Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


J B Wilmeth Elementary School 1

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
There is a consistent review of a bully teacher dating back to 2012. This is concerning and unfounding that the problem has not been corrected. My child was one that was bullied by a teacher. I have her in a new school now and she is again the happy child I remember. There may be wonderful teachers in this school that are not getting credit. One bad seed becomes a reflection of the entire school. Though we have left the school and my child is happy, he is terrified to ask teachers for help and has occasional nightmares and his experience at Wilmeth.

J B Wilmeth Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
Wilmeth is a wonderful school! My 4th grader is new to the school and loves it! I have a son in kinder this year and he loves going to school every day! The teachers at Wimeth are amazing and so is the staff! We are so happy to be at Wilmeth!


J B Wilmeth Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
My daughter's teacher made the class stand outside and watch my daughter run extra laps because the teacher's feelings were hurt by a 6 year old.

J B Wilmeth Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
We taught our daughter not to lie. When she told the truth, she was punished

J B Wilmeth Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
My daughter still has bad dreams 5 years later from the way she was bullied by her teacher


J B Wilmeth Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
I suppose that a teacher bullying a 6 year old can be seen as encouraging resilience and persistence or grit, but I see it as bullying.

J B Wilmeth Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2015
- a parent
I am saddened to see such negative things said and written about Wilmeth's staff and principal. I have two children at this school (and have for a few years) and we absolutely LOVE it! Sure, there are some teachers that have been more strict than others, but they have ALL been wonderful. The principal is fabulous. She is always present and very involved. I have found her to be excellent with the children and with the parents. WIlmeth is exactly where we want to be!

J B Wilmeth Elementary School 2

Posted February 25, 2015
- a parent
In response to the teacher chastising parents for questioning the principal or anyone at the school: I am very concerned that you are teaching our children. It is our responsibility as parents to be involved and not only question the school but as Americans living in a free/democratic country to constantly question and interact. Our children should be taught that as it was how our country was founded! I am a tax paying citizen in McKinney/Collin county, with the majority of my taxes (amount the highest in the U.S.) going to public education, it is also my duty to be involved to ensure my children and others get the best possible education. Wilmeth could definitely do better by it's students, and the students should be our main concern. It is mine!


J B Wilmeth Elementary School 1

Posted February 25, 2015
- a parent
Cold doesn't even begin to explain the current principal at Wilmeth. In my dealings w/her & in my opinion she is out of touch with the young lives placed in her care & in overseeing their education. She MAY be a good educator, though I have yet to see it, but she is not suited to elementary education. I have 5 children, they have attended 3 McKinney ISD schools & I recommended them all, and MIGHT reccomend Wilmeth if a different principle was at the helm. Her stance on a little girl being bullied by several boys, was appalling. Her response was in essence - we've gone a little bit overboard with this bullying issue overall & it would help the girl to toughen up a bit. Appalling! Also when I'm at the school, which is at least weekly & the principal (14-15) seems uninterested about the children at her school. It isn't a happy place; in my experience elementary school is about fostering a joy in children about school.

J B Wilmeth Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2015
- a parent
Wilmeth is an absolutely amazing school. My oldest son attended 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade here and loved every day. My youngest started Kindergarten this year and his introduction to full day school was seamless. Both boys felt loved, invested in, and grew tremendously. They are also really great with special needs and do everything they can to ensure extra academic resources are available to those that need it. We recently moved away and it is hard to leave such a great school and staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

J B Wilmeth Elementary School
901 La Cima Drive, McKinney, TX  75071
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (469) 302-7400
Last modified J B Wilmeth Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top