Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mcwhorter Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2015
- a community member
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL! The staff and teachers are some of the best (if not the best) in the area. The care and attention Principal Froning and Assistant Principal Cluff, have given Mcwhorter students consistently exceeds our expectations.

Mcwhorter Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 08, 2015
- a community member
Thank you Principal Froning and Assistant Principal Cluff for your tireless commitment and belief in our children.


Mcwhorter Elementary School 1

Posted September 16, 2015
- a community member
My son started this year there in 6th grade. He has been constantly bullied by the childish thugs and assaulted twice in 11 days. The 2nd instance occurred 3 days ago over an open discussion of all topics...the confederate flags. Not a good open topic of discussion in my opinion when your 1 of 3 Caucasian kids in a class of 24. The school just suspended the thug. I'll be damned if it stops there. I plan on pressing charges on the thug and removing my son from this school.

Mcwhorter Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
My child went from not being able to read at all to loving books! the help they have shown us has been very nice

Mcwhorter Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
really love this school and the new principal and teachers. my kids were really struggling with reading but they are on a good road


Mcwhorter Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
We started our daughter in this school last year. There is a new principal and they are working very hard to ensure all students are treated fairly. Seems there is always someone who is unhappy but I LOVE this school!

Mcwhorter Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
They really look out for each other and the students. I have seen this school really turn around this past year.

Mcwhorter Elementary School 1

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
McWhorter Elementary School in Mesquite,Tx is were my child attend. I do have to agree with the review from Oct 2013, bullying at the school isn't addressed. They down play it and try to convince the parent no bullying has taken place and their child is the blame. They ask that you teach your child to not hit back but to inform an adult of a situation before it escalates. When the child does that, they are bullied by the adult and self esteem lowered. If the parent call and make complaints regarding the issue the child is retailated against. McWhorter shouldn't be receiving any government funding at all. My son has a disablity and he is being discriminated against. I feel that the Principal's and Teachers need to all go back through training. How can they expect respect from parents regarding their students when they can't be trusted.


Mcwhorter Elementary School 2

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
I must say as wellin addition to the lack of being where they should academically for each grade, bullying in that school is disregarded like it never happened. My 9 year old son wont stand for that, he has been sticking up for countless students with out any help from Staff Members at McWhorter. As well as a disregard to bullying, lack of enough academics, McWhorter is SOOO FAR BEHIND. I made some phone calls to other parents, co workers, friends, etc and my son's class who is in 4th grade is doing 2nd grade work. Why? They are in 4th grade.....

Mcwhorter Elementary School 1

Posted June 11, 2012
- a parent
WORST SCHOOL I REMOVED MY KIDS BEFORE THE SCHOOL YR. WAS OVER.. POOR QUALITY OF EDUCATION,TEACHERS.AND PRINCIPLE. I FIELD TWO STATE COMPLAINTS AGAINST MC WHORTER & WORKING ON MY THIRD, SO PARENTS BEWARE BEFORE YOU ENROLL YOUR CHILDREN AT THIS SCHOOL SPECIALLY IF YOUR CHILD IS SPECIAL NEEDS OR HAVE LEARNING PROBLEMS MC WHORTER DOES NOT CARE TO EDUCATE THESE KIDS, ALL THEY CARE ABOUT IS THE PRICE TAG THEY COME WITH AND STUDENTS ARE WAREHOUSED FOR THE YR.MISD IS LONG OVER DUE FOR AN AUDIT ASAP!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcwhorter Elementary School
1700 Hickory Tree Road, Mesquite, TX  75149
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (972) 882-7020
Last modified Mcwhorter Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top