Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Erma Nash Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 606 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2010

I have been satisfied with the teachers that my children have had in the past few years. However I think the evening programs should be held in English.


Posted March 9, 2010

Let me just correct some of these websites that state this schools student/teacher ratio is 14:1. My child currently attends this school 2009-2010 school year. Her classes are just over 20:1 student/teacher ratios. Our homeroom teacher (during the beginning of the school year) stated they were extremely concerned with the amount of students this year, as well as stating that they have never before had so many students under their care. This alone should be alarming. The principle has a long standing history in her position with Erma Nash. And in my opinion, it appears she has given up or just burned out and is merely waiting for retirement. It also appears that the schools district has turned a blind eye letting this school fall to the waste side. Erma Nash is and has always been known for poor leadership, over-population and disorganization. The school needs help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2008

I am a parent of two children who attend Erma Nash. We are new to the school as of this year. I love that my children are coming home with homework, and not only that, but the work involves the parents so that we are having to do the projects together. Teachers are wonderful special people that devote so much of their personal time and energy to an often thankless job. Trust me, I'm sure if you ask any of them, they are not in it for the money. That being said...if you are one of those on here with negative remarks, maybe you should check your parenting, not the teachers or principal at the school. After all it is a partnership, and the teachers need our help as much as we need theirs. I think this is a wonderful school, devoted to teaching our kids to strive to perform well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

This is a wonderful school. I have three children and each teacher they have had here has been amazing. The teachers are all very caring and go above and beyond to make sure each student does their best. Even teachers my children have never had go out of their way to know them. The principal and assistant principal are caring and take time to get to know the students. I would never want my kids to attend any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

I could not be HAPPIER with the teachers at this school. They work so hard to give the kids an advantage!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

I have not had a good experience so far at this school. I have tried to give it a chance, since the last school we transferred from was amazing! However, I have found that this school has too many children and is not ran properly. I do not recommend this school to anyone. I am sure there are good things about it, but I have yet to find any.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

Let me just begin by stating that I am a teacher at this school and this is my fourth year here. That having been said, this is without question the most professional staff I have had the pleasure of working with. We have a very active PTA. They actually had a surplus of volunteers for this year's fall carnival. Our extracurricular activities include a chess club and Math Olympiads. Our P.E. teacher organizes groups to run in local races as well. Our gifted program offers a multitude of challenging and enriching opportunities for G/T students both during and after school hours. Student safety is a top priority, from the principal on down. Perhaps the most telling thing I can say is this: I am truly excited about the day when my son will be old enough to attend this school, because I know he will receive a high quality education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 4, 2005

Three of my children have attended this school. The teachers are wonderful. They really want the kids to learn. They make learning fun so the kids will want to learn too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

Erma Nash elementary is a wonderful school. The teachers are very devoted to their students. My son is in kinder and has blossomed from a quiet shy boy to a bubbly talkative boy who comes home everyday talking about all the new things they are learning. He goes to spanish class, art,music and computer lab. I am amazed at all the classes that are available to them and he is only in kinder. The principal is very nice to all the children and gets down to their eye level when they stop her down the hall to ask her something. I am so glad that my son goes to this school.it is highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

I am concerned about the total lack of innovation in this school. It seems like the school has been stuck in the same routine for years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

I have been very blessed to find a school that cares for kids as much as Erma Nash. The teachers go out of the way to reach each child and meet the needs of the individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

The princple at this school is horrible. Too worried about staying in her office, to know what is going on with the students. The office staff in unorginized, and not helpful. Teachers, i blame that on the princple and the school district. The students are not treated well nor are they recieving the education they deserve. Horrible!! i am moving out of this school area, as well as many other families to get our children out of this school. Interdistrict transfers are not allowed from this school by misd, but you can transfer toit. That should speak for itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2004

A great school with a great history is being turned into a laughingstock because of a bafoon principal
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

78 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

99 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

78 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

104 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

77 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female94%
Male88%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education57%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students83%
Female76%
Male89%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education63%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education67%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students91%
Female92%
Male91%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education67%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education83%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students73%
Female71%
Male74%
Black or African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education38%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)66%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted71%
Bilingual61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Female73%
Male64%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education50%
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant69%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students80%
Female83%
Male76%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education50%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted78%
Bilingual84%

Writing

All Students67%
Female76%
Male55%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special education0%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant67%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 64% 52%
White 25% 29%
Black 6% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 44%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • RENNDA BRANSON
Fax number
  • (817) 453-7300

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1050 Magnolia Street
Mansfield, TX 76063
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 299-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tarrant Co J J A E P
Mansfield, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT