Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Central Christian School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in McAllen

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted March 12, 2010

As the new director of Central Christian School, I just wanted to make sure you get the true information about our school. The most recent comment stated that we no longer have the same teachers, faculty, or director. I must say that it is only I who am new here. All of the staff that has been here stayed on as I began this year. They all want to stay for next year. I am praying that they can. What this one person said about our school indicates that we cannot please all of the people all of the time, but we do try. Some people cannot be pleased no matter what you do for them. I would like to invite anyone who has read the negative comment to please come and let us show you our school and how we are working together for the glory of God.

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2012

I as a former student of CCS think that this school is one of the best schools you can send your kids to. I myself went attended CCS for 7 years along with my younger sister. The teachers were so caring and always looked for new ways to help kids learn. CCS is a very safe enviroment for kids. They have great staff and some of my former teachers when I was young are still there. If you are looking for a safe, kind and caring enviroment where your kids will learn and have fun I will suggest CCS. After being a former student of CCS i have become a great leader and I am currently in NJHS. This school helped me to become a great person.


Posted February 2, 2011

My daughter has had nothing but good experiences at CCS. She attended for pk-3 and I took her out due to costs for pk-4. I tried to keep her at our public school and was so dissappointed. There was 1 teacher for 31 students. I enrolled her back in CCS about 2 weeks into this year and she is already been reading for months and now is learning cursive. I love CCS, and am glad she can attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2010

I have two children attending CCS. My husband and I are very happy with the academic and extra-curricular activities that they are receiving. The director and teachers work very hard and are compassionate and caring. The school just celebrated 31 years of service to our community. The abeka curriculum is very challenging and students who leave CCS after elementary, enter middle school far ahead of their peers. We recommend CCS to any parent looking for a strong academic program and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2010

I am sure there was a point in time when CCS was the place to have your child enrolled . However, that time has long passed. The school is in jeopardy of closing and for good reason. Many of the teachers and staff do not have their teaching credentials nor are required to even hold a Bachelor's Degree. Their curriculum is dated and they lack the necessary resources in order to provide an adequate teaching environment. They have eliminated many specialty subjects such as Spanish, Library, and Art and do not offer extracurricular activities. While the school is in jeopardy of closing due to finances, families are asked to participate in several fundraising events throughout the year; in addition to the costly monthly tuition. Please take into consideration that this site as well as others highly rate CCS however, you'll notice that most reviews were posted several years ago.


Posted March 25, 2010

My son attended Central Christian School for 4 years before going into public school. He had the best education. The school had fabulous teachers using wonderful curriculum. And his teachers in public school were very impressed. I am thankful that we were able to attend CCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

Very disappointed with the school. In the past it has had a great reputation as a Christian School, but it no longer has the same faculty, staff or director. My daughter started in 2009 and I will be transferring her to a better qualified Christian school for 2010.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

we have 2 childrens in this school , our childrens and our family realy happy . it's a good school. my childrens love to go to school everyday .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2008

I've had a wonderful experience. Great extracurricular foreign languages program (Spanish & French).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

What a wonderful school and such great CARING teachers! I couldn't ask for more for my children. The teacher and administrative staff are always available to discuss my children's progress and jointly work together to make it a pleasant and more productive learning experience for them. I thank God for CCS everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

I've had two kids at CCS for 3 years. Great individual attention and a variety of activities. The school is very much a family. My kids learned much more than being in public school and were less stressed. Daycare arrangements are the best I found for working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

The school has an enthusiastic group of teachers and administrators who really care about children. Some of the extracurricular activities offered are French, theatre, and etiquette. Children involved in these classes describe them as fun and interesting. I have personally seen how they act more mature and how they follow proper etiquette after few weeks. Their languages courses, Spanish and French, are very complete and help the children learn in an easy and fast way. Grade teachers are very well prepared and educated. As parents we can see a big difference between CCS teachers and other instructors. I highly recommend CCS to any parent who cares about his or her children's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

Great school! My child has benefited so much from the education he has received. It's not just about test-taking; it's about learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 72% 47%
Asian 8% N/A
Two or more races 8% N/A
White 8% 37%
Black 3% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1320 Nolana St
McAllen, TX 78504
Phone: (956) 687-2340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT