Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ischool High School

Charter | PK-12 | 378 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 13 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2014

I've been in this school since I was a freshman. I loved this school my freshman and sophomore years. This year, my junior year, the school's staff almost completely changed. New campus director, new teachers, and a completely different school than I know iSchool to be.I had fun and looked forward to my classes in the previous years. I loved my teachers and the welcoming feeling iSchool gave off. This year, this school changed. Many of my favorite teachers left, my favorite classes were dropped, and the uniqueness of the school is gone. As a student, I advise you to take a look at other options.


Posted September 30, 2013

Where to even begin? I advise anyone considering this school or any "charter" school do research on charter schools in general. I failed to research this school properly before enrolling my son and when I did, I found it terrifying. The curriculum is by ResponsiveEd, which I found, after hours upon hours of digging, is directly related to Accelerated Christian Education. See where I am going with this? The curriculum is anti-science, and pro-religion. Since the Intelligent Design movement has been squashed out of traditional public schools by the supreme court on grounds it is not scientific whatsoever, they have cleverly been setting up charter schools to push their false "science". The learning environment is terrible. They have now gone to a "mastery" system, meaning if your child does not make straight A's (90+) they have to attend extra hours of school including Saturday school. There are no teachers, only classroom monitors. The kids must teach themselves everything. This school is in no way, shape, or form a College "prep" school. The stats they show seem good, but contrary to common belief, numbers DO lie. Statistics are subject to interpretation. Again.. Beware..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

Would very much like to know about the principal being "reassigned" and the breakroom incident but this site, for reviews, doesn't seem to let people contact each other. If you happen to read this and it violated no guidelines, "student", please email me ravenonyx at gmail dot com.


Posted February 13, 2013

If you intend on enrolling your child, beware that the administration and their parent company have extremely conservative viewpoint on "zero tolerance". Make heavy note of the extensive code of conduct and be sure you understand exactly what each one refers to (ie, is a hug a sexual assault). The Code is extremely vague in several overlapping areas. This is straight from the parent company Responsive Ed (Qwest Middle School, Vista Academy, and K-12) - research to see the "school board" you'll be dealing with. Look up the worst stories you can find about "zero tolerance policies" and draw your own conclusions. Ignore the pretty, tech-intensive "hooks" they have to make everything look nice on the surface and dig deep before choosing to enroll your child. Also, if you do withdraw from the school, in my experience it is extremely hard to get their records to transfer with even with written requests hand delivered to the front desk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

Media Arts Academy (not stem!) I would first like to point out that the curriculum is great. It is easy to pace yourself as long as you work hard and don't play games all day. That said, they treat students with much disrespect, whether they are hard working with straight a's and already a semester ahead of schedule (me), or if they are a senior who is so lazy they still have freshmen classes. I have asked simple innocent questions and the director chuckled at me like it was stupid. They make new rules like assigning extra math work (without much warning) and expecting every student to be okay with it. This school seems to be more like a corporations, caring more about how the school looks than about the students at the school. I do not believe that I deserve to do 27 extra pages of math per unit (I have gotten great grades on my Geometry tests), and many people are the same, but they do not personalize the system at all. They only make rules that cover the whole campus. That said, this is better than regular public schools, and this is not an "alternative school" for bad students, but the main reason I am working fast to graduate early is to leave this school for a better school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2012

Ischool High is a technology based school that has a heavy focus on higher education and preparation for each student's future. The manner in which teaching is carried out is lightly defined, yet surprisingly effective. The teachers at the school are all hand picked an thoroughly selected by the administration. This ensures that they are highly experienced and happy to work with and teach students. As a whole this system seems to work quite well. The school is based off of following 5 community agreements and the 7 habits of highly effective people. This seeks to make the school an orderly and peaceable learning environment in which students can pursue their academic goals in the best way possible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2012

iSchool High is a fruitful experience that you will not forget. Coming from a background where I had been previously homeschooled grades 1-8, this was my first "public" school to ever attend. Quivering from head to toe, I feared how my future would be affected by this turn in my life - high school. Would it be positive? Or rather... would it be negative? Well, let me alleviate your curiosity. Currently, as a Sophomore who attends iSchool High, my experience has been, without a doubt, positive. The minute I walked in through the clear, double doors to attend Freshmen orientation, my fears were allayed. I was quickly introduced to the welcoming community, given complimentary food, and assigned an astute mentor. Since then, my adulation for the school has snowballed. Throughout my high school experience at iSchool, I have made ardent frienships, gained considerable knowledge, and met some of the most incredible teachers. It was once said that you reap what you sow. Sow an abundance of propitious knowledge and undying relationships now, and reap the boundless blessings that follow; iSchool High is the just the place to do it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2012

Many students and parents seek a solid education. However, a school is not only education. Friends are made and memories spun. A school must have many opportunities for all three of these aspects to be excellent. In my eyes, iSchool High offers all three in a great style. This school is clear on what to do and not do. Deviation is not taken lightly. Classes are challenging and educational when the student puts forth his/her part. The teachers are available and willing to help and answer questions. A community of discipline, education, and synergy is encouraged. iSchool High is a great school with good teachers. Yet, some say that the school is horrible because of the lack of the aforementioned. iSchool really shines when the student gets involved and tries. And at iSchool, this is not hard to do. Go in for tutoring. Study a little. Ask questions. Make friends. I have been blessed by attending iSchool. I wish for others to be blessed in the same way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2012

If your student is floundering then this means the have NOT gone to their teachers for help. People this ISN'T elementary anymore! Your students should NOT have to be led by the nose. This school is an amazing place I went last year but am unable to continue because I am moving. :( I would NOT trade the experience I gained here for the world. I cant think of anything about this school that is sub par. And the teachers are amazing, I loved all my teachers. The school structure is phenomenal in how it is a community and is with a collegiate styled learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2012

iSchool High is a unique experience that is NOT for everyone. If you are rigid in the face of sweeping change, this isn't your school. If you feel that at a certain point your education is your responsibility, this is the place to go. My child came to me wanting more for her education than the public schools could deliver. We attended the informational meeting together, where the expectations were CLEARLY laid out. There was some adjustment for her to go from the hand-holding of public schools to the personal accountability of iSchool, but in the end, she survived and came out on the other end exhibiting much improvement in her ability to prioritize and seek help when needed. In college, your professors couldn't care less if you show up to class or not. I had serious concerns about how my hopelessly scattered child would fare once she went off to college. Although she is still not ready, I have no doubt that she will be more than ready after her four years here. This is an environment where students are able to test and develop their autonomy while still benefitting from their parents' and teachers' guidance. Just like real life, you get out of it what you are willing to invest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

I had attended iSchool High for a half a year and HATED it. First it was pretty cool and the teachers were pretty nice, but then a little bit later you find out they don't know how to TEACH. And the rare ones that do just LEAVE and then we have a substitute for months. This school is very hard and the teachers don't seem like they want to help you. When you're taking tests some of the teachers eat ice and it's just annoying!! *CRACK* *CRUNCH* *CRUNCH* IT DROVE ME CRAZY... So Anyways I would NOT recommend this school AT ALL... Go Homeschoolin'...WAY better then this...
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2012

I am a student at iSchool STEM. This school is difficult because of the curriculum (Science/Technology/Engineering/Math). It is made more difficult because of how the vast majority of the teachers teach . Most seem to feel it is the solely the responsibility of the students to learn via self-study. I m not sure if the teachers are lazy, or if this is the generally accepted format here. If you do well in this type of environment - great. If not - don't attend. I think the course content would work if there was actually "teaching" going on. Thus - I have to rate the school low due to the teachers. Either fire teachers who are dead-weight, and hire ones who actually teach, - or if this is an acceptable format from the Administration the administrator needs to be replaced by a person who understands education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2012

It depends on which Ischool you are referring to as to how good it is. The stem academy was decent with kind and fairly knowledgeable teachers, and I think it definitely better than the traditional public schools. The media arts academy is a waste of time. Just don't bother with them or their distorted idea of self-paced learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2012

My son attended iSchool stem fall semester 2011. iSchool STEM labels itself a collegiate "preparatory" school, but falls short of what is really needed to prepare a student for post-secondary education. There are a few good teachers, but many poor ones. Some who feel "prep" for college is to simply regurgitate material. With some others, expectation is that the student is responsible for ALL learning which must occur outside the classroom on the internet. Preparation for post-secondary education should involve teaching. Teenagers need time management skills taught within the classroom, inspirational teachers excited about their subject who teach by bringing the materials to life within the classroom, and teachers who help not badger or even yell at-the student if the student is floundering. I did not see these attributes present in this school. The school administration shares in the failure. Many parents have voiced concerns, only to have their concerns marginalized. An online school would be a much better choice if public school is not an option for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

I attended iSchool High STEM Academy and graduated from there recently, and all I have to say is that the place was awful. They call themselves a Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics school, but the math classes are chalked full of lazy teachers that don't teach and then fail their students if the class doesn't know the material that they were supposed to be teaching; the engineering classes are sub-par; the technology part only gets in the way of learning more than it helps; this next one is my favorite, the science classes were nothing you couldn't learn at a regular public school, and the teachers were all Creationists spreading misinformation; I had to correct my Biology teacher on several occasions. They try to paint the school as a community where everyone was accepted, and at first it was like that, but then the teachers got lazy, the students stopped caring, and it has now turned into nothing better or worse than your average high school. If you value your child's education, don't send them here. I fully regret wasting two years of my life on this place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2011

I liked Ischool. I had 2 children there last year, a 9th grader and a 10th grader. The staff was responsive when we would email or talk to them. They worked well with my children. We had to leave because they stopped offering French (which my daughter already had a year of) and did not want to start over. We are considering going back next year after she finishes the French 2 elsewhere. Our children have been in gifted programs elsewhere. The school can be a fit for all kinds of students. I would recommend this school. I miss having my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2011

I first went into iSchool High as a Sophomore a year ago because of the disappointment I felt with my previous high school (too many reasons to list here). Making the choice to go to iSchool High was probably the most important choice I've made so far in my life. Despite the fact that most of the content is self-taught, the teachers there are more than welcome to help out. The content we learn is still "dull", but I find myself able to focus better and get more out of it than I did at my previous school. The building has decent-sized rooms, but the hallways are narrow. With 260 something students moving around, it's easy to get stuck in the middle of traffic. Luckily, the building is small enough so you can get from room to room fairly quickly. Most, if not all of the students there are there to learn. It's a friendly place, and it's hard to feel like "the new kid" for long. Any abuse is not tolerated, and dealt with quickly. If your a student who despises normal public school, or your a parent who cares about their child's education, take a serious look at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2011

The school does a great job in explaining to student and pareent prior to registration what to expect. It has been exactly what we were told. My son likes it and he gets more out of his classes here than what he was getting in the public schools. Overall I think it makes him more responsible. Every child is different and they have different learning styles. My suggestion is once one visits the school, sit down with your child and make sure your son/daughter can adapt to this type of learning. Great school, especially if your child plans to attend college!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

I was TOLD Media Arts on Lakeway was not anything EVERY SELF -PACED. Maybe you should have READ the literature BEFORE talked DOWN on Media Arts!


Posted June 27, 2011

My son transferred here in his junior year and we have had a very good experience. Only one problem teacher, and that was addressed. We are happy with the quality of AP classes he is taking. It is true that if your child is not self motivated it may not be the best school for them. But for kids that are motivated, do want to go to college and seek out challenges, this school encourages them more than any other school he has attended. I would like to see more parent communication, but it did improve over the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

101 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

100 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

100 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

100 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
72%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students89%
Female93%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students97%
Female94%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students86%
Female78%
Male90%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students86%
Female94%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students76%
Female83%
Male73%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students97%
Female94%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students77%
Female78%
Male77%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students82%
Female83%
Male82%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students79%
Female72%
Male82%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students98%
Female94%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 31%
Hispanic 14% 50%
Black 7% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 Lakeway Dr
Lewisville, TX 75057
Phone: (972) 317-2470

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Iq Academy
Lewisville, TX


Texas Virtual Academy
Lewisville, TX





Willow Bend Academy
Lewisville, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT