Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Leander High School 1

Posted March 31, 2016
- a community member
My husband and I have been community volunteers here for years. Sadly we have watched the school and its students and faculty decay into what it has become now. In interacting with the students there used to be a sense of pride in them, but it seemingly has now been replaced by embarrassment. We noticed this change a few years ago and were hoping it would be temporary but it seems to have only gotten worse. We will not be sending our grandchildren to Leander High.

Leander High School 1

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
My childrens' middle school had larger class sizes and fewer administrative staff and fewer school counselors and still wasn't as mismanaged as this school. The administration does a terrible job of communication and lacks critical organization skills. My oldest daughters middle school told me they gave up after a week of trying to get in touch with Leander staff to verify they received some of her records. This was the middle schools second attempt since Leander said it "must have done got lost in the hustle and bustle". That should have been my first hint. I really think the school is trying as hard as they can, but bless their little hearts its just too much for them to handle. I'm hoping they will be lucky enough to get a lottery transfer to Vandegrift or Vista Ridge.


Leander High School 1

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
I can't take anything at this school seriously. Their academics are the weakest in the area, their sports teams are flat out terrible, and the students always look like they just got out of bed. And seriously what's with the participation ribbons in the trophy case? My daughters are so disappointed they can't transfer to VandeGrift or Vista Ridge.

Leander High School 1

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
This is the most depressing school I have ever been around. I wish there was another school I could transfer my daughter to.

Leander High School 1

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
Our family is very disappointed in the school's quality of education. Exceptionally low academic standards.


Leander High School 1

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
This school struggles to excel in anything. Both of my boys were so disappointed by their experiences that I withdrew them 2 years ago and enrolled at another school. They chose a sports program instead of PE credit at Leander. I didn't realize the sports program was so demanding. It wouldn't have been so bad except they lost every single game. It was so bad seeing the disappointed looks on the kids faces before the games even started! The education was mediocre at best. Both of my sons got 94% and above in their AP classes but did badly on the AP tests because they were tested over subjects that weren't covered in class. At their new school, they got 5's on both AP tests last year. The people and the school are really nice, but it is an incredibly low self esteem school. They need to win at something to get some confidence in their kids.

Leander High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Firstly I do not recommend this school. I will say my son finished class with more information than he had to start with, so that's a start. The AP classes are ok but move at a slower pace than his previous school.

Leander High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
The homework load was normal in some classes and too light in some other classes.


Leander High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Definitely not. Schools that do this have something to show for it. The trophy cases at the school are unexplainably sparse for a school that has been in existence for so long, and no school should EVER hang participation ribbons in its trophy case.

Leander High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
The students I've seen looked very lifeless and uninterested in anything, I'm not sure if its quiet respect or if they're developing the attitude modeled by the teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leander High School
3301 South Bagdad Road, Leander, TX  78641
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. (512) 570-1000
Last modified Leander High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top