Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Garza Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
I feel grateful to Mrs. Garcia who taught my daughter 2nd grade last year and Mrs.Bulthuis who is currently my daughters 3rd grade teacher.

Garza Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are awesome!! They go out of their way to make sure each child excelles.


Garza Elementary School 1

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
For the Valley, maybe this is an okay school. But if you're looking at education as a whole, Garza is definitely lacking. Education is lacking and students are behind the rest of the US. Teachers should speak English in classrooms, not a mixture of English and Spanish.

Garza Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2011
- a parent
Great teachers and staff, one of the best schools i have come across and i have come across many, keep up the great work and keep up those high standards in education.

Garza Elementary School 3

Posted February 11, 2011
- a parent
My children have attendeId this school since they were in kinder. I have always been pleased with the school and teachers. Mrs. Shults was a very good principal and has had very good A.P and teachers behind her. This year that leadership and happy spirt has been missd. The new principal seems to be trying her best to keep things going and is positive and very approachable. However, it is sad that MISD continues to keep staff like the new A.P that was placed there. She is not at all what any elem school needs. She looks mad and un interested in children. As a parent I feel let down by who ever made a decission to put that A.P on this campus.


Garza Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2008
- a parent
I have a child that attends Garza who is currently in 2nd Grade. It has been my experiance that Garza is a excellent school. My child was very shy and whisper when he spoke now is very out spoken and willing to participate. My child has been very fortunate to have great teachers, Mrs. Morales (Pre-K), Ms. Garza ( kinder) and Mrs. D. V. Martinez (1st). Thank you all.

Garza Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2008
- a parent
Garza is an excellent school. It is the largest elementary in McAllen ISD but the teachers, principal and staff go out of their way to treat the students fairly and with respect. Everyone has high expectations for student achievement and discipline. Garza is an A+ School!

Garza Elementary School 5

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
my daughter is in second grade and she has been in Garza since kinder, the teachers are very good with the children and the principal is great. They could use some modern equipment, but overall the results have been very good.


Garza Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2007
- a parent
My daughter attends Garza and I'm very pleased with the school. The teachers are very motivated to continue learning new styles of teaching. The teachers and the counselor for kinder are very supportive and loving. Great school!!!

Garza Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2007
- a parent
Garza is a wonderful school. My child has been very fortunate to have great teachers. The reading recovery teachers have been patient and very supportive of my son. He has improved dramatically. The teachers are all great and have high expectations for all the students. Garza is an awesome school.

Nearby schools

Garza Elementary School
6300 North 29th Street, McAllen, TX  78504
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (956) 971-4554
Last modified Garza Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top