Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Leander High School 4

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
This high school is very good for academics as it is an International Baccalaureate School. The biggest problem with the school is the Men's Coaches. To have coaches who frown on athletes being in other programs is outrageous!! To expect the athletes put in 40 hours a week in the sport they are participating in is even more ridiculous. Especially when how low of a percentage chance of making it to college in that sport, let alone receive a scholarship. And those that have received scholarships, it has mostly been to Division III schools and not Division I. Also the men's coaches could take a lesson from the women's coaches, especially the softball team on how to almost win state and build true team cohesiveness, and not division within the players on a team. And this really isn't aimed at all of the Men's coaches, just a few, who need to learn that the program whether it is Baseball or Basketball, it isn't about the coach and his program, but about the players who come with real heart to really try and play a game and when they do, they are put on the bench, because they are in some other activity such as Band or a different sport or another activity in school!!!

Leander High School 5

Posted April 18, 2012
- a parent
My son is a senior at LHS in the IB program. He will graduate this year in the top 10% of his class and was recently accepted into Rice Univ. I attribute his success to the great teachers at LHS and the support and devotion they demonstrate each day. My son has benefited academically, however I must say that it is much more than that. The school has alot of tradition, great student-led organization and tons of groups/clubs for teenagers to be involved in. I have never heard him come home with a negative comment about the staff, teachers or administrators. Thank you LHS for all you've done!!


Leander High School 4

Posted April 18, 2012
- a parent
PHENOMENAL TEACHERS! I can not stress that enough! The counselors have been attentive to special needs, administrators have taken appropriate action, and my teenager loves it here. The IB/AP curriculum is challenging and engaging. Unfortunately the chain isn't completely free of weak links. We did encounter a Geometry teacher who was less than enthusiastic and particularly unapproachable. However, she is offset by countless other teachers who obviously care about each student and help ensure their success. I feel Leander High School is doing an outstanding job of preparing my teenager for continued academic success beyond high school.

Leander High School 5

Posted May 13, 2011
- a student
Fantastic school with selfless teachers and coaches. I am part of the band and don't know what I would do without it. The director is great and the friendships we form are irreplaceable.

Leander High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
The teachers care so much about the students and the students flourish. Team work makes all the difference.


Leander High School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Leander High School 5

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
Great school. Great administrator and great teaching staff. We could not be more pleased. Makes Vista Ridge look like a nursery school.

Leander High School 5

Posted October 05, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Leander High School 5

Posted June 19, 2007
- a parent
My son has at LHS one year and I am very pleased with the school over all. The teachers always respond emails and are always available to talk to. The IB program is very well organized and the counselors do a great job on each grade. I am very pleased with sports and extracurricular activities. The Coaches motivate the kids to do well and get good grades. Bad grades and you are out of the sport you are involved. The parent support and involment is very good, it's a big great pride.

Leander High School 5

Posted February 18, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leander High School
3301 South Bagdad Road, Leander, TX  78641
(512) 570-1000
Last modified Leander High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Leander High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews.