Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 73 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Founders Classical Academy of Lewisville 2

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
Extremely lazy admin. when it comes to scheduling and dealing with inappropriate teachers. There no reason for the upper school students( middle and high) to have to travel with the same "color" group all day. These kids are not in elementary school. Very unhealthy socially. Creates "Cliques" and prevents students from making new friends. When we approached admin about it(for it can be done), we got the response that it's easier to keep the same kids together all day. Easier is not always best. We won't be returning to the school for out kids are too old to have to be around the same kids all day. Too old.

Founders Classical Academy of Lewisville
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
I spent two years in an educational program preparing to be an effective teacher. It's insulting to see the number of teachers at the upper school who have not been trained. No clue in regards to the different teaching strategies, learning styles, and better yet "childhood development". No nurturing. They teach all the same and we all know kids are not the same. So no idea why some parents keep their kids there, who are failing. You're not helping them. It does not take lowering a child's self-esteem to become successful later. I agree with previous reviewer. I was so excited to be at Founders and found out our kids were not been taught. Just failing them and no solution. No self-evaluation as teachers. We pulled our kids out of the school although I am still a staff member.Two out of three of our kids are gifted. And we left. Not worth it. We were concerned about our kids self-esteem/spirit. Lots of grades entered that could not be verified. I think grades are given based on teacher's mood and how he/she feels about that child. Very sad. Administration does nothing to address these teachers. Don't want to enter names here, however all those parents who are giving stellar reviews are completely in denial or just as clueless. Or happy to say "Charter School", although no instruction taking place. Administration should be ashamed for allowing these adults into the classroom. These kids are becoming mean and angry because they feel unsuccessful. There's nothing wrong with the public schools.


Founders Classical Academy of Lewisville 5

Posted April 02, 2016
- a parent
This is our third year at Founders, and it has been an excellent experience. The teachers genuinely care about the students, and push them without exasperating them. My son has dyslexia and dysgraphia, and the teachers have been there to support, encourage, and help him. The curriculum is hard, but is well preparing them to love knowledge and to be independent thinkers. The headmasters are wonderful, and greet the students by name. It is truly a family atmosphere with a desire for excellence. The athletic department is being developed into a competitive program witb great coaches investing in the students. We are so blessed to be a part of the Founders family!

Founders Classical Academy of Lewisville
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 30, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are in charge of the culture at the school, not the students. They talk about honor and integrity and kindness call it out for praise publically when they see a student exhibiting virtues. The literature and historical reading they choose has worth for many reasons, including exploring topics of virtue. It is interwoven into each class.

Founders Classical Academy of Lewisville 5

Posted March 30, 2016
- a parent
Our family homeschooled with the Classical approach up to 8th grade and transitioned to Founders in the 9th grade. The transition was very smooth. We had logic and Latin before so these subjects were nothing new. I can definitely see how it might be difficult to transition into a classical model with no previous experience though. Extra help from the teachers may be needed. The curriculum is definitely challenging but the teachers have been uniformly excellent and very responsive to any questions from me or my son. There has been an unfortunately high turnover with the Latin teachers, some good ones due to being promoted elsewhere as the Founders schools expand, but some not being a great fit. I am sure the turnover has been disruptive to the learning process for some. My son's current teacher seems like he is here to stay though and has the situation well in hand. He has worked very hard to help the kids who were not doing well. My son said he is excellent and offers a lot of help outside of class as well as great instruction in a difficult subject and the kids are getting up to speed. I was worried about bullying since my son has no interest in or knowledge of pop culture or sports. Pretty much I thought he was bully bait, but there were no issues at all. The other kids were bemused, but very kind. He said he has not witnessed any bullying at the school. Our family has not experienced any of the negative comments listed below and it is odd to read them. We drive 45 minutes each way to get here, my child gets up at 5:30 each morning to make this happen and he wouldn't have it any other way. I asked him if a Founders school opened closer to us, could we transfer him and everyone could sleep in later :-) He was emphatically against the idea because he loves his teachers.


Founders Classical Academy of Lewisville 3

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
Pros and cons: Academically it is ok.... Cons: unprofessional and poor communication in some leaders. Operating on a shoestring budget (because they are a charter school?) partially unusable and old playgrounds, odd carpool, no librarian or counselor..they could be investing in their campus more rather than depending on PTO to raise money for a small playground. This is a school which withholds recess for incomplete homework. This is contradictory to recommendations of American Academy of Pediatrics and is not respectful of children's needs. Positives: orchestra, chess and other unique after school programs and special student days where they can practice selling and buying.

Founders Classical Academy of Lewisville
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Gallucia, because she does so much more than just teach a phenomenal Greek Literature course, she also serves in many ways and helps with the complicated business of helping the Senior class.

Founders Classical Academy of Lewisville
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
I love the teachers at Founders Classical Academy of Lewisville! When a teacher is found to be underperforming, he is dismissed and replaced. This is fairly rair.


Founders Classical Academy of Lewisville
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
I've seen how the students treat each other. It's not unusual to see a student hold the door for 20 minutes while classmates exit the building, but it goes beyond that.

Founders Classical Academy of Lewisville
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
Students are taught to strive for excellence, though it's up to each of them to comply. As with any large group, you'll get some who think they know better or wish to take shortcuts.

Nearby schools

Founders Classical Academy of Lewisville
1010 Bellaire Blvd. , Lewisville, TX  75067
(469) 464-3415
Last modified Founders Classical Academy of Lewisville is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top