Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mcauliffe Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
All the wonderful teachers, especially 1st and Kindergarten teachers as we're most familiar, the admin staff for always cheerfully helping us out even when we should know how to do stuff on our own. Oh course, the Principal and Vice Principal for their leadership, vision and execution! Thank you for all that you do!

Mcauliffe Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
Our experience has been wonderful! Our children's teachers are top notch! They're caring, helpful, kind and respectful toward our children and to us! They monitor the abilities of help with weakness and encourage advancement!


Mcauliffe Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
They talk about this often to the students and demonstrate it frequently! Respect for others, respect for for myself and respect for the teachers and the school.

Mcauliffe Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
I feel that is emulated from the top down beginning with the principal! She is extremely caring when it comes to the children and families. She will bend over backwards to help out a student who is in need! She is very involved and the students love her. The teachers and staff are right along with her!

Mcauliffe Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
They make a big deal of teaching values, morales and fairness at McAuliffe. They have a lot of fun at this school, but they're also not afraid of discipline when required! We like this approach! Our kids come home telling us what values they've learned from McAuliffe and we appreciate the reinforcement from the school on these important issues.


Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
We moved last summer (2015) from out of state and have been completely blown away with McAuliffe Elementary. Mrs. M the principal was very approachable and welcoming to our family as we got our two girls registered just before the beginning of school! The whole staff are kind and helpful and really enjoy their jobs. This flows down to the teaching staff as well! We think we had two of the best teachers at McAuliffe, although from reviews, neighbors and friends, all the teachers are great! Her teacher started the year off right by calling our daughter before orientation night just to say hello and get to know her! Our daughter was so excited and not as apprehensive about starting a new school. Her teacher is very loving, caring and nurturing. She is exactly what our daughter needed to transition this year! We couldn't have been happier! Our other daughter equally had a wonderful teacher that helped her thrive and grow throughout the year! She as very encouraging and a wonderful role model! We came from private schools prior to this and this is every bit if not better than our previous school. Thank you McAuliffe! We love this school!

Mcauliffe Elementary School 1

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
If you child has ADD or any other learning disability, I would highly recommend a different school. My son had the absolute worst experience ever at this school. The teachers are extremely unprofessional (eye rolling, pointing out his learning disability to others, and making him feel inferior). This was not one teacher - this was the culture over 3 1/2 years that he had to endure. Escalating to the leadership fell on deaf ears as absolutely nothing was done about the inappropriate and unprofessionalism of the teachers there. He has been out of the school for a year and it was night and day difference. We had to seek therapy for my son after the way he was treated not by other students, but by the teachers. It was a nightmare.

Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted December 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter was very fortunate to attend this elementary school. The Principal of this school is amazing. She understands clearly what it takes to nurture and prepare children for life. This elementary school's students and parents hopefully realize how fortunate they are to have such an extraordinary leader. We will be thankful for the guidance, love and support provided by this school's leadership for ever and ever...amen!


Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
I am very impressed with this school. The principal is attentive and makes every attempt to make you feel welcome. She is one of the few principals that knows children by name and they all come to give her hugs. This is very different from the previous school that we attended in LISD. Environment is a big factor in how a child will perceive learning. McAuliffe will give them a positive experience. After reviewing their test scores in comparison to our old school, I took advantage of LISD's open enrollment and switched schools immediately.

Mcauliffe Elementary School 2

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
This school is far too dependent on technology, it's almost shocking. There is a lot of 'fun' activities for the students planned throughout the school year but there needs to be more 'balance' with a dedicated focus on academics - especially in grades 3-5. There is student "favoritism" that is the most alarming and those who volunteer their time through PTA and by being room mom's will find their kids favored by the principal, administration, and their homeroom teachers most. Sad but TRUE we lived it and listened to those around us complain about it as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcauliffe Elementary School
2300 Briarhill Boulevard, Lewisville, TX  75077
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (469) 713-5959
Last modified Mcauliffe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top