Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

United Day School

Private | PK-11 | 220 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Laredo

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2013

Very south Texas strict environment, punishments handed out as negative tokens for things like, asking to go to the bathroom during class, forgetting a pencil in your locker. I also think uniforms are outdated, but are very popular here. Many teachers, especially the ones who have been around a while, are not certified. Parents are not encouraged to come to school for lunch. Just really misses the boat, it really about a controlling environment, instead of *learning*, thinking critically, or engendering a love of learning. Really need a head of school and committee committed to best practices, achievement and nurturing academic and whole child growth. Anyone of any consequence graduate from UDS? Probably not. Need new leadership, better quality teachers, lose the uniforms, and realize a great school is not tied to archaic methods of controlling children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

Excellent academics, great Spanish Program, good atletics programs, lots of activities for student to participate, excellent character program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

This is not only the best school in the entire city of Laredo, it is one of the very best private schools in the entire state. My two daughters have been going to UDS for five years now, and as a parent I can see that they are getting a first rate education. This school reminds me of the public schools back in the 1940s and 50s. They teach the old fashioned way using new technology. I wouldn't let my daughters go to any other school, period!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

I think uds is the best school in the city and is very exelent i my self went there and it is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

United Day (UUS) is located in a city where quality is not the priority. UDS is the top school in Laredo, but it has slowly become less demanding for excellence, and accepting mediocraty. Its teachers used to be top notch, usually having teached in UDS for more than 20 years, but many of them have left, and new mediocre teachers were established. Not that most teachers are excellent, but the few that are not up to par make the school look bad. As a student, I am worried for the school's performance and think this should be known.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2007

The academics only seem exceptional because of the how poor Laredo schools actually are. On a national level, quite frankly, United Day in some aspects can't compete. Sure they make it in their local high schools (bad ones), but it catches up to them later on. The mathematics program has suffered. Struggling students pull back other students causing repetitive explanations of lessons that should have been learned the first. Extracurriculars include basketball, some music, volleyball, and flag football. Not too shabby for a school with less than 400 kids. Overall, United Day needs to step it up to consider itself a top-tier school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

If you are looking for a school that challenges your child in academics look no further. The teacher to child ratio is excellent and the school is constantly upgrading in technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

I moved my children from a public school to this school two years ago. It was a great decision. My children are expected to perform at a very high level, which was a welcome change. Homework is intense, and frequent which makes this school not for the weak of heart. As a result, however, my children now organize their time better and can accomplish more tasks (both school and home related) in a shorter amount of time. They think faster, and on a much higher level. As a parent, you are expected to support and work WITH your child. If you don't have time to dedicate to this, you will not like this school. As with any school, there are lapses in teacher quality, but in Laredo, there is no better school for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

A great school! I really miss the envoroement and the people at United. Children do not only get the Best education available in laredo ( and surrounding areas), but they also learn about character! They use the saxon math program and they become good reader before first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

We call it the 'nest' for our children. Great teachers, small environment, higher learning objectives make this a great place for children to learn. The middle school offers leadership training and a field trip to D.C. that both enhance future learning for these students. Teachers [at] United Day School are interested and involved with every student on campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2003

It is a great school. Parent involvement is extraordinary. Teachers are superb, and the headmistress is marvelous. We all feel like familly. My kid is happy. I am happy. Excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2003

Everything about United Day school is awesome! From the challenging curriculum to very truly caring teachers, to a very smart and organized principal that has a geniune love for education and the students.We are all like a familly. We all know each other. No doubt about it - this school is hard, and may not be for everyone. Those that graduate from UDS will have a foundation for life- and to entry into the best high schools and universities in the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 77% 47%
White 18% 37%
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 0% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC,TAAP
Fax number
  • (956) 718-4048

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1701 San Isidro Pkwy
Laredo, TX 78045
Phone: (956) 723-7261

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT