Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southside Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 401 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 29, 2012

Words can not describe how much my child and I love and miss this school and the district. We moved into the area half way into the 2nd grade, my son has been tested and suffered with ADHD. The staff at this school worked with me and my child and with in a month we had him off his meds, and he was making strait A s. The teachers, principles, counselors, never let him use his disability as a crutch, and never pushed to have him medicated, they pushed to help him learn how to succeed with out his meds. At the end of 3rd grade his GPA was a 4.0 and he was in advance learning classes, and wanting to go to school everyday even when he was sick. What more can I say we just love every one of the teachers and the innovative methods used here. And I am proud to say because of this school he is free from meds and is still using the life skills they have taught him. This is one of the best schools my child has ever been to, and with being ex-military we have moved a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

Our experience is that Southside has always put the children first. We have 3 children that attend this school and they all adore the staff. My two 6 year olds are reading machines thanks to the Mrs. Clark and Mrs. Martin. Kuddos to the staff that works the afternoon car rides. They are attentive to the childrens safety. I certainly look forward to the staff that greets out children in the morning. When I had concerns I was able to set an appointment with Mr. Pate. He was concerned about my every word. Called me back for an update. I am really impressed by this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

I feel that Southside is a great school. I love the teachers and vice principal Mrs. Baird. But I have issues with Mr. Pate, he doesn't seem to care about the kids education as much as he should.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

I really like this school. My son is going into the 2nd grade next year & already misses his 1st grade teacher!! Everyone is so nice there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2006

Southside is the best school that both of my kids has went to.My daughter,son have learning disorders and they have the best programs.Mr pate is real good and nice.Mrs norman is realy sweet,helps me in any way I need help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I feel there is not a better run school as far as leadership. The quality eduction, as well as a wonderful music and art class are truly the best. I could go on and on about Southside Elementary. Have not had one bad experience with the teachers or any of the staff. I am very blessed to have my children enrolled there. Thank-you, Marcy Watkins
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

86 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

87 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

81 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

79 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

78 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female93%
Male82%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students80%
Female84%
Male77%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students79%
Female76%
Male82%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Female84%
Male62%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education38%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students75%
Female87%
Male67%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education29%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students58%
Female81%
Male38%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education20%
Not special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted55%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 31%
Hispanic 16% 50%
Black 2% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Brandi Dyer
Fax number
  • (903) 880-1343

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

109 Paschal Blvd
Mabank, TX 75147
Website: Click here
Phone: (903) 880-1340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lakeview Elementary School
Gun Barrel City, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT