Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Emerson Elementary School 4

Posted January 01, 2016
- a community member
Emerson is one of the best schools in Midland. Great teachers with great determination to make sure our kids are ready for the next grade level. The only concern I have is the principal. She's probably the rudest lady I've ever met, but I try to avoid her.

Emerson Elementary School 3

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
My son was in kinder, and this was his first year here. I liked the fact that there is no uniform and that I can have lunch with my son because I came from a closed campus, but overall my experience was okay. My son did good, but I'm a working parent, and I missed some memos from the teacher. Overall the school drop off and pick up is horrible and the pick up is scary because kids just run off everywhere, even kindergarten, so I made sure I was always on time, other than that school is okay, the front office ladies are nice. My son also got bullied but the teacher took care of it right away.


Emerson Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
They don't get enough for kindergarten. My son got more at his other school and he learned a little more.

Emerson Elementary School 3

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
I enrolled my child in Emerson for the 2014-2015 school year and I can't say it was the best or the worst. Most of the teachers stay connected to parents but I can't say that for all of them. The principal shows very little concern in student behavior but most staff and office ladies show a lot of compassion for the kids. If you asked me if you should take your child here, I'd simply say "maybe." It really depends on the parent.

Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school!!! The teachers and and staff are wonderful!!! Strong PTA too!


Emerson Elementary School 1

Posted December 31, 2014
- a parent
My child is a hispanic third grader and I've pulled her out of school because her teacher was constantly bullying her because she was a Mexican! I'll tell you what happened - my child's teacher & best friend were both Caucasian and everytime my child's so-called friend did something and the teacher knew it was her, my kid would be sent to the office and given immediate discipline! Her teacher would pull her out of class for something as simple as dropping her pencil then in the hall she would yell at my student saying that's not "exemplary behavior" over a stupid pencil! My child also remarked how instead of calling her by her name, her teacher would call her "Juanita" or "Mexican girl"! I got so fed up so I contacted the principals but they refused to do anything about it! They even said my child was a horrible example and were practically begging me to take her out! This is a terrible school!

Emerson Elementary School 1

Posted February 09, 2012
- a parent
DISGUSTED!!!!! One word says it all, the administration the teachers and the kids behavior.I take pride in teaching my children, to treat others the way they want to be treated. These kids are are horrible, who is parenting them? My daughter has been bullied NON-STOP, and now that im threating to pull her out of the school, now they want to do something. The teachers dont act like they even want to be there, its more of just ther pay check. With a VERY small excep. of techers. I have meet with the principals over the bulling and for some reason the situation has not got any better its got worse! Now I have been a PTA president and in my personal opion this in one of the worst schools top to bottom regardless of its ratings. If you plan on sending your kids to this school, PLEASE take the reviews into consideration, I wish I had, because my daught is paying for it now.

Emerson Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 08, 2009
- a parent
Emerson is a super school, every grade level prepares the student for sucess. I love the way every child is encouraged and praised; and yes it shows in thier Exemplatory status. The new pricipal Mrs. Baiza has done a super job.


Emerson Elementary School 1

Posted June 18, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent and am very disappointed with the students and the administration at this school. My son has been consistently bullied, both physically and verbally, by a number of students. Each occurrence has been reported and subsequently ignored. The only interest in the staff and administration is ensuring the students pass the TAKS. I am to the point that I am withdrawing him from this school and placing him in a private school.

Emerson Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 30, 2009
- a parent
I am a teacher myself and I find it very disconcerting that all they do at the school is get ready for TAKS and on a regular basis recess is taken from them. I made a formal complaint against the administration and a teacher after my son was suspended for not telling a child I'm sorry. This school needs training on how to effectively deal with and communicate with parents and children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Emerson Elementary School
2800 Moss Avenue, Midland, TX  79705
(432) 240-6700
Last modified Emerson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Emerson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top