Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Leander Middle School 5

Posted April 25, 2012
- a parent
LMS was recently awarded the distinction as a School To Watch. They were selected because they are doing things right and are a model for other schools. The teachers and administration are top notch. I've had 1 daughter graduate & 1 presently enrolled. They are bright girls who still are/were challenged. The dedicated teachers volunteer their time for tutorials and extra curricular activities. The diverse population is a hidden bonus. My girls are educated in a safe, challenging, and happy school.

Leander Middle School 5

Posted January 25, 2012
- a parent
LMS is a fantastic school! The teachers are dedicated to the success of every child and dedicated to making sure every child has a passion for learning. Both LMS and the principal are award winning. I find this humorous considering the fact (yes fact) that other parent's and students at the other schools in the district still choose to cling to the negative stereotypes they have for LMS. It's not the shiny new school or the school in someone's idea of the "best" neighborhood, but LMS has it where it counts and that's the best middle school for academics in LISD bar none.


Leander Middle School
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a community member
I am a former student.I love this schools environment but I really didn't get all the help I needed to succeed.

Leander Middle School
no rating

Posted February 15, 2010
- a parent
This school is one of the oldest in Leander but remains one of the finest! The teachers do incredible work with these kids and know each one by name. Sure, the population is diverse but so is the world and this middle school faces the same concerns that all middle schools in Texas face. The principal has the best in mind for each of her students and this filters down through the entire faculty. Kids receive a great education at LMS and, because of a lower enrollment, get lots of opportunities to participate in extra-curricular activities, as well as receive one on one attetion. I think you'll be very pleased with LMS.

Leander Middle School 5

Posted March 11, 2009
- a parent
This diverse school is amazing. Although it isn't as new as the other middle schools in the district, it has character beyond the the brick facade. The principal and teachers are passionate and dedicated. My daughter is bright, but is challenged daily. She is happy and proud to be at this school. Her friends are wonderful children who I are respectful. Although LMS has the challenges of negativity, it shines regardless. Go Tigers!


Leander Middle School 5

Posted April 25, 2008
- a student
I love and miss this school honestly the best i've ever been to

Leander Middle School
no rating

Posted December 13, 2007
- a teacher
Leander Middle School is the best school I have ever taught at in my 20 years of teaching. The culture of the school empowers students and teachers to grow. At LMS, the bottom line is always what is best for kids! You will see the nurturing environment when you walk in the door. The mutual respect between students and teachers is incredible. LMS is truly a great place to teach and learn.

Leander Middle School 4

Posted August 01, 2007
- a teacher
I've been teaching 23 years, and I've never seen such a committed teaching staff as the one at LMS. The teachers care about every student. Even though the school is the oldest middle school in the district, the students, teachers, and administrators think it's the best.


Leander Middle School 4

Posted March 14, 2006
- a parent
I have a disabled child who attends this school. His disabilities are invisible and often confused with lack of effort and behavioral issues. This school has tried hard to work with me and my child to ensure that his needs are met. They need regular reminders about some of his challenges but this is not surprising considering the nature of his disabilities.

Leander Middle School 3

Posted August 20, 2005
- a parent
Have to agree entirely with the post on LISD and disabilities. We have lived in the district for 21 yrs and one of my children still attend at LHS. I had the same experience with my oldest child and trying to get the district/school to test my child for dyslexia. When they finally did test I was told my child was borderline (results were below or right at the dividing line)and there was nothing the shool district could offer or do for this child. I don't know if they now have programs for disabilities like this but if planning to live here and need this type of program please look into it. Horrible experience for us.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leander Middle School
410 Leander Drive, Leander, TX  78641
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (512) 570-3200
Last modified Leander Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top