Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Reuben Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
We LOVE RJE!!!! Our son attended a small private Kindergarten so we were nervous about sending him to "big" school. But the entire staff at RJE were so welcoming and kind. They made the transition seamless. The front office staff (Mrs. Harper and Ms. Brandi) are great! We LOVE his first grade teacher, Mrs. Rivero. She is the perfect mix of kindness and firmness. Our son has excelled with her as his teacher and loves going to school everyday. The principal, Mrs. Woodard is wonderful, you can tell she loves the students and expects excellence from her teachers. They put a lot of emphasis on healthy choices, ie: eating right and exercising. Overall, RJE is a wonderful school!

Reuben Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Such a great school! My son went to RJE from 4th to 5th Grade and having ADHD /Asperger, I was so impressed with his resource teacher Ms. Blankenship who not only gave us so much support but went over and beyon helping our son overcome his struggles. My daughter is currently a 3rd grade teacher started with RJE from 1st Grade and I could not be happier to see such amazing teachers who cared genuinely about my daughters education. Thanks RJE!


Reuben Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Loved RJE! My son went there from Kinder-5th grade and it was great he is a motivated self-starter that was fully prepared for Middle School. The teachers are the best and so are the office staff.

Reuben Johnson Elementary School 4

Posted August 18, 2012
- a community member
Fun school i didn't like the school song and in first grade i got yelled at for buying chocolate milk from the lunch line........ but besides that not too strict and not too easygoing......

Reuben Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2010
- a parent
I am so impressed with this school. My kids love it here! I am expecially impressed with our Kindergarten teacher, she is AMAZING! She is always so creative and willing to go the extra mile to make the student's learning experiance original, and memorable! The only this I wish for is more parental involvment. In one child's class there are only 3 of us who volunteer all year, and the room mom is so swamped picking up the slack. Come on parents! Otherwise the staff is great!


Reuben Johnson Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The teachers, parents and staff are very dedicated to the students success.

Reuben Johnson Elementary School 4

Posted February 18, 2007
- a parent
I believe that RJE has some fantastic teams, 4th grade in 2007 being one of the best. I wish our kids had more art and music, although this year is better than last with 2 art teachers as opposed to just one. Parent involvement could be improved. It seems to be the same 50-60 or so moms/dads that do everything. With a school of 800+ kids, that's not much. Overall, I am very happy with the academics. MISD in general, has great academics. I'd like to see less stress put on the kids in reference to standardized testing (Thanks to No Kid Left Behind) and more teacher feedback. RJE is a great school. We need more parent involvement!

Reuben Johnson Elementary School 4

Posted May 18, 2006
- a parent
My daughter attended RJ for 3 years and we were very pleased. The teachers were great and attentive. Lots of art and plays were presented, great field trips. Overall a great experience.


Reuben Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2006
- a parent
My child has been at Johnson for two years. Our kindergarten teacher was exceptional. I got email updates every week and she used creative ways to reach my child. First grade has been good as well. She continues to challenge my child and provide various ways of presenting the material to reach my child. The parents support this school 110%. Parents help with Monday folders, lunch duty, computer class, extra tutoring and reading just to mention a few things. Everyone wants to see these kids succeed. We are also involved in the gifted program. They are revising it this year but it has provided that extra challenge my child needed. I especially like the PE classes and the events they hold to get the kids moving. This is a school that aims to create successful kids. Along with that comes homework and an expectation they should be reading by Kindergarten -Xmas.

Reuben Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2005
- a parent
Excellent principal with lots of previous experience being an assistant principal at the same school. Caring and nurturing staff. All special classes are of superior quality. Wonderful school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Reuben Johnson Elementary School
3400 Ash Lane, McKinney, TX  75070
(469) 302-6500
Last modified Reuben Johnson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Reuben Johnson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top