Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dowell Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1219 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

My oldest has been at Dowell for 21/2 years and my youngest began 2013-2014 school year. I could not ask for a better school from the adminstrative staff, to teachers , to support staff- it is run beautifully. Mr. Arbabi is a man that I respect and trust to lead the team in a respectful and safe manner. The teachers have tremendous care and compassion for my children and many teach beyond the TEKS. When I walk in I feel like family. When I send an email it is returned promptly, when I have a concern it is addressed immediately. We would love to move- bigger home, but the team at Dowell could never be beat and never want to leave. I seldom send anything over the internet, but feel so passionate about our experience that I felt compelled to send a public note of appreciation. Tremendous leadership and teachers the show excellence in all they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2012

I know the 7th grade science teacher Ms. Baker. She's nice and I heard from someone that this school steals........ Doesn't mean that they do though.... I just heard it from some guy.


Posted March 15, 2012

My Daughter loves Dowell, and we do as well! From the front door to the back portables and all the classes in between. The Athletics coaches and teams are great! More parents could possibly help with concesions...but otherwise..I am blessed to have a kid who wakes up everyday and not only wants to but loves to go to school!! Thank you Dowell!! The Band is super wonderful as well!!! Thank you Mrs. Lisko!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

I had an issue with a couple of teachers at this school and wrote the principle and he has not once tried to contact me back. Teachers loose papers and give kids zeros. I have to copy everything my kids do so I know they did it even if teacher loose their work. I pay a lot of money in taxes to have great teachers that care, but I feel I am not getting my monies worth. NO TEXT books, PP videos, is not teaching my kids. I don't want them watching movies everyday we can do that at home. WAKE UP--- get some younger teachers who are excited about teaching and replace the older ones that have lost interest in the school and the kids. YOU know who you are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

I have only wonderful comments regarding this well run school. The leadership from Dr. Farris and his Assistant principles is outstanding. The focus and expectations are clearly set for the students from the top down. The school is producing 21st century thinking and the success rate will continue to soar based on this process in my opinion. The teachers put in 100+++% effort to insure the success of every student. Tutoring is encouraged for all students not just for those who are having difficulties. Even the students who are doing well in the subjects are present in order to reinforce their learning and growth. The programs that are being used to teach students are engaging and exciting, which only brings students to the best expected results!!!!!! Bravo and job well done,to Dr.Farris,the Assistant Principle's and fabulous teachers who are each the best any parent could ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2010

The school has had a new principal since 2008-2009, and he is excellent. He has vision, leadership, and knowledge. He expects excellence and is fair regarding teachers, parents, and students. This year, all of the teachers had to start using their websites to post assignment information and documents. It has been great. The GT program is very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

There's a great education, which should be recognized. Most of the time, I believe that a majority of the problems spawn from the students, though certainly not all, who are poorly behaved. That simply means that the faculty must find better methods of handling these problematic students, instead of slapping the generic label of troublemaker or rebel on them. The principals seem to be up in space when it comes to dealing with children who are bullied, and do not seem to have a clue as to how major the issue of bullying is. The teachers can be lax, and in some classrooms for required classes, I've seen kids just do nothing all day; the teacher stands helplessly in the front, not saying a word. Therefore, I return to say that the school has a major issue with the kids, who handles them and how they are handled.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2009

This an OK school, but needs some serious reformation. The restrooms are horrible, and discipline is revolting. Many of the students, who would do very well in preAP, are instead in academic classes and pick on everyone else. The actual education is excellent, but the rules must be enforced much more. There are fights in the hallway half the time I walk through them! While the teachers and education are good, the hygeine and enforcement are in need of much reformation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2008

Really concerned with lack of leadership, discipline. Teacher's are not consistent with their learning plans. Principal and counselors seem to lack involvement or acknowledegement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

This is, in my opinion, a school in need of a dire recreation. The halls and bathrooms are disgusting, punishment is given much too often, and sometimes you may get punished for something you didn't do or or something very minor. Some of the staff are rude (I won't name names.), and there it seems the staff is doing nothing against this school's problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2007

This school is very good! It has alot of security so I feel safe about my child going there! The peprallys are great and it has been a delight being in the Dowell family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

There is a serious lack of discipline which causes a major concern for the safety of our children. Students are not often held accountable for their actions by both the school administration or their parents. My child has been lucky to have caring teachers and has excelled academically. If we are all wondering why Dowell's accountability ratings have dropped.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

i love my school i never want to leve it i mean like thares a copple of mean techs but i dont care i love them enyways! i meanly like mrs. harris the math tech i love her!!! my mom and dad like the school to and i tink it should have more then 5 stars..... every one is nice and cool! and if you dont get something rite they dont yell at you! and they know almost every thing that we are doning enry minnet ane every secned! well ya by by!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 27, 2007

Most kids and teachers care and want to excel. The principal seems lax or oblivious to the value of discipline and hard work.My child took all Pre-AP classes and made an A in everything, played sports and has lots of friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

Dowell was once one of the top middle schools in the area, however since the current principal has taken the reins, the school has become a haven for behavior problems. DMS has had a very high teacher turnover rate since she has been principal which has resulted in many of the top teachers and teacher leaders being replaced by less experienced teachers. I have had the opportunity to watch this school from the best of days (when Danny Bryan and Gavan Goodrich led the campus) to being only a shadow of itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

My son attends Dowell and I have to say I am not impressed. The Principal is the only person in administration that listens. One of the Assistant Principals has a habit of talking down to both the students and parents. Safety is not a valid concern for some of the teachers and most of the office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

Dowell is over crowded and has a very big problem with discipline. I'm a very involved and see what takes place. My child has attended Dowell from 6-8 this being the last year. I think the teachers are good and try, but the leadership from the principle and up lacks in a very big way. It seems that being over crowed and having to discipline constantly takes away from Dowell providing a good school for the everyday student. I will not miss it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

I use to go to DMS and it is a great school, the teachers are wonderful and the extracurricular activities are awesome! Most of all the best part of my experience was the way they teach you!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 10, 2004

While I find the teachers great and super committed to teaching and to the kids, the overpopulation of this school is ridiculous! HIgh taxes paid by the school surroundings are not compensating since kids are bused from all over the region into this school, as well as others, hence creating an environment of 'street smarts' that most parents don't necessarily want their kids exposed to!, At least I don't! The violence that is going on is outrageous with kids in ages ranging from 11-15!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

404 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

400 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

363 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

361 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

358 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

353 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

353 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

347 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

347 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female97%
Male90%
Black or African American93%
Asian95%
Hispanic75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education67%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Black or African American71%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education61%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female93%
Male95%
Black or African American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education83%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black or African American76%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education75%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented98%

Writing

All Students99%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education96%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male96%
Black or African American89%
Asian90%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education92%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)69%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education92%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)69%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Black or African American65%
Asian100%
Hispanic75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education58%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)46%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male99%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Black or African American76%
Asian67%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education75%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education70%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black or African American83%
Asian93%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education77%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)35%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female92%
Male97%
Black or African American91%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education77%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Black or African American84%
Asian100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education54%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)59%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female98%
Male91%
Black or African American81%
Asian100%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education63%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)61%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female95%
Male90%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education64%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students91%
Female94%
Male89%
Black or African American71%
Asian100%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education55%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)53%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Black or African American71%
Asian100%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education45%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)35%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 31%
Hispanic 19% 50%
Black 6% 13%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 S E Rdg Rd
McKinney, TX 75070
Phone: (469) 302-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT