Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Leander High School 1

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
Our family is very disappointed in the school's quality of education. Exceptionally low academic standards.

Leander High School 1

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
This school struggles to excel in anything. Both of my boys were so disappointed by their experiences that I withdrew them 2 years ago and enrolled at another school. They chose a sports program instead of PE credit at Leander. I didn't realize the sports program was so demanding. It wouldn't have been so bad except they lost every single game. It was so bad seeing the disappointed looks on the kids faces before the games even started! The education was mediocre at best. Both of my sons got 94% and above in their AP classes but did badly on the AP tests because they were tested over subjects that weren't covered in class. At their new school, they got 5's on both AP tests last year. The people and the school are really nice, but it is an incredibly low self esteem school. They need to win at something to get some confidence in their kids.


Leander High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Firstly I do not recommend this school. I will say my son finished class with more information than he had to start with, so that's a start. The AP classes are ok but move at a slower pace than his previous school.

Leander High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
The homework load was normal in some classes and too light in some other classes.

Leander High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Definitely not. Schools that do this have something to show for it. The trophy cases at the school are unexplainably sparse for a school that has been in existence for so long, and no school should EVER hang participation ribbons in its trophy case.


Leander High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
The students I've seen looked very lifeless and uninterested in anything, I'm not sure if its quiet respect or if they're developing the attitude modeled by the teachers.

Leander High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
I don't feel the teachers truly care that much about student success. Teachers and counselors didn't return any of my voicemails or emails. In my opinion they just want the paycheck and look to cut corners where they can.

Leander High School 1

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Its a fairly large school for being in a partly rural area. After moving from a much larger school in Austin, I was shocked at how teachers and counselors struggle with communication. I left multiple voicemails/emails and never received a response. Another telling sign of the schools lack of accomplishments are their very bare trophy cases. I have never seen a school actually hang a participation ribbon in their school's trophy show case until now. Multiple particpation ribbons to be exact. The people are mostly friendly and I feel they have good hearts, they are just very inefficient and things go at a much much slower pace out here. I've been on the school grounds a few times during school hours and all the kids seemed tired or depressed. I know they're teens in highschool, but this is very different from my sons previous school which was full of life and energy. The school struggles in nearly every sport. They lost every football game in the 2014 season but somehow the head football coach of that season is now in charge of athletics in the school. I hoped this school to be so much more than it is.


Leander High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Chad Patterson. About the only great teacher at this school. He gets that when his class isn't learning the subject, that you have to approach it in different ways to make sure that all students are learning and getting the subject. He isn't stuck in the way such as some English Teachers, that there is only one way to teach and if someone is left behind with the attitude oh well.

Leander High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
Abilities are terrible. No all but a lot of them. An IB teacher who has a class grade average at a 50 for a grade, and thinks she teaches fair needs to rethink her teaching and abilities. The goal is to teach, not fail a student. And it isn't the teacher who decides who should be a IB student and who shouldn't but grading hard. Especially when she shows very inconsistent grading from student to student. To much favoritism.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leander High School
3301 South Bagdad Road, Leander, TX  78641
(512) 570-1000
Last modified Leander High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Leander High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. Top