Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
McAllen, TX
Students enrolled: 451
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Covenant Christian Academy 3

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Pros 1. Principal leadership & vision 2. excellent parent involvement Cons 1. teachers can be hit or miss Over the years we have had some stellar teachers and some that were so lacking in skill or experience that they actually set the child back. 2. ill equipped to deal with learning disabilities/unique learning styles Any teacher can teach a smart, motivated student. CCA needs to provide a better system for dealing with children who need extra help. 3. curriculum still needs improvement - science labs are infrequent - music & computer classes are intermittent due to lack of staff - CCA hasn't had an art program for years 4. CCA teaches morality & Bible but they need to examine their own Christian witness As a Christian school, CCA should be reaching out to new families, particularly troubled families and non-Christian ones. When I was a new parent, I found it very difficult to get to know anyone because most of the families and staff were so "close-knit" with each other. This extends even to awards ceremonies where kids only clap for their friends. An excellent Christian school needs an excellent Christian witness whose influence can be seen in the staff, kids and families.

Covenant Christian Academy 5

Posted June 30, 2009
- a parent
I love CCA it is the best school I have ever put my kid in


Covenant Christian Academy 0
no rating

Posted December 02, 2008
- a parent
I have two children at this campus and will send a third soon. We will work extra to pay the tuition and give them a solid Christian education. The leadership and teaching are phenomenal!

Covenant Christian Academy 5

Posted January 20, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Covenant Christian Academy 5

Posted May 20, 2005
- a parent
I have 2 children at Covenant Christian Academy. Covenant is by far the best school in the valley area. I know my children are getting an exceptional education from teachers that care. They also teach and inforce good moral behavior as well as building positive character in their students.


Covenant Christian Academy 5

Posted March 17, 2005
- a parent
We love CCA. Teachers are caring & provide quality education. There are plenty of opportunities to volunteer as a parent. It is a small school that provides academic excellence & wonderful moral values.

Covenant Christian Academy 5

Posted May 26, 2004
- a parent
Covenant Christian Academy has been a true blessing to many families in the McAllen area. My child has been a student at C.C.A. since pre-K-4 and will be entering covenants Junior High program this fall. Covenant's wonderful staff and welcomed parent involvement is truly what sets it apart from the rest. Each year presents a variety of challenges as the teachers stive to have each student excell while keeping learning fun. It's small student/teacher ratio is a plus. Providing a close knit environment in which no student will fall through the cracks. Teacher /parent communication is excellent.The school has a great policy in which both students and parents are notified about the weekly assignments and events for his/her grade level.I stongly recomend this school.It's love of children and love for the Lord is genuine. Building Godly men and women to be people of character,preparing them not only for academics, but for life.

Covenant Christian Academy 3

Posted February 05, 2004
- a parent
This school is great for setting up ethics and moraes. It lacks greatly in its math and science not preparing its students for high school let alone college. Its tuition rises but not its curriculum.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Covenant Christian Academy
4201 North Ware Road, McAllen, TX  78504
(956) 686-7886
Last modified Covenant Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Covenant Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top