Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public charter
Lewisville, TX
Students enrolled: 718
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Founders Classical Academy 5

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
This school has tough curriculum, great teachers and great leadership. Teaching children academics as well as virtue. So happy to have my children here.

The Founders Classical Academy 5

Posted September 27, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful rigorous curriculum! Moves at a very fast pace. Our children are learning so much! 6th and 7 th grade History, Latin, Literature, Math, music, Science and PE teachers are simply the BEST!


The Founders Classical Academy 5

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
Founders should receive a ratIng of 10. Advice to parents is to start in the primary grades for curriculum is pretty intense. And to agree with previous reviewer--instruction moves at a faster pace. No time is wasted. This school is a lot more challenging than the gifted programs we were in.

The Founders Classical Academy 5

Posted July 09, 2014
- a parent
Founders Classical is a College Preparatory school, it's open to all but it's not for all. Our children have done exceptionally well this past year but they came from another prep school and they're used to a challenging curriculum. Those who come from public schools will struggle but they certainly will have every opportunity to rise to the challenge offered them at each grade level. Our dearest friends attend here and they came from LISD and while they did struggle they managed A/B's but many who come from public criticize and that's a shame. We love the school, the Headmaster, the Teachers, Coaches and Administrators! What a gift Founders Prep is!!!!

The Founders Classical Academy 2

Posted June 15, 2014
- a parent
Founders is a great school however it was not the best for us. My daughter was always an A/B student and came here and had several C's. What they expect out of kids is crazy. We had homework at least 1 -2 hours every night (Monday - Thursday). Weekend projects were thrown at us last minute. Then when I knew my child needed tutoring and I asked several times of when it was, I was ignored until it was too late. Parking is absolutely HORRIBLE! Then be prepared to make your child's lunch every day. My child was bullied quite a bit and nothing was done.


The Founders Classical Academy 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
What a gold mine! This will be our third year of enrollment at Founders Classical Academy and are ecstatic about the classical education that our children have received. The staff is the best around and are on purpose about teaching and caring for the students. What an incredible asset to the neighborhood and a shining example of what education should look like.

The Founders Classical Academy 5

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
This school was the best thing we could have possibly done for our children's education (including putting them in private school). I grew up with a classical education, and I cannot begin to tell you the difference between what a classical curriculum can give your child and what is taught in public schools. As a prior review mentioned, Founders is academically rigorous and much is expected from these young people, but isn't that what we want for our children? We felt so strongly confident in this school and its curriculum after sending our 14-year-old there, we took our other two children out of their schools and enrolled them in Founders (and we live in a school district which holds an "Exemplary" rating from Texas). The wait list is large now, but it's worth the wait! If you want your children to lead a more meaningful, fuller life because of knowledge and virtue, this is the school for you.

The Founders Classical Academy 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
We could not be happier with the education our 7th grade daughter is receiving at FCA. The curriculum is both rigorous and relevent. The students definitley receive a classical education with latin and rhetoric. It is amazing to me how much our daughter has learned in the 2 years she has attended FCA! The teachers are dedicated, well trained, and knowledgeable. Extra tutoring is offered and encouraged when needed. There is great balance of character training, academic training, and the arts! There is a large parent involvement population. There is a feel somewhat of a private school education but with high educational goals, parent invovlement, good balance of discipline, and a tremendously qualified and dedicated leadership team and teaching staff. We HIGHLY recommend FCA to your family. If you desire a tremendous education coupled with all the plus factors of a good charter/public school, this is the school for you and your family! You wont regret your decision.


The Founders Classical Academy 5

Posted November 02, 2013
- a parent
My sixth grade son is thriving here. He recently stated, "I've learned ten times more SO FAR this year (end of October) than during ALL of fifth grade" (at a different, also excellent school.) He enjoys discussing what is being covered in class. Sixth grade (and I believe all upper grades) have a 30-minute study hall, so he generally comes home with very little (under thirty minutes) of homework (he's very fast and efficient with it). And the work is interesting. They also have a plethora of extracurricular activities. The Headmaster, teachers, and other staff are excellent. The PTO is fantastic. It's not uncommon to have one or two kids in a family enrolled and one or two on the waiting list, but it's worth the wait and not at all uncommon for kids to start mid-year. (Siblings of current students have priority on the waiting list.)

The Founders Classical Academy 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
The curriculum is challenging, but I would expect that from a classical education. The emphasis on 'virtue', morals, ethics and honor code is outstanding. The Headmaster is all you would expect and more, his 'commitment-to-excellence' spills over to the compassionate teachers & staff who combine it with powerfully rich academia compatible with the Christian view of the world. It s truly a preparatory school at it s finest!! Most importantly, our children love (love) attending this school, we are very blessed!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Founders Classical Academy
P O Box 292730, Lewisville, TX  75029
(972) 316-3663
Last modified The Founders Classical Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
The Founders Classical Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top