Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Bowie Fine Arts Academy 5

Posted February 03, 2016
- a community member
Unbelievably amazing school with an incredible staff. They teach the whole child, not just academics. Love being there. Great positive energy.

James Bowie Fine Arts Academy 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
The staff and administration go above and beyond to meet the needs of all students. The students are greeted at the door by name. They feel safe and loved!


James Bowie Fine Arts Academy 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
This school is top notch. Teachers are knowledgable and considerate. I get phone calls from the teachers if my child isn't feeling well even when no one else notices. Yes, standards are very high. But shouldn't they be? My child has received a fantastic education from Bowie as well as excelled in all her fine arts. She can play piano, dance, and make art masterpieces. The older grade teachers know their subjects and content thoroughly. My child has never been bullied by a teacher and if a student says something to her that is inappropriate, it is handled immediately. The teachers show their compassion and their hard work never fails. I am appalled by the negative comments of a few parents on here. I wish the people that had positive things to say would reach out. This is an amazing school - ask any educator in Midland.

James Bowie Fine Arts Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
I have met the best and most knowledgable and organized teachers I have ever known in elementary school at this school. People do not know what they have in these teachers.

James Bowie Fine Arts Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
In the younger grades the homework was very little. In the upper grades homework became about 30 mins a night all together. I think that is reasonable for kids going in to middle school that may have more homework.


James Bowie Fine Arts Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
The standards at this school are exactly what they should be. I expect great things from my daughter and can only hope the school she attends does as well. I have been extremely happy with the determination they have helped develop in my child. They need these skills for future years in education.

James Bowie Fine Arts Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
This school, teachers and administration, all demand respect from and FOR their students. They treat all students with respect and expect integrity.

James Bowie Fine Arts Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
I have never met a teacher in all my years dealing with this school that has not had empathy towards my child or any others. I am up at school a lot for various reasons and have never seen a situation that would say otherwise.


James Bowie Fine Arts Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
The teachers provide moments to teach what it means to have integrity. Many schools only teach academics. This school teaches character as well.

James Bowie Fine Arts Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
My daughters spends about 2-3 hours every night doing homework. It's a ridiculous amount of homework.

Nearby schools

James Bowie Fine Arts Academy
805 Elk Avenue, Midland, TX  79701
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (432) 689-1401
Last modified James Bowie Fine Arts Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top