Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


United Day School 2

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Very south Texas strict environment, punishments handed out as negative tokens for things like, asking to go to the bathroom during class, forgetting a pencil in your locker. I also think uniforms are outdated, but are very popular here. Many teachers, especially the ones who have been around a while, are not certified. Parents are not encouraged to come to school for lunch. Just really misses the boat, it really about a controlling environment, instead of *learning*, thinking critically, or engendering a love of learning. Really need a head of school and committee committed to best practices, achievement and nurturing academic and whole child growth. Anyone of any consequence graduate from UDS? Probably not. Need new leadership, better quality teachers, lose the uniforms, and realize a great school is not tied to archaic methods of controlling children.

United Day School 0
no rating

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
Excellent academics, great Spanish Program, good atletics programs, lots of activities for student to participate, excellent character program


United Day School 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a parent
This is not only the best school in the entire city of Laredo, it is one of the very best private schools in the entire state. My two daughters have been going to UDS for five years now, and as a parent I can see that they are getting a first rate education. This school reminds me of the public schools back in the 1940s and 50s. They teach the old fashioned way using new technology. I wouldn't let my daughters go to any other school, period!

United Day School 1

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

United Day School 1

Posted February 24, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


United Day School 5

Posted December 13, 2007
- a parent
I think uds is the best school in the city and is very exelent i my self went there and it is amazing!

United Day School 2

Posted October 17, 2007
- a student
United Day (UUS) is located in a city where quality is not the priority. UDS is the top school in Laredo, but it has slowly become less demanding for excellence, and accepting mediocraty. Its teachers used to be top notch, usually having teached in UDS for more than 20 years, but many of them have left, and new mediocre teachers were established. Not that most teachers are excellent, but the few that are not up to par make the school look bad. As a student, I am worried for the school's performance and think this should be known.

United Day School 3

Posted April 03, 2007
- a parent
The academics only seem exceptional because of the how poor Laredo schools actually are. On a national level, quite frankly, United Day in some aspects can't compete. Sure they make it in their local high schools (bad ones), but it catches up to them later on. The mathematics program has suffered. Struggling students pull back other students causing repetitive explanations of lessons that should have been learned the first. Extracurriculars include basketball, some music, volleyball, and flag football. Not too shabby for a school with less than 400 kids. Overall, United Day needs to step it up to consider itself a top-tier school.


United Day School 5

Posted May 23, 2006
- a parent
If you are looking for a school that challenges your child in academics look no further. The teacher to child ratio is excellent and the school is constantly upgrading in technology.

United Day School 4

Posted August 31, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

United Day School
1701 San Isidro Parkway, Laredo, TX  78045
(956) 723-7261
Last modified United Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
United Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top