Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Laredo, TX
Students enrolled: 454
 

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

12 reviews of this school


United Day School 2

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Very south Texas strict environment, punishments handed out as negative tokens for things like, asking to go to the bathroom during class, forgetting a pencil in your locker. I also think uniforms are outdated, but are very popular here. Many teachers, especially the ones who have been around a while, are not certified. Parents are not encouraged to come to school for lunch. Just really misses the boat, it really about a controlling environment, instead of *learning*, thinking critically, or engendering a love of learning. Really need a head of school and committee committed to best practices, achievement and nurturing academic and whole child growth. Anyone of any consequence graduate from UDS? Probably not. Need new leadership, better quality teachers, lose the uniforms, and realize a great school is not tied to archaic methods of controlling children.

United Day School
no rating

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
Excellent academics, great Spanish Program, good atletics programs, lots of activities for student to participate, excellent character program


United Day School 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a parent
This is not only the best school in the entire city of Laredo, it is one of the very best private schools in the entire state. My two daughters have been going to UDS for five years now, and as a parent I can see that they are getting a first rate education. This school reminds me of the public schools back in the 1940s and 50s. They teach the old fashioned way using new technology. I wouldn't let my daughters go to any other school, period!

United Day School 5

Posted December 13, 2007
- a parent
I think uds is the best school in the city and is very exelent i my self went there and it is amazing!

United Day School 2

Posted October 17, 2007
- a student
United Day (UUS) is located in a city where quality is not the priority. UDS is the top school in Laredo, but it has slowly become less demanding for excellence, and accepting mediocraty. Its teachers used to be top notch, usually having teached in UDS for more than 20 years, but many of them have left, and new mediocre teachers were established. Not that most teachers are excellent, but the few that are not up to par make the school look bad. As a student, I am worried for the school's performance and think this should be known.


United Day School 3

Posted April 03, 2007
- a parent
The academics only seem exceptional because of the how poor Laredo schools actually are. On a national level, quite frankly, United Day in some aspects can't compete. Sure they make it in their local high schools (bad ones), but it catches up to them later on. The mathematics program has suffered. Struggling students pull back other students causing repetitive explanations of lessons that should have been learned the first. Extracurriculars include basketball, some music, volleyball, and flag football. Not too shabby for a school with less than 400 kids. Overall, United Day needs to step it up to consider itself a top-tier school.

United Day School 5

Posted May 23, 2006
- a parent
If you are looking for a school that challenges your child in academics look no further. The teacher to child ratio is excellent and the school is constantly upgrading in technology.

United Day School 4

Posted April 20, 2005
- a parent
I moved my children from a public school to this school two years ago. It was a great decision. My children are expected to perform at a very high level, which was a welcome change. Homework is intense, and frequent which makes this school not for the weak of heart. As a result, however, my children now organize their time better and can accomplish more tasks (both school and home related) in a shorter amount of time. They think faster, and on a much higher level. As a parent, you are expected to support and work WITH your child. If you don't have time to dedicate to this, you will not like this school. As with any school, there are lapses in teacher quality, but in Laredo, there is no better school for my children.


United Day School 5

Posted April 06, 2005
- a parent
A great school! I really miss the envoroement and the people at United. Children do not only get the Best education available in laredo ( and surrounding areas), but they also learn about character! They use the saxon math program and they become good reader before first grade.

United Day School 5

Posted August 22, 2003
- a parent
We call it the 'nest' for our children. Great teachers, small environment, higher learning objectives make this a great place for children to learn. The middle school offers leadership training and a field trip to D.C. that both enhance future learning for these students. Teachers [at] United Day School are interested and involved with every student on campus.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

United Day School
1701 San Isidro Parkway, Laredo, TX  78045
(956) 723-7261
Last modified United Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
United Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top