Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Magnolia High School

Public | 9-12 | 1747 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

Many fine, tenured teachers; good stable school administration; good preparation for college including many AP, honors, and dual credit classes; handles households from a wide variety of economic levels giving every student a balanced experience and equal chance to succeed; prepared for and accomodating students from diverse backgrounds and abilities; somewhat disappointed in the high emphasis on sports; not sure many parents understood the grading system and it's importance in college acceptance; disappointed that debate was removed from AP status; high marks on school's accounting program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2014

The Magnolia High School is top notch. We moved here 3 years ago and are very pleased with the education our children are receiving. Any problems we have had arise have been resolved quickly and professionally. The principal and his staff support the teachers well, and staff turn-over is very limited. Students are reminded daily that they are "valuable, complete, and loved." There are a huge variety of courses from which to choose, all of which seem to be of superior quality. (Math, English, etc, and also the arts, music, and sports programs). High school is not without drama, but if you are looking for a great school, you will find it here. (We have 4 children, 1 of whom is now graduated from MHS, 2 who are still in attendance, and one who is at Bear Branch Jr. High).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

is awesome everyone he is truly complete and loved!!! and resolving academic concerns and 401 students is awsome
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2014

Very welcoming school. Cheerleaders and football players are the favorites by everyone. Cheerleaders are very snooty, however just about everybody else are good people. You get what you put into the school. I was not informed about a lot of the school activities and missed out on opportunities because of that. If you are looking to easily skate through the year-you can do it. But if you want to challenge yourself there are definitely some classes that will. Lunches are short but there's a good speech and debate program. This school is very country oriented. It is hard to be different and the students seem to be judgmental. School lunches are ok, little food but it's better than average. Homecoming and dances are a complete joke, however many people participate. I liked my experience but I just did not simply fit in. I am currently attending a different school than Magnolia High and I currently find myself more challenged at my new school than this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2013

This school is probably the most awful school in the nation. Do not enroll your child, and if your child is enrolled, un-enroll them. The school only cares about pass or fail, not whether the child makes A's or B's. You've been warned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

I went to this school a few tears ago and I am returning soon. I am hoping it is as great as it was then. it was hands down my favorite school in Texas


Posted November 18, 2009

i love this school! i tranfered from spring high which is horrible and everything about this school is amazing from the teachers to the staff to our swim team the staff is helping me graduate in time i love them!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

The excellent teachers and staff allow students to obtain an education that will assist them in their future.


Posted January 14, 2009

Even though they changed the time of day to go to school very early...i still love coming to this school. Every school has their good and their bad, though our good oversees our bad. Great School to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2008

This school is a joke. The principal says he is hands on but he was never and I mean never available when we needed to discuss anything with him. This school is all about football players and cheerleaders and if your child is not one of those then you can forget the staff giving a hoot if your child passes or needs help. I am so glad my child has graduated and I never have to deal with this school again. What a joke, MHS needs a principal who is not all talk. Send your child to MWHS if you want anyone to care about your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

My grandson was in the 3rd grade when we moved to Magnolia in 1998. In the 6th grade, he was placed in special needs classes and continued special needs classes until 11th grade. Counselors, teachers, everyone - have been so helpful, supportive and communicative. We're blessed to have the educators we have!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

I love Magnolia High School. I transfered from Waller High where I was miserable. The administrators at Magnolia are so kind and the dance program is amazing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2007

Magnolia High School has been an answer to our prayers! As a parent with a child having special needs, we have found the teachers and staff at MHS to be very supportive, caring, and cooperative. We are so grateful that our child has the opportunity to be a part of such a possitve, value centered school environment. Words cannot express our appreciation enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

MHS is a wonderful school. It is so warm and friendly. The teachers and staff are WONDERFUL. I transferred my child from a school that was nothing like MHS. It has been the best experience ever as far as a school is concerned. Everything about the school is great. Keep up the good work. A very happy parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

it's a very well organized, parent oriented school made up of really helpful staff, and that uses the internet to speed up communications!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

The school is in a beautiful new building, with a new pool, theatre center, classrooms, etc. Teaching quality has gone up in the past 5 years, with new teachers and more things available to them, your students will get a better education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2005

Teachers and staff act as a family and welcome parents and community members with open arms! Magnolia High School has the best parent organization of any high school that I have been associated with. They actually encourage parents to be involved and on campus daily!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

This is a wonderful school to be at! No where better to be, we may have a horrible football team right now but they try and all the other sports and extracurricular events are going strong! Staff is awesome and so are the principals. There is not a better school to go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2004

I love Magnolia High School! The teachers, principals, and everyone on staff make it such a wonderful place to be 8 hours a day! I am so privledged to have the oppurtunity to go to Magnolia High!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2004

MHS is a great school. Our Principles and Teachers are concerned with our students personally as well as their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

442 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

437 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

413 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

408 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

412 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

412 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students93%
Female96%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students97%
Female99%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

441 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

478 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
40%
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
21%
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

381 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
47%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students80%
Female84%
Male78%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education41%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students89%
Female92%
Male87%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education48%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education69%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students78%
Female83%
Male72%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education40%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)11%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students58%
Female68%
Male50%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracial79%
American Indian or Alaska Native40%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education7%
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted56%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students83%
Female86%
Male80%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education44%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)29%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students58%
Female66%
Male50%
Black or African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracial58%
American Indian or Alaska Native40%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education6%
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Gifted/talented93%
Non-Gifted54%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students89%
Female90%
Male87%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracial79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education80%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students88%
Female87%
Male89%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education48%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students89%
Female85%
Male93%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracial77%
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education73%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 29%
Hispanic 23% 52%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 2%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P O Box 428
Magnolia, TX 77353
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 356-3572

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Project Restore
Magnolia, TX


Alpha
Magnolia, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT