Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brooks Wester Middle School 5

Posted August 18, 2016
- a community member
My son had a very positive experience when he was a Wester Wildcat. He is bummed that we have moved and his younger brother won't get to go there too!

Brooks Wester Middle School 1

Posted July 16, 2016
- a teacher
Horrible environment for kids, right at an age where they are developing their values and their self-esteem. This school is a hotbed of bullies who are savvy at hiding it from administrators. Kids are engaging in sexual activity and discussing it openly. It's enough to make me question my profession as a teacher.


Brooks Wester Middle School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted July 16, 2016
- a teacher
Thanks to the very few parents who do care enough to be involved and raise good kids.

Brooks Wester Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 16, 2016
- a teacher
Don't get me wrong, the teachers work hard and many of them care a lot about making a difference. It's just soul crushing to come to work caring day after day, and be shut down by administrators, a district and ultimately a public school system that is overwhelmed, poorly structured and not set up for student or teacher success.

Brooks Wester Middle School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted July 16, 2016
- a teacher
Yes- probably, but for all the wrong reasons. They learn grit in terms of being in a cut throat, out-of-control bully and pettiness environment, not in terms of hard work. The message is constant- style over substance, material over things that matter.


Brooks Wester Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 16, 2016
- a teacher
There are too many kids, it's a babysitting scenario. Teachers can't truly engage with kids or gain their trust. Administrators are pushing paper up the chain and very focused on test results and reports, the students are not a priority.

Brooks Wester Middle School 4

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
Two of my children attended Wester and they excelled, they are both in college now. The teachers are nice and it is a very comfortable environment for study.

Brooks Wester Middle School 3

Posted December 05, 2011
- a community member
I have been here for only 3 six weeks and I have to say this isnt the best school. Everything is waaaaaay tooo easy except for maybe Pre-Ap math 7th grade!!! Also the kids are very mean and there is a LOT of bullying and they concentrate tooo much on sports and the kids that do play sports think they are better thatn everyone and dont have to do homework becuz they have game or something which really annoys me!!!! Any way except for that this school is amazing and fun and the teachers are alll the funnest teachers I have ever had!!!


Brooks Wester Middle School 3

Posted May 30, 2011
- a community member
This was my 3rd Texas school and it's the worst. They are behind in education. I had to retake Pre-AP English because they did not offer English1 in the eighth grade. I also had to stop taking French right before the first term. I'm not very happy about that. Other than the slow education and the lack of extra curriculat activites (unless you're in sports) its an ok school. I just wish they was after school activites that weren't all sports orrientated. Not everybody does sports.

Brooks Wester Middle School 4

Posted September 07, 2009
- a student
It has a great sport title to it but it seems like lunch is 5 minutes long, and most kids are very mean. Teachers are very nice.

Nearby schools

Brooks Wester Middle School
1520 North Walnut Creek Drive, Mansfield, TX  76063
(817) 299-7000
Last modified Brooks Wester Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top