Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

United South High School

Public | 9-12 | 3059 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2011

Used to teach here. Classes are devoted to passing the Texas state tests. Little academic preparation beyond that. Some students go to UT and A&M due to Texas' top 10% law, yet few few survive. A minuscule minority go to prestigious schools thanks to affirmative action and similar programs, largely because non-Laredoan/TAMIU teachers push them and write rec. letters. Counselors do a terrible job, have no knowledge of college admissions standards, ask for rec. letters the day before they are due,etc... The students successful at gaining admittance to real colleges use the counselor at the local private school due to UISD's limited ability.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2010

As a teacher on this campus, I can attest to the fact that our faculty works for goals of excellence that include long hours of planning and tutoring and trying. The teachers are dedicated and able to make the changes for more successes. We need more parental involvement and a way to bring parents into the support of academics , but it is difficult when most of our population is the first to graduate high school and certaintly the first to go to college. We do, however, have a very effective college prep program that is getting more students to college and universities beyond our most hopeful dreams.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2009

School culture is positive. Very hard working administrative team, most teachers are veterans, some first year but limited. Counseling staff promotes AP program, pursues college admissions and scholarship applications vigorously. Special Education department is extremely proactive. Students are well behaved and community service oriented. School receives many compliments on their behavior when they travel, attend conferences or competitions. Drugs and violence are not rampant, however there is a strict zero tolerance policy and administrators do not turn a blind eye. Those students who break the rules will receive just consequences. Many extra curricular activities available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

United South High School provided my child with the best possible fundimentals possible- He graduated as a AP- DAP graduate and left with many accomplishments thanks to the staff at United South- My son now attends Brown University and is doing wonderful in which he thanks most of his teachers for the preperation. If you see alot of great dissmisal of this high school- Do Not pay attention- Visit the school first hand= Most comments are from people in the city who just go by 'reputation'. Times have changed just as people and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

Lots of crime, dismal academics,many inexperienced teachers, administration bullies the teachers and is constantly dealing with problem students
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 27, 2007

Well all I have to say is that I know students from this high school who are at or got into Harvard, Georgetown, Brown, UT, Stanford, Notre Dame, Texas A&M, USC, UCLA, UofH, Princeton, and more of those prestigious schools. So don't be turned off by the bad ratings you see on this page. This high school has a great staff and administration; if the school kids are bad and their scores as well then it's the parents' and the kid's faults. They're the ones who don't pay attention or put in any effort into doing anything. Let me tell you that those who do they make it big.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 30, 2005

I'm a former student, I believe that United South High School is a great school. I now appreaciate all the help my teachers gave me. If it wasn't for them I would have not been prepared for Texas A&M University.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 31, 2005

When I moved to Texas, USHS was the first school I attended. It was very disappointing that this school could not provide textbooks to students due to tax money problems! I couldn't understand/believe why we didn't have textbooks. Another issue were advisors, she couldn't 'advise' me with college choices. I had to figure everything on my own without any guidance what so ever. Oh can't forget the drug issues...too much drug trafficing in this school (teachers knew who they were) but then again its a border town.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 12, 2005

This school has problems. State test scores are abysmal, as are SAT scores. No books are given to students unless parents specifically request them (most don't).
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 6, 2005

I wonder about this school. Children are not given textbooks to take home, and never have homework. Some classes are conducted in Spanish. How can they learn English better this way? The school has had armed sherriff's deputies in the halls at the end of the semester to prevent gang fights. One day there were kids with baseball bats at the front gate at the end of the school day, and there are always police there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 2, 2005

Not a great school. Unlike every other school I've heard of or experienced, students aren't provided with books to take home unless parents specifically request one. Consequently very little homework is given, with predicatble results when students get to college. Lots of pregnancy, gang activity, drugs. New principals every year or two. Almost all teachers are locals and graduates of less-than-distinguished local college,so little intellectual diversity.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 15, 2004

As a former student of USHS I have no complaints. I am very proud to have graduated from this school and am happy to say that they did prepare me for what I am now, a teacher. It disappoints me to hear about all the negative things from parents and other students from this school. As a teacher now I realize that education does start at home. Parents if you think the school needs improvement then it does, but do something about it. Be a parent volunteer and get involved with your student and their school. Remember that it takes a community to raise a child. One person can't make a difference, but everyone together can. And about the gangs, drugs, and everything else let me tell you it's everywhere. We can't runaway from it, but we do need to face the reality of it. Go Panthers!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 9, 2004

Iam proud to say that I go to this school were I successed in all my subjects.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2004

I recently graduated at the top of my class from this school. I attended the magnet program and, at the time, thought I was getting a decent education. Now, I'm at UT, and find that everyone else had trig at their high school, and it wasn't even an option at USHS. My UT classmates had a number of science and math classes in HS that I would have jumped at if they were only offered. I had one or two decent teachers, but they weren't from Laredo, and now they are gone. Also, none of my classmates passed a single AP test outside of spanish. I can only hope that my kids go somwhere better than USHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2004

I have worked at this school, other schools, and currently teach in the education department of a northeastern state university. My fellow faculty members here are aghast at the student academic performance, the emphasis on state tests at the expense of college preparation, and adminstration/teacher turnover, as well as the acceptance of student behavior that all too often crosses the line into criminality. Add this to the rates of drug use (often on campus), gang membership, pregnancy, and the real 'noncompletion' (read droput) rate, and one sees how the school loves to play up the very few that go onto elite colleges. I have taught some of these children, and they are not the norm. There are some fine, dedicated faculty at this school, but the administration uses the economic status of the students as an excuse for general academic achievement that is sub-mediocre.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 19, 2004

I am a proud parent of a junior at this school. I can honestly say this a great school and has recently been under great control. My daughter has been doing excellent and is at the top of her class. I get very distracted when other parents say it is an awful school and critic the administration. Lately, I can say they have been doing a spectacular job. They want the best for the students. They have been pursuing the best for the student s sake. The offer tutorials and extra learning programs aside of class. They really work hard to help our children learn. The school also has a great sports program. With this, the students want to do even better in class so they can be able to be a part of their sport.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2004

I am not a parent but a student of this high school. I have read the comments posted on this website and yes during the past two years things have been a little chaotic around our campus, but now we have a great staff and an even greater principal. As a student from United South I can tell you that this school not only prepared me for college but also for the future. I am now applying to Harvard, UCLA, and UT. Just to name a few. I know what you must think, I have to grade this school high only because I belong to it, but trust me I don't have to. I love this school and I know I will come back to thank all the administration for their excellent support and help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2004

Our school is really progressing. Our principle and staff are doing their best to keep us away from gang-related or any fights around campus. We also don't have any dances or movies during class to distract us so us students should also understand that school hours are for learning and not just to have fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2004

Private schools are awful, they don't let students interact with other people as well. Therefore, I suggest that the parent which just appointed that United South High School was an awful place for studying, I would say to keep his/her words to themselves, since as a personal parent of a student from United South, I can definitely say that my child, a senior, is an excellent student who is now prepared to leave Laredo to go to one of the best universities in the United States and it is all thanks to the scholarships that she received. So, with all respect I encourage you to watch carefully how our school is advancing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

Awful place for education. Even AP students have low SAT scores(600-800). Lots of crime on and off campus. New principals every couple of years. Most of the decent teachers leave after a couple of years. Much of the class time is wasted on dances, pep rallies, TAAS/TAKS testing, movies, etc. Dropout claims are wildly off the mark. The census states that less than half of this zip code has a HS diploma, yet USHS says that over %95 graduate. Faced with this choice, my child is going to a private high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

695 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

696 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

629 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

619 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

620 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

614 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

625 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

627 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

627 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

627 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education55%
Limited English proficient (LEP)48%

Math

All Students89%
Female89%
Male88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)53%

Science

All Students93%
Female92%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

505 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
67%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

602 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

441 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

635 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
37%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

684 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
33%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
99%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

659 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students52%
Female52%
Male52%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Special education42%
Not special education53%
Limited English proficient (LEP)28%
Proficient in English59%
Migrant71%
Non-migrant52%
Gifted/talented87%
Non-Gifted51%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students94%
Female98%
Male90%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students75%
Female76%
Male74%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education50%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English81%
Migrant71%
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingual100%

Chemistry

All Students69%
Female70%
Male67%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special education29%
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English72%
Migrant80%
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented93%
Non-Gifted64%
Bilingual86%

English I Reading

All Students40%
Female49%
Male33%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Special education10%
Not special education42%
Limited English proficient (LEP)11%
Proficient in English51%
Migrant29%
Non-migrant41%
Gifted/talented83%
Non-Gifted37%
Bilingual56%

English I Writing

All Students30%
Female37%
Male24%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Special education13%
Not special education31%
Limited English proficient (LEP)5%
Proficient in English38%
Migrant0%
Non-migrant30%
Gifted/talented84%
Non-Gifted26%
Bilingual55%

English II Reading

All Students65%
Female69%
Male61%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education33%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Gifted/talented93%
Non-Gifted60%
Bilingual89%

English II Writing

All Students36%
Female41%
Male31%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Special education8%
Not special education37%
Limited English proficient (LEP)1%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%
Gifted/talented78%
Non-Gifted29%
Bilingual67%

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students82%
Female86%
Male77%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education56%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingual100%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students67%
Female65%
Male68%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education45%
Not special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)39%
Proficient in English74%
Migrant75%
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted64%
Bilingual92%

World History

All Students57%
Female52%
Male61%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education24%
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)21%
Proficient in English62%
Migrant60%
Non-migrant57%
Gifted/talented85%
Non-Gifted52%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 99% 52%
White 1% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Black N/A 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 13%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • ADRIANA RAMIREZ
Fax number
  • (956) 473-5599

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4001 Ave Los Presidentes
Laredo, TX 78046
Website: Click here
Phone: (956) 473-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Lyndon B Johnson
Laredo, TX


F S Lara Academy
Laredo, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT