Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Episcopal School

Private | K | 54 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 19, 2014

Best Montessori Christian school in Denton county. The teachers are excellent academically and they truly care about the kids. Love it. Send your kids there. They will be happy you did and thank you when they are older.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

My grandson has attended the Montessori Episcopal School for four years. He is now in second grade. The welcoming attitude of teachers and staff, the excellent academics, and the emphasis on Christian attitudes are the main reasons for his continued enrollment. Sadly, next year will be his last year, but he will leave full of confidence, knowledge, and happiness.


Posted August 30, 2012

As a parent of a child with physical disabilities, I have full confidence that MES was the right choice for her. Since she was 2, they have promoted her independence while loving her and giving her the same opportunity a child without special needs. MES teachers sincerely care! Now she is in kindergarten and thriving academically! In addition, the school staff has gone above and beyond for her physical needs to make her successful in the classroom while allowing her to be as independent as possible. Isnt that what we want for ALL our children?! Now our 3 yr old is starting her second year and our youngest will also attend! We love MES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

I have two children and they both attended Montessori Episcopal School. They received a wonderful education and are set for life. The Montessori Method along with the religious education have made them the well rounded children that every parents want. I give this school five stars and encourage parents to come and check the school out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

We chose Montessori Episcopal School for our daughters because of the tenured staff, longevity of the school, and Christian environment. Many Montessori schools have popped up in our area in the last few years, but MES has been an educational leader in our community for 43 years! And no other Montessori school has the Christian component which was so important to our family. We are so impressed with the level of parent involvement/volunteerism, and we love the monthly service projects where students are taught to give back to the community. Our daughters have attended MES for 3 years and we couldn't be more thrilled with their development in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

Our child has loved attending MES and we wish it went through high school. MES has such a warm and loving montessori environment in which children thrive. We are so glad our child is at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

My daughter has been at MES since 2009 and I am very impressed with how they combine the Montessori teachings and the Abeka curriculum. Whether you plan to keep your child in private school or move them to the public school system you will find they will excel in either enviroment after learning this way. The 1st - 3rd grade went to NASA (Houston) this year for a field trip this was part of there science studies. I give MES a five star rating for degreed, certified teachers and principal. Also, the rating is for their excellent academic programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

My daughter has been attending MES for three years and has blossomed in this loving, caring, supportive environment. Her confiidence has increased, her sense of independence and responsibility have skyrocketed, and I am astounded at what she has learned. I have been involved with other private schools, and I am astounded at what a superior education she receives at MES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

Both my children attended the Montessori Episcopal School through Kindergarten and now have made successful transitions to local public schools where they FLOURISH in the new environment. Each of their teachers remarked that they can tell that my children were educated in a true Montessori environment. My children continue to pray before meals and even remind me to do so when I forget. I could not be more pleased with the educational and Christian foundation provided by the Montessori Episcopal School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

The teachers and staff are caring and very professional. They have instilled in my children a love of learning that will last for a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Disappointed by kindergarten curriculum. Preschool work and atmosphere were good but the kindergarten curriculum is dry. The emphasis is only on writing and spelling. There is barely any science or environment or general studies. They do no math work beyond single digit addition . No recess if you're not finished with either your classwork or homework. It's actually below par when compared to some public schools with more encouraging, positive and enthusiastic teachers. There is nothing Montessori about the learning in KG...no individual attention. Overall a waste of time and money. O also, they constantly ask for money with cheap fundraisers like pizza lunch for kids for $5 twice a month (talk about early bad habits!) and have many other things asking you to contribute all the time. Teachers charge extra money for good handwriting class after school!Overall, a flop year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

Great School!!! I could see a lot of difference in my sons academic progress. I love this school and would recommend for other kids...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

An amazing school with an excellent group of teachers and staff. I have two kids that go to MES and we wouldn't want to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 27% 4%
Black 5% 13%
Hispanic 5% 51%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 2:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Library
  • Music room
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Physical Education Class
Girls sports
  • Physical Education Class

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 292967
Lewisville, TX 75029
Phone: (972) 221-3533

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Clay Academy
Lewisville, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT