Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Lubbock, TX
 

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

14 reviews of this school


Hutchinson Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers really care and help the students, especially the students who are struggling. Others don't care at all and don't want to help them. And they tell them things like "figure it out" when if the student could figure it out on their own, they wouldn't be asking for help or going to tutoring.

Hutchinson Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Hutch gives way too much homework to the 6th graders. It's extremely overwhelming moving from elementary school to middle school and then they are bombarded with homework that is often times difficult to understand.


Hutchinson Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Some of the teachers don't care about the students and the administration, especially the principal and assistant principal, do NOT care about the students at all unless they are really advanced and excel and do really well on the STAAR test. All they care about is making the school look better by testing scores.

Hutchinson Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Allow students to bully others with no consequences for it does NOT develop respect for the other students at all!!!!

Hutchinson Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Ignoring the problems with bullying encourages the students to continue bullying other students and that does NOT develop compassion, caring or empathy in the students at all!!!!


Hutchinson Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
The students are not treated fairly. They only care about the students who do well on the STAAR test and can help make the school look good. They don't care about students who are struggling. They do nothing about bullying, which to me shows they aren't honest because they claim they do not tolerate bullying and they have signs in the school about it but when you get down to actual bullying, they ignore it.

Hutchinson Middle School 5

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
Hutch is a Great school with great administration, great teachers, fine arts/music, academic environment, and great coaching staff. The Principal is a great leader who sets a positive attitude for student accomplishment, the teaching staff are the best in Lubbock, the fine arts/music are superior, and the coaching staff are 2nd to none! Keep up the great work all!

Hutchinson Middle School 5

Posted October 21, 2014
- a community member
I LOVE this school! The teachers and principal are great and involved! This is also the only international baccalaureate middle school in west Texas!(Also a magnet school.) They have great extra curricular activities such as chess club, Junior Historians, Chinese and German club, etc. They also participate in the Spelling Bee (Spanish and English) Also,they have before and after school tutoring for free. There are so many other amazing things about this school and I really can't think of going anywhere else! -A student


Hutchinson Middle School 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a community member
I'm a student right now at Hutch. I moved there late so I was there for a month. In that month, I learned why everyone wanted to come to the school. My teachers are amazing and they seem to care about is. Mrs Dye the principal, she is an amazing person. I recommend that people should come here. It's an amazing school.

Hutchinson Middle School 5

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
We had two children in Hutch one for three years the other for one year. We knew people that transferred their children to the school due to its outstanding magnet arts program, advanced curriculum and actually practiced "no tolerance" policy on bullying. The school takes verbal bullying as seriously as physical. The arts, theater, dance, tech, choir and music programs are superb. The sports are all excellant programs. The school wins all the local UIL competitions in the arts and academics. The staff goes above and beyond to communicate with parents from the administration down to the teachers. One of my children had a major surgery while at Hutch and had to be in a wheelchair for about three months after. The administration helped things go smoothly. The kids at Hutch are held to high standards and they live up to them. If you are moving to Lubbock choose a home in the Hutch school district so you don't have to try getting them into the magnet program or risk having them kicked out. The school's academic policies are good about preventing that however as kids will be required to stay after school to finish missing grades. There is also free tutoring available to students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hutchinson Middle School
3102 Canton Avenue, Lubbock, TX  79410
(806) 766-0755
Last modified Hutchinson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hutchinson Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top