Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Laredo, TX
Students enrolled: 988

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Col Santos Benavides Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a parent
My daughter just started 4th grade, coming from a catholic school I was a little concerned. She has been happy to go to school everyday, she's reading every day and is more involved with class & school activities

Col Santos Benavides Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2012
- a parent
I love the school I want my daughter to study in this school I can't wait to have my daughter here

Col Santos Benavides Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2009
- a parent
My son started 1st grade for the school year 2009-10. The Advanced Reading program is one of the best assets this school promotes. My son has read over 200 books in the past 3 months, and he enjoys it every day! His teacher always motivates each child and their individual level. Principal Villarreal is on top of everything that goes on in the school, knows every single child and is always readily available for parent's concerns. All staff is wonderful as well. My middle son will start K next school year and even my 3 year old daughet is looking forward to attend the school.

Col Santos Benavides Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent of a soon to be 3rd grader and a kinder student. My children have had a wonderful experience while attending CSBS. Great teachers and staff. Students are always rewarded for their good work. It is a beautiful facility and students are encouraged to keep it looking beautiful. Principal always greats her students with a smile and makes them feel welcome.

Col Santos Benavides Elementary School 4

Posted March 09, 2006
- a parent
My daughter is in her first year in the dual language program. The program lets her learn english and spanish fluently and her teachers are great. They have started in the new school and it is wonderful.

Col Santos Benavides Elementary School 2

Posted April 20, 2005
- a parent
Thankfully, this school is moving to a newer building. Hopefully this will curb the HUGE overcrowding problem. The amount of students crammed into a small, outdated building was almost cruel to the students. It was impossible to get a quality education when children are crammed into old, infested portables. The faculty, staff, and administration did a commendable job with what was given to them, but with years of continued overcrowding in a substandard building, and no relief by the district until this coming year, I had no choice but to move my children from this school. There are boundary changes coming this year, and hopefully, the problems with the old school will not move with them.

Col Santos Benavides Elementary School 2

Posted February 21, 2005
- a parent
The school has been disappointing. The teachers are wonderful and do what they can to help the students, however the administration does not support the teachers and are horrible when it comes to discipline. The administration does not assist new teachers but rather makes it even more difficult for them to suceed. Upon driving up to the campus and even upon entering, the school is very uninviting. The principal claims to have an open door policy but it is only open to those she wants to speak with. I have seen teacher moral drop over the last 4 years and TAKS scores have gone down each year since the principal took over the school. The teachers can't do their jobs when they have poor leaders who focus on the wrong things to implement.

Col Santos Benavides Elementary School 3

Posted June 17, 2003
- a community member
This school has the best administration I have ever seen. They truly strive to put the needs of the children first. The majority of the teachers are very good and are interested in the students personal achievement. however...due to serious overcrowding issues, the quality of the school building itself to serve the needs of the children is not there. They have almost 1200 students projected for next year, in a building that is to serve 550. It has serious growing pains. Classes are full, there is a portable city in the 'playground' with outdated buildings, it has problems with PE and Lunch being so crowded that it is akin to herding the children. I'm sure that if the district builds another school soon to lesson the school size, things should improve. It cannot continue to grow, no matter how good the staff is.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Col Santos Benavides Elementary School
10702 Kirby Drive, Laredo, TX  78045
(956) 473-4900
Last modified Col Santos Benavides Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Col Santos Benavides Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top