Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Greathouse Elementary School 3

Posted April 21, 2016
- a community member
My child has been attending Greathouse since she was in Kindergarten. This will be the last year she's in elementary school. I have to say this school is average and that's all. There are some problems but they're usually resolved. But the thing that really ticks me off is how fast they switch principals. There's only been one principal that I ever had a problem with and that was Mrs. Galloway. If you asked me if you should send your kids here, I'd say if you had no other options, then go ahead.

Greathouse Elementary School 2

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and principal are very rude and talk behind parents back. My child's grades have fallen do to the staff not caring. Sad to say but the only staff members that have a clue is the janitors and cafeteria workers. Trying to get my child in another school. Have seen and been told that if you call them out they take it out on your child. Pretty sad to see where are tax money goes on these terrible Greathouse staff.


Greathouse Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
No comment. Have already placed a review and encourage other's to do the same. Thanks

Greathouse Elementary School 1

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
This is the worst display of teaching that I have Ever seen. The teachers are unexperienced, unprepared & seem frazzled most of the time. My sons grades have always been consistent, but, since being a student at Greathouse the last 2 years, his grades have fallen. The teachers do not care when a child is behind. The bullying that goes on at this school FROM TEACHERS is insane! Teachers telling students to "shut up, I don't feel like hearing from you today." It's ridiculous! This school has gone through many principals and this year, she is no different! Definitely unprepared, rude and has no idea how to get this school in the shape it needs to be in. PTA is a joke, a bunch of bullying snobs who are just as bad as the teachers! This school is an unorganized mess. We will not be attending next year and warn any parents bringing a child in to this school.

Greathouse Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
Highly unimpressed with the principal. Very rude and bitter woman. She doesn't care about anything going on in the school and rarely comes out of her office. Hope those poor kids get a new principal soon


Greathouse Elementary School 1

Posted May 09, 2015
- a parent
Horrible school. The staff are rude and the principal is an old hag who obviously hates children.

Greathouse Elementary School 4

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
This is an amazing school but my only problem is the principal. She makes no effort to contact parents, she is extremely rude not only to me but some parents I know said she is that way to them, and she does not care about bullying. Last year my child was a fourth grader and was bullied by a newer child and my kid reported telling the principal but she did not care. It was resolved when the teacher made sure no contact was made between the two.

Greathouse Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2011
- a parent
The teachers and staff are very friendly. The PTA is top notch and really works to make this a great school for the kids. My son loves it here! Would definitely recommend Greathouse to anyone.


Greathouse Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2011
- a parent
The teachers do a great job communicating with the parents. The PTA is very strong and does a lot to help provide extra educational opportunities for the students, as well as teacher appreciation events. I moved here a year ago from a state where the public schools may have more than 50 students per class next year due to budget shortfalls. So, overcrowding is a relative term, and Greathouse is not even close to approaching that type of overcrowding issue. I think you'll find the teachers and administration to be caring, kind, and welcoming. There's a special sense of belonging at Greathouse.

Greathouse Elementary School 3

Posted October 05, 2010
- a parent
My child is in kindergarten this year and I am not impressed. This school is extremely overcrowded. School is very chaotic. Academic programs do not seem challenging....kindergarten students focus on one letter per week.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greathouse Elementary School
5107 Greathouse Avenue, Midland, TX  79707
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (432) 240-6900
Last modified Greathouse Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top