Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Earl & Lottie Wolford Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Only a handful of teachers deserve a recognition in Bennett...I have seen the positive effect on my child in the last 3 years.

Earl & Lottie Wolford Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Kids are brainwashed into respecting the teachers, but not toward each other. Kids are being bullies and that seems to be ok with Amy Holderman.


Earl & Lottie Wolford Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
If they have a method of doing so, it sure is very ineffective....too many assistant principals have come and gone in the last few years...something has to change...

Earl & Lottie Wolford Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
too much politics and not a fair treatment! The misbehaved kids go unpunished! There's no honesty when Amy Holderman promises to rectify the situation, she does nothing about it!

Earl & Lottie Wolford Elementary School 3

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Academically is a good school, but the principal Amy Holderman is the worst! Hope soon she will be replaced with someone better!! MANY parents share the same opinion and it's time for someone else to step in and make some positive changes...Their bullying policies are non-existent! Whatever methods she uses to correct what goes on in the school, are not effective...it seems as though, everyone's there to get a paycheck, with he exception of couple of teachers that are the absolute blessing!!


Earl & Lottie Wolford Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 26, 2015
- a community member
We moved back from Europe in the summer of 2014 just 2 weeks before school started. My oldest had a very easy readjustment into school thanks to a super dedicated teacher( Thanks Mrs. Rowland), assistant Principal and Principal. I was impressed not only by the dedication of the teachers but also by the order and structure of the school. So super thankful!!! Awesome school period!

Earl & Lottie Wolford Elementary School 3

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
Academically a very good school. My son was previously in private school and this school is at or slightly above his previous school academically. Your child will have the best in this area. However, I am not impressed with the school's policies or general attitude. It allowed racial slurs to be directed at my son under the guise that it wasn't his ethnicty so it was ok. It wasn't until I discussed how inappropriate that was that the other students were punished. Many other policy items and attitudes that reflect little common sense. All and all the attitudes are difficult to get past and not the values that I want my son to learn.

Earl & Lottie Wolford Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been at Wolford since Kindergarten and now she is a 4th grader. All of her teachers have been wonderful. The art/music/pe teachers are great. My son with Autism attended Wolford for his 4th and 5th grade years in the STC unit. Mrs. Howard and Ms. Martha are truly the definition of what it means to teach with your heart. Love them and we still visit them every year with my son. Principal is very hands on and runs the school better than any principal I've ever seen. A+++++ school. Would definitely recommend to special needs children/families and regular learning children. Love this school. Also, Mr. Chapman has been very kind to both of my children.


Earl & Lottie Wolford Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2013
- a parent
This school is good. Their math is pretty advanced-leveled. However, I have heard by my daughter that in their 5th grade classrooms, they are very strict, and once the class had half of their recess off over 2 minutes or so of talking. This is a decent way to get the kids to stop talking, but definitely not fun for the kids

Earl & Lottie Wolford Elementary School 4

Posted December 16, 2012
- a community member
What we currently do is: 'Specials Class' which is a choice of Music, Art, or P.E., we also do Science, Social Studies, Reading, Math, Lunch and Recess. A full day of school is from 8:00 - 3:00 PM. I am currently a student of Mr. Chapman's class. We also have in 5th grade: Mrs Higgins, Mrs Vetterick, and Mrs Megelich.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Earl & Lottie Wolford Elementary School
6951 Berkshire Road, McKinney, TX  75070
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (469) 302-4700
Last modified Earl & Lottie Wolford Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top