Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

First Baptist Christian School

Private | PK-6 | 150 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Marble Falls

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $152,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

FBCS used to be a good school. However, the administration has gotten into a "refusal" attitude about their teachers and their students. Some students are bullies and they refuse to see it. Some teachers aren't teaching and they refuse to see that too. Both elementary/middle school and the preschool program need an overhaul. They are more worried about their accredidation than they are with the kids themselves. Push all the information at the kids as fast and hard as they can so they get all the extra points. But forget that the kids are still just kids too. They call it an advanced cirriculum. I call it more of a military school than a Christian school. That's why we are no longer attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

FBCS has had some great teachers. However, the quality of recently hired teachers is not up to par, in the early childcare building as well as the elementary grades building. FBCS is a great school, until you have concerns with a teacher or another student; at which point the Administration and the School Board, are not supportive and "turn the other cheek" rather than addressing the student(s) and/or teacher(s) directly. If a problem arises, you are virtually on your own. The School Board and Administrator will tell you to "have faith, it will all work out". Faith does not over-rule common sense and reality. We will no longer recommend FBCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

FBCS is a wonderful place for our daughter! The teachers, staff, curriculum, athletics, fine arts, etc. are excellent! The teachers set high expectations for their students and the students understand what is expected of them. Leadership development is a huge priority and the kids take it very seriously. WE LOVE FBCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

This is my son's first year at FBCS. His transformation has been amazing! He feels so safe and loved here, and his grades and attitude have improved dramatically. Teacher - Parent communication is exceptional, as is the Christ-centered learning environment. I am so impressed with the leadership, administration, students and parents at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2012

I am so thankful for FBCS! My children have attended school here for 3 years and I am happier each year. My greatest joy is to have my children learning from a Christian worldview. The staff members and leadership support parents in their child rearing and show a Christ-like attitude in how they speak and act. As the children are getting older, the school has begun adding special classes such as sports and fine arts to continue to challenge the students. Thank you FBCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

First Baptist Christian School is a wonderful place to work. The students are bright and friendly. The parents go out of their way to make you feel special. I love being able to share God in my teaching.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 30, 2012

My daughter has attend First Baptist since she was 3 and the school has exceeded our expectations each and every year. We love that each student is able to learn at the pace that is best for them, yet the teachers keep the classrooms fun and exciting. We look forward to the possibility of school sports this coming year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

First Baptist Christian School of Marble Falls is beyond compare. From the academic excellence, character and leadership development to the first class degreed and certified teachers, if you want to prepare your children for the path ahead, in whatever their goals are in the future, FBCS is preparing them for success in all areas. i am a proud parent and advocate of this nationally ranked in the top 25% ,fully accredited private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

My child has attended FBCS for three years. My husband and I have enjoyed the teachers and appreciate the Christian education that is instilled into each part of the curriculum. Like every school there are pros and cons, but in consideration of other childcare establishments in our community, FBCS remains the best option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

FBCS is the best decision I ever made for my child. As a working mom I have never had to worry about my child in their care. I can reach teachers directly at all hours of the day. My son is two grade levels above his age and he has never had to experience any bullying in this environment. He loves school, loves his friends, and loves God because of his Christian education. I could not be happier with the love and care FBCS provides. Blessings
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Sandra Phelps
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (830) 693-1105

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • FBCS is accredited by the Texas Education Agency through TEPSAC, Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), and the Accrediting Commission of The Texas Association of Baptist School (ACTABS). It is a Christ-centered, college preparatory school system.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 12th Street
Marble Falls, TX 78654
Website: Click here
Phone: (830) 693-3930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Colt Elementary School
Marble Falls, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT