Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Achieve Early College High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a student
The school has several community service organizations: Student Council, Feet2Miles, Followers in Christ, and Community Relations Club.

Achieve Early College High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a student
Students are expected to receive an Associate's degree or at least several college credits before graduation from high school.


Achieve Early College High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 18, 2015
- a student
The high school classes take into account the workload from college courses. Teachers focus on teaching and stimulating student guided learning rather than just giving out worksheets.

Achieve Early College High School 5

Posted March 21, 2015
- a student
This school is currently being nominated by the blue ribbon award. The fact that this school got nominated is amazing because the state nominates a few schools throughout the entire state and AECHS is one of them. This should say a lot about this school.

Achieve Early College High School 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
All of those parents that are insulting the school about the pledge, should know what kind of staff actually works there. There is 3 veterans working at the school as teachers. Before you start bashing this amazing and rigorous academic high school; make sure you get your facts straight. It's amazing how you all believe a sophomore instead of the adults. Overall this school is very challenging to my children and I like it like that. Sincerely A caring parent.


Achieve Early College High School 4

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
Though there have been some issues with particular instructors at this school, overall I am glad that I send my children there. No bully behaivor to deal with and concentration on academics and achievement. I would move if I had to send my children to either Mc High or Rowe.

Achieve Early College High School 5

Posted October 30, 2012
- a student
The teachers are awesome, everyone is supportive to each other because there's no bullying, and it's a place where you can ask anyone for help with something and they'll help you with it whether it's a project, homework problem, or just a plain question. The teachers are great, teachers from different grades are willing to help students with homework, projects, and subject theories. The office staff, inlcuding the counselor and principal, are extremely helpful, they know all of the students and know them by name. At Achieve, students get the oppurtunity to gradually simulate into the college setting by a Dual Enrollment Program with South Texas College that begins freshmen year. The goal for this school is for students to receive an Associates Degree in a field of their choice along with their High School Diploma. I love this school and couldn't imagine going to a different high school.

Achieve Early College High School 5

Posted February 04, 2012
- a student
I would rate this school as 10 stars. It's small enough that everyone looks out for each other. The best part about this school is that there isn't any bullying! At this school we have the top teachers whom are enthusiastic about teaching their students and will teach them everything that they need to learn. Not only that, but the students at this school are also in a Dual-Enrollment program. That means 2 FREE-years of college. Imagine graduating with an Associate s Degree a week or two before receiving your high school diploma. That s pretty cool if you ask me. We also have use college resources, our library is actually the STC Library and the college offers separate tutoring services for students (us). Our school has many clubs and organizations that would help further sharpen a student's intellectual ability. There's even a club for Community Service. Don't miss put on a great opportunity, so please apply to this great high school.


Achieve Early College High School 5

Posted July 23, 2011
- a student
This school isn't very big but we sure make one big family, the principal is awesome as well the other staff members. The teachers are our best friends!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Achieve Early College High School
2000 North 23rd Street, McAllen, TX  78501
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (956) 618-6048
Last modified Achieve Early College High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top