Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Martin High School 2

Posted June 27, 2011
- a parent
This school is not what it once was. Sure it was never great but it is in a total slump. The teachers cannot be blamed completely when you have students (and parents alike) that don't care. It sad really to see this historic school turn into a total quagmire.

Martin High School 4

Posted January 05, 2011
- a community member
Martin High School is a great institution and possibly the best school in Laredo, Texas. Sure the TAKS scores are low, but consider this: a majority of freshmen have poor English and reading skills. The faculty and administration have work twice as hard as other schools to get these kids to understand the material. The dedication to the student's success by the faculty is so immense. By the time these kids, whom have had trouble with English graduate, they are grateful, and enthused about college. No the TAKS scores don't measure that but their teachers really are there for them. This school never gets the credit it deserves and never gets a pat on the back for what it does right. Now as for the pre-AP, GT kids: They aren't ignored for the sake of the overwhelming majority struggling with English and social-economic problems, they are challenged. There are so many extracurricular activities; it will keep overachievers very preoccupied. I'm an alumnus, very involved honor student, Manga Cum Laude college graduate, did my teaching internship there. There is no other school like it. I pray for the day when I will teach there, like my mother has. Once A Tiger, Always a Tiger


Martin High School 2

Posted December 14, 2010
- a teacher
As a former staff member, I can attest that this school is home to troubled kids. One need not look farther than the school's standardized testing record to see many students don't go on to complete a higher education. With that said, great students will succeed no matter the environment. Martin has produced countless great students. This school has excellent teachers and leadership. Unfortunately, much of it falls flat on the ears of the overwhelmingly majority: apathetic students and their equally apathetic (AND uneducated) parents. School pride? Check. Educational pride? TBA

Martin High School 5

Posted October 17, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Martin High School 5

Posted May 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Martin High School 0
no rating

Posted March 05, 2009
- a student
this is an awesome school. it has everything the students may need. my whole family graduated as a tiger. and i plan to keep the tradition going

Martin High School 0
no rating

Posted January 17, 2009
- a parent
Yea i know this is kinda late but i just happened to come across it and i didnt really like what a parent had to say on nov.3,2007......i am a student from there and i am proud to say that i am a cheerleader there and there is no such thing as just cuz i have that role that teachers are gonna pass me...i have to work twice as hard to be able to pass! i study and work very hard to be able to keep up my average and stay at tht top 10 percent of my class as i am now! so i really dont appreciate people taking when they dont really know the truth of whats happening in the school...martin is an awesome place to be at and im proud to be a tiger! GO RED AND WHITE and as always.........ONCE A TIGER ALWAYS A TIGER!!!

Martin High School 5

Posted May 16, 2008
- a student
i believe that martin high school is an outstanding school


Martin High School 4

Posted March 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Martin High School 5

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
Not only is Martin High an excellent school, but have excellent teachers and administrators. I have seen teachers leave at 6 or later to provide extra help to our children if needed. When we need to speak to a teacher, we can call the school and leave message or e-mailed them. They are good in responding back. We may hear bad things of the school, but we don't get any complements on the good things that the school provides for the community. Example the cleaning of parts of Laredo they've. They have also prepare the blue bags for the recyle bags with use, ect. I am proud to say I'm an ex alumni and proud to have 5 daughters attendant that school on which 3 graduated and 1 that will graduate in May with honors and last one a freshman.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martin High School
2002 San Bernardo Avenue, Laredo, TX  78040
(956) 273-7100
Last modified Martin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Martin High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top