Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Mesquite High School 5

Posted June 15, 2010
- a parent
My son will be a Senior this fall. He has a great foundation to start college with the AP classes he has been offered. The school encourages extra activites and has something for everyone. I have two more kids to follow, so I hope they keep up the good work.

West Mesquite High School 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
My son is a senior who plays football and runs track for the school. The AP and Honors classes are EXCELLENT and my son has received NUMEROUS offers to further his education beyond high school. As others have stated, there are quite a few outdated policies which conflict with the new culture of the student population, but otherwise this school has improved tremendously over the past 4 to 5 years.


West Mesquite High School
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a student
I went to west and I am now a freshmen in college, the honors and ap classes that i took was a great foundation for me. I believe that the high school experience has everything to do with what you put into it. At times I felt that some policies were to strict but overall it was a good experience.

West Mesquite High School 3

Posted August 16, 2006
- a parent
The parents definitely need to be more involved. Girls athletics have very poor attendance, especially. I believe the uniforms make it more easier for the kids to fit in, because it's hard to tell your financial status with uniforms. Overall, the school is acceptable.

West Mesquite High School 3

Posted May 16, 2006
- a parent
The school is pretty good. I all depends on the student.


West Mesquite High School 4

Posted June 26, 2005
- a parent
This school is a good school. The teachers seem to be very involved with the students. I have not had any problems with the school.

West Mesquite High School 5

Posted September 25, 2004
- a parent
I am mostly concerned with academics. I have 2 children that attend West Mesquite which has an exemplary rating with an average class size and teachers that do seem to care. Policies seem a little strict but they do have a 98% attendence so, overall I am pleased.

West Mesquite High School 3

Posted May 13, 2004
- a parent
I am pleased with the school overall. There are some teachers that are there for the students and it shows. The JROTC program is wonderful and has help 3 of my kids. The staff really care about the kids and their needs.


West Mesquite High School 4

Posted April 26, 2004
- a parent
I am pleased with school overall, teachers do seem to care about kids. My kids are getting a good foundation for college. I am not happy with the athletic program. It is poor. West has some great kids with bright futures in front of them. We need to focus on getting the parents involved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Mesquite High School
2500 Memorial Boulevard, Mesquite, TX  75149
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (972) 882-7600
Last modified West Mesquite High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top