Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marion High School 1

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
Eight years ago this district had promise. Now the school board likes to go behind parents backs and approve things without telling us. The technology is way behind, don't want to fix existing problems, need to offer more electives, need to offer skills training, and the teacher turn over rate is high. But, if you are interested in athletics then you will be fine because that's the only thing they are interested in too.

Marion High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
We are having a high turn over rate with teachers. The good ones all leave.


Marion High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
Homework is between just right and too much, depends on grade level, teacher, when the STAAR test is, and multiple other factors.

Marion High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
Yes, it helps develop persistence, grit, and determination because you have to have it to deal with the staff.

Marion High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
It's difficult to respect people who don't respect the students and parents. The staff are rude and will lie to your face while smiling.


Marion High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
The school does absolutely nothing about its bullying problem but supposedly has a zero tolerance.

Marion High School 1

Posted October 07, 2014
- a student
I went to Marion K-12, however I did move around a lot. I thought maybe it would be better over time and when I came back I realized this isn't the kind of school for me or my future kids. Maybe if there was funding, kids would have better electives and much more to be proud of. Marion lacks any school spirit. The student body rejects anyone who is different. The teachers are eh. The new building looks nice from the outside...but poorly designed. There's a small staircase that is enough room for two people and one small door.

Marion High School 5

Posted February 03, 2013
- a student
Marion is an excellent school district. The school is behind on technology, but that does not hamper the overall quality of education. The state mandated test scores are excellent and the teachers are wonderful. Marion has outstanding band, athletics, ag, theater and art programs. The administration is considerate and is often eager to listen to suggestions made by students and by parents. The bond between all of the students is quite prevalent as well. The students are proud to represent Marion everywhere they go. I highly recommend this school district for anyone that struggles at larger schools, or just wants a chance to excell.


Marion High School
no rating

Posted January 16, 2009
- a parent
I have lived in Marion for the past 18 years, moving here from San Antonio, graduated from Fox Tech in a class of 2000 children. I find Marion Schools a delightful change. I like the small classes, the attention that was given my child. It took the whole village to help her get throught school. The Principal, Vice Principle, teachers, Coaches, everyone was there to help. Information was given/provided to get into collage. If extra help was needed there was always someone that could help. It may be a small school but the people are proud, have lots of spirit. It is not just about sports. Any child that wants to learn can learn. Not all children play sports nor want to be farming housewifes. Neither do all children in Marion live on farms. My child is attending College now and doing well. Thanks Marion ISD.

Marion High School 5

Posted September 05, 2008
- a parent
I am A a Student at Marion High School and I have learned that this school can help you with a lot of things, seeing how it is so small. I know that the school is underfunded but we are doing the best we can. Plus, I moved from a larger school and my grades were so bad that I was going to tutoring every day after school to catch up with my class mates. I like Marion because it gives you more attention since being there I have made honor roll 2 years in a row and got commended on all of my TAKS test. If you think your child is struggling then they are not paying attention. Teachers offer extra time to help students that do not understand and we still have a ton of kids wanting to come. Marion is a great school to send your kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marion High School
P O Box 189, Marion, TX  78124
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (830) 914-2803 x400
Last modified Marion High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top