Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vista Ridge High School 3

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
Like any school, there are good teachers and bad teachers, some that give it their all, and others there to punch a clock. My biggest gripe is with the administration and the coach teachers. On a student tour, the Principal himself said the artistic-photography/art class area of the school was the "freak" area. Should give you a very good idea of his priorities. It's all sports all the time--something my students say impact their education--that their teachers that are coaches aren't as committed to educating them as they are to their teams. For students who want to learn and excel, it's always very disappointing.

Vista Ridge High School 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a community member
Love Vista Ridge Band! Great experience. During football season the Band Directors get the kids out to their other classes as much as they can so that they don't fall behind academically. Easy to email the teachers. Most reply back quickly and are very supportive on helping me keep my child on track with her grades. It is easy for my daughter to talk to her teachers about her grades. Office staff and nurse are great!


Vista Ridge High School 3

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
If your kid loves drama stay away from this school. The teacher here only caters to her "pets" and everyone else is an afterthought. My kid had a lifelong love of drama until coming here. She (the teacher) killed this life long enthusiasm in a single school year. I could give examples but what's the point? People only seem to care about sports here anyway so I guess the arts is an afterthought. Academically, Vista is a good school and I do think highly of the principal I just wish there was more focus on activities that don't include football.

Vista Ridge High School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
Vista Ridge High School has very good extracurricular activities and academic programs. Overall, the school performs better than the state average and neighboring schools. VRHS Science department wins sweepstakes at regional science fair most of the years and students do well in DECA competition. Admin and attendance staffs respond to my email and easy to work with them. Most of the teachers are good and they respond to my kid's questions and kids can utilize before/after school hours and ranger time.

Vista Ridge High School 1

Posted October 01, 2014
- a community member
The school cares more about money than our education. Not only do they take us out of class to make sure they get money for parking permits but they backed up the student parking. They directed us to go which was a horrible idea since they don't acknowledge the fact they are liable if an accident were to happen since there was no officer helping . Students had to wait thirty minutes to be asked about parking permits and threatening us if we didn't get it we will face consequences, not only were we late to class they were not counted excused . We paid the consquence for their actions .


Vista Ridge High School 5

Posted October 19, 2013
- a student
Awesome school! Everyone is nice and makes a great, friendly community! A great school for anyone and everyone. Very accepting and plenty of ways to get involved.

Vista Ridge High School 5

Posted June 04, 2009
- a parent
Vista Ridge High School is one of the Best Schools out there..Great with the kids and trying to keep every child in the game..I think they are better than the private schools my Children have attended.

Vista Ridge High School 4

Posted November 08, 2008
- a student
I am a senior at the Ridge and really involved in the school. I feel that I am not challenged academically, but I do think that it is just me because I have found that many of my friends do put a lot of hard work in to make their grades. As for the teachers, they are AMAZING! I have never seen a more competent group of educators than there are at Vista Ridge! The AP's are all awesome, they are qualified and really go out of their way to get to know the students. We recently got a new prinicipal at our school and he has too many useless rules that no one enforces, he is also way too worried about his image and saving face. I LOVE VR AND I WOULDNT WANT TO GO TO ANY OTHER SCHOOL!!!!


Vista Ridge High School 2

Posted October 07, 2008
- a student
As a student i find the choice of classes to be excellent. As for the disciplinary, I find it greatly lacking. Though, they do a good job of sweeping up small offenses like candy, they seem to over look any major offenses. Unless, it stares them in the face.

Vista Ridge High School 4

Posted September 08, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent and I do not like the principal leadership at all. It seems as if the current principal has created several perposturous rules that i find unnecessary. Other than that, it is a great school with great teachers and an exceptional athletic program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vista Ridge High School
200 S Vista Rdg Blvd, Leander, TX  78641
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (512) 570-1800
Last modified Vista Ridge High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top