The classes were filled with kids who were unruly and disrespectful. A lot of times regardless of what you've tried to instill in your child they see these kids getting away with that behavior they figure it's okay to do the same thing. My child was allowed to be out of class 5 times in a row and I was not notified at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2006

My son attended Lancaster Jr High for both 7th and 8th grade much to my regret.This district is in the worst shape as far as academics are concerned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

The quality of academic programs in Lancaster is improving as the district is striving to meet and address student learning. Extracurricular activities for any school has never been and shouldnt be of concern when preparing students to meet the challenges of a progressive society. What does concern me within the junior high school is the lack of parental concern, involvement, and support for student learning. There are a larger number of parents who are concerned and involved in their child's progress however, as usual the bad overshadows the good. The smaller number of students whose parents uphold their children in every act that they do has caused a spoiling of the rest of the apples in the bunch. Helping all students to be successful means the community coming to together (parent, teacher, child, church, and others) to steer and guide the child not the system.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 17, 2006

Lancaster Junior High is an excellent school. The teachers are commited to student achievement. It is difficult for school to achieve greatness because you have a fraction of the student population who sole purpose is to disrupt the learning process because they have no desire to learn. Every rule that principals tried to enforce is met with great resistance despite the fact it is in the student handbook. It is a disgrace to see parents who feel it okay for their childern to disrupts others from learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

This is my daughters second year at the Jr. high and I must agree that some of the students behaviors are sad however, as far as the staff goes, I have had no problems at all. When I visit the school, they are there in their classes, provided me with the information I need and maintained professionalism and this includes the principal. Teachers have responded to my emails concerning my childs progress etc. I am very pleased with the progress that they are making toward moving our students academically. I stand right beside Dr. Lewis in what he is trying to do for this district as a whole and it is going to take time and patience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2005

I am considering transfering my child to this school, I do not have any information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I am delighted that this forum exists to share experiences and concerns. I relocated from the west coast and I have been greatly disappointed with the unprofessionalism of staff within the LISD Administrative Department as well as the previous principal of the junior high school. I have communicated with the principal and several instructors and I was disheartened by their lack of knowledge or willingess to share information on basic procedures. Most importantly, the childish gestures displayed (i.e., rolling of the eyes, smacking lips or body posture)while speaking with them. The discipline system is a joke. Should the on-site officer (who tries to intimidate parents), issue citations to the 'professional staff'? My property taxes are too high to accept such unprofessionalism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I feel like crying on a constant basis because I have subjected my children to this so called 'academic program.' I have a 1st grader, 4th grader, a 8th grader, and one who attended the high school. And although I feel the whole district could use a all new administrative staff the Junior High School has been the worst in every conceivable way. The children are unruly and disrespectful. Which is ironic because the main focus of the district seems to be 'disipline,' no matter what the Superintendent proclaims. Some of this may stem from home but a larger part can obviously be contributed to a lack of instruction from some of the unprofessional teachers. This would make sense because the principal seems be totally incompetent. Also, I can count on both my hands how many times my child has had homework from last year till now. Sad for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2005

My child attended this school for the last two years. I was very disappointed in the school staff. The teachers absenteeism was just as high as the students. There was little to no homework assigned to my child. I spoke with the assistant principle on several occasions and found him to be very unprofessional. The discipline of the students seemed almost non-existent. My overall view of the school is very poor. My child will not be attending LISD every again. I am willing to sacrifice and pay for private school to help ensure her a proper education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

My son is a Eighth grader,AP student. The overall staff is very unprofessional. The principal isn't involved in the day to day running of the school. There are the good teachers and there's the teachers that are just there to make a paycheck. The extracurricular activies includes band, dance, ROTC, Football, basketball, and track. I'm a regular visitor at my son's school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2004

Lancaster Junior High is a wonderful school for parents to consider a place where their kids can get an education I know for a fact cause I'm currently a student who loves the education that has been taught to me and the other students also. The school has wonderful teachers, Principals, and staff. Our school is safe, clean, and knowledgeable. No parent can talk about this school until they have sat down in the classroom , walked the halls or even helped out and I'm not talking about sending some brownies with there kids. I'm talking about those who participate in school programs and PTA meetings those are the one's who can say something negative about the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2004

Lancaster Junior High is the worst school that I have ever encountered. The Principal and administrative staff are constantly changing, even during the school year, and are very unsupportive of the students and the teachers. The retention rate of teachers is very low and interferes with student learning ability. I believe this is a direct result of the administration and its lack of leadership and control over the school. The discipline is outrageous and the students are so disruptive in class that it is impossible for children to achieve a good education. There are numerous safety issues as well. I believe this school needs to be investigated to evaluate its adherence to policy rules and effectiveness. I would never recommend sending your child to this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

372 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

369 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

369 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

347 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

347 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

350 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

351 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female79%
Male83%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Native60%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education60%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented97%

Math

All Students64%
Female58%
Male68%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Native60%
White57%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education43%
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented89%

Writing

All Students92%
Female93%
Male90%
Black or African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education64%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
Black or African American95%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)91%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students77%
Female78%
Male77%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Native0%
White60%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students77%
Female76%
Male79%
Black or African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented98%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Black or African American98%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female76%
Male74%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education28%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students78%
Female79%
Male77%
Black or African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education44%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students63%
Female72%
Male56%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education13%
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted58%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female86%
Male79%
Black or African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education42%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students76%
Female78%
Male75%
Black or African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education42%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented89%
Non-Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students72%
Female68%
Male76%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education44%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talented91%
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students72%
Female68%
Male77%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education55%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Unacceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 77% 13%
Hispanic 20% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
White 1% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 6%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45
School end time
  • 4:00
School Leader's name
  • ELIJAH GRANGER
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (972) 218-1677

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

822 West Pleasant Run Road
Lancaster, TX 75146
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 218-1660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Berne Academy
Lancaster, TX





Alternative School
Lancaster, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT