Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Garza Elementary School 1

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
For the Valley, maybe this is an okay school. But if you're looking at education as a whole, Garza is definitely lacking. Education is lacking and students are behind the rest of the US. Teachers should speak English in classrooms, not a mixture of English and Spanish.

Garza Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2011
- a parent
Great teachers and staff, one of the best schools i have come across and i have come across many, keep up the great work and keep up those high standards in education.


Garza Elementary School 3

Posted February 11, 2011
- a parent
My children have attendeId this school since they were in kinder. I have always been pleased with the school and teachers. Mrs. Shults was a very good principal and has had very good A.P and teachers behind her. This year that leadership and happy spirt has been missd. The new principal seems to be trying her best to keep things going and is positive and very approachable. However, it is sad that MISD continues to keep staff like the new A.P that was placed there. She is not at all what any elem school needs. She looks mad and un interested in children. As a parent I feel let down by who ever made a decission to put that A.P on this campus.

Garza Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2008
- a parent
I have a child that attends Garza who is currently in 2nd Grade. It has been my experiance that Garza is a excellent school. My child was very shy and whisper when he spoke now is very out spoken and willing to participate. My child has been very fortunate to have great teachers, Mrs. Morales (Pre-K), Ms. Garza ( kinder) and Mrs. D. V. Martinez (1st). Thank you all.

Garza Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Garza Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2008
- a parent
Garza is an excellent school. It is the largest elementary in McAllen ISD but the teachers, principal and staff go out of their way to treat the students fairly and with respect. Everyone has high expectations for student achievement and discipline. Garza is an A+ School!

Garza Elementary School 5

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
my daughter is in second grade and she has been in Garza since kinder, the teachers are very good with the children and the principal is great. They could use some modern equipment, but overall the results have been very good.

Garza Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2007
- a parent
My daughter attends Garza and I'm very pleased with the school. The teachers are very motivated to continue learning new styles of teaching. The teachers and the counselor for kinder are very supportive and loving. Great school!!!


Garza Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2007
- a parent
Garza is a wonderful school. My child has been very fortunate to have great teachers. The reading recovery teachers have been patient and very supportive of my son. He has improved dramatically. The teachers are all great and have high expectations for all the students. Garza is an awesome school.

Garza Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
I am the parent of 2 kids who have attended Garza since Pre-k, they are currently in 5th & 3rd. It has been my experience that Garza is a wonderful school. The teachers have been very patient and enthusiastic. The only thing is that I wish Garza was more involved in the community through extracurricular activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Garza Elementary School
6300 North 29th Street, McAllen, TX  78504
(956) 971-4554
Last modified Garza Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Garza Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top