Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lubbock Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Lubbock

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $96,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2014

Something desperately needs to be done about the bullying!!! I think if the issue is addressed during chapel on a monthly basis, maybe it will assist. How about inviting speakers on the topic visit occasionally? Students/parents need to be aware of the ramifications of this behavior. If the issue is not addressed, then NOTHING changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2014

Not a chance. The famous LCS /LCU/Greenlawn bubble of Lubbock Texas. I'm not kidding when I say these people really are in their own little world. We had three children going here and the bullying was astounding. The parents are the same, the kids are just immulate what they see. We were here for 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

Where do I start. There's a reason why LCS has a reputation around Lubbock. The parents are clickly, snobby, and can't seem to look up from their precious smartphones while the kids play on the playground. If you address bullying (and trust me, it's here) you are shunned or in some cases, fired for it. The kids only immulate the parents. Our kids saw what was happening and we got out of there. Good luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

I have three children who attend LCS. We do not attend a Church of Christ and have found the school to be wonderfully accepting. The Kindergarten program is fantastic and now we have both a son and and daughter in middle school. The classrooms have fantastic modern equipment, teachers who genuinely care about the kids, and studies based around the Christian world view. The Science Building is cutting edge and the teacher is inspiring. We currently don't have any kids in sports there but we attend many games and love the "small school" spirit. Great sportsmanship and winning teams. Our son is in their award winning band and has been inspired by the music program. Of course there are areas we haven't seen eye-to-eye but we have found teachers and administrators to be open and fair. Parents are encouraged to be active and lots of opportunities to be involved are offered, without pressure. I recommend you take a tour and see the kids and teachers interacting. Some of the buildings are older but ongoing building campaigns continue to update the facility with modern building. Our family loves LCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

I work with schools throughout the area in my job. When my oldest was ready to start school, we visited several places and immediately felt like LCS was our home. I think everyone knows that different places fit for different people and one bad experience does not mean it is a bad school. This is the fit for us. We are not Church of Christ and have never found that to be an issue. My child has dyslexia and since the diagnosis, we have received nothing but support from the school and the teachers. Is the school perfect? By no means. Do they strive to improve and be better? Definitely. Do they love and care for the children in their care? Without a doubt. I certainly agree the buildings need improvement and the school board would not disagree. That is a work in progress. The teaching is excellent and focused on real education. There is teasing and bullying and I believe sometimes it could be handled better, but this is true of every single school in the nation. This is a national problem, not an LCS problem. At LCS, every adult knows the name of every child. The children are being raised by a village and that was what spoke to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2014

AWFUL!!!! Allowed a teacher to embarrass a child and then the same teacher made the student cry. Buildings are old and dilapidated. Campus is spread out and NO SECURITY!!!! I removed my child from here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

I am not pleased with this school in the least! Now where do I start? First off my child had issues fitting in, since everything here is associated with athletics. My child has always been interested in art but he has not even been able to express himself through his own clothing! These uniforms the children are forced to tolerate are unacceptable to a financially struggling family. I thought the other children would welcome my son but he didn't have a chance with the kids because he was ignored. Bullying is a big problem at this school and I suggest that someone should fix it. Hopefully Trinity Christian will prove to be more christian than this sad excuse for a school was to my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

My daughter started at LCS this year. I was kind of nervous. But that was calmed early in the year. The teachers here are the best you will find. They don't push beliefs of the Church of Christ on you at all. Many benefits come with attending this school. My daughter has enjoyed every minute and wants to keep attending. I am a single parent and it is affordable. Everybody knows everybody. I love this fact because I can trust that my child is in good hands. No bullying allowed!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

IF the student desires to learn, the faculty and staff create the environment. The majority of the faculty work very well with individual students. Parents are encouraged to become involved, yet there is not doubt that the administration run the school. We have found this stability very encouraging THe background of the faculty and staff is more diversed that I thought it would be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2005

This place is terrible! The teacher teach in a lecture style of the 1950. The person that said that children that are non-church of christ was in a word right! My child was harrassed until they were in tears! The computer lab never worked! The yearbook teacher gave an assingment to interview the new kid to a new kid! how were they suppose to know who was a new kid? My child hear curse words that they have never heard before used by the kids at this school. When I told the pricipal about it he did nothing. The texts books were out of date and not alined with TAKS. I found out the hard way that these people don't want to hear a complaint and will support the school no matter what! Then after you complain about something will try to run you and your kid off. How 'christian'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

This is a great school. Parents and teachers are very involved. My daughter started real band in the 5th grade, and has won awards at a science fair at Texas Tech. Kids love their teachers and learn many important lessons from them. The school is like a huge family, everybody is there to support the kids. Excellent sports teams with coaches who care about the kids. The kids aren't there to help the coaches resume, but to be challenged and grow. Can't go wrong here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2004

I'll tell you a few reasons why I consider LCHS to be the best choice for my high school career: 2004 girls cross country - State Champions, 2004 girls volleyball State Runner-up, 2004 boys All-state cross country individual (4th place), the football team is undefeated and in the state semifinals this weekend. We have completed just 3 sports and are already well ahead of any other area school with our success. We are also ranked #2 in the pre-season polls for boys basketball and #1 for boys baseball. We are returning all of our boys track athletes from last year's 3rd place campaign. The LCHS band has won many state championships including 3 in the last 5 years. It would be hard to find anything at LCHS that does not have amazing success! You can be sure that God is at work at LCHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2004

This is a great school for all kids of all religions. Everyone is traeted the same at this school, not to mention the academics are top notch. The athletics arent to bad either. This is a great school with a great faculty and staff and is a great place to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2004

Great School. Kids come from several denominations and get along very well. My son graduated after attending 2 and 1/2 years. Parental involvement exceeds most schools. The school wins awards each year in academics, sports and community involvement. Great religious emphasis with chapel every day and Bible Courses taught by qualified instructors. Technology is updated on a regular basis such as updated computers, projectors and now edline technology is about to be introduced. Lots of cooperation and camaradie among the staff. Sports program is outstanding. Band program is second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2004

The person who stated that non-Church of Christ kids are hassled until they leave aer, in a word, WRONG!! My kids (3) are Methodist and love the school and have great friendships with Church of Christ kids. Like all schools there are malcontents ... it's not for everyone, but I'mnot sure there's a school anywhere that is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2004

This is a wonderful school with the most caring faculty/staff around. Academics are very strong and the principal leadership is great. Athletic programs are strong and the coaching staff is among the best you can find. I find it interesting that these couple of people have had such harsh things to say about LCS. The student body consists of church of christ kids as well as baptist, methodist, non-denominational, catholic, hindu, 7th day adventists and I could go on and on. . This is a great place for students to learn in a safe environment and be accepted regardless of race or religion.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 1, 2004

This school is horrible. The teachers are very lacking in up-to-date methods in teaching. If you aren't church of christ your kid won't make friends easily. Like that other person said go to trinity christian. They test kids for placement so they get the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2004

Horrible School for kids with learning disabilities. Students that are not Church of Christ are harassed until they leave. Academics are out dated, computer lab never was up and running. Go to Trinity Christian!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 37%
Hispanic 3% 47%
Black 2% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of christ
Associations
  • NCSA
Fax number
  • (806) 791-3569

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2604 Dover Ave
Lubbock, TX 79407
Phone: (806) 796-8700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT