Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Midland Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Midland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $194,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2012

I have had one child or another at MCS for a total of 12 years. There are things I definitely loved about the school such as the teachers. These individuals are caring and really want the best for the students. Education is good, but the lack of duel credit subjects make it a downer at college time. Where I have major issues is the lack of Christian values that many of the students have. The secondary grades consist of many girl clicks, so unless you already have a friend or two it will be very difficult to be welcomed into many of the groups. Boys don't seem to be quite as bad about this. Football is everything, although they offer other sports. None will have the funding and attention as football will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

Can't thank MCS enough for helping my child find confidence in himself. We moved here and quickly found out that just because your paying the most money for school does your mean that he would be treated with respect or encouraged to do well. I came to MCS in a panic of not knowing what to do or where to go. Everyone there opened their arms and before you know it he was happy, confident, and most of all he was learning!! He now after two years there our whole family is truly blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

they teach christian ideals in every thing they do. edacation,sports and all things in life. well rounded school


Posted August 18, 2010

If you are looking for a school that teaches God, Country, and Family, this is the one. Teachers love these kids as their own, reinforcing the Godly values and work ethics taught at home. A great small town atmosphere where all grades encourage each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

We are looking for another school to send our children. We had issues with lack of security at this school and overall lack of attention to parental concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

MCS is without a doubt the best school in Midland, TX; because Christ is put first in all that they do, from hiring staff to updating the dress code to daily chapel to discipline. Teachers are patient, kind, and diligent. Parental involvement is high- and we know, because we have been room parents in our girls' classes for years. It is a sacrifice financially for our family to have our girls at MCS, but it has been worth every penny. May God continue to richly bless MCS as the staff and students serve the King of Kings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

This is an okay school, but these statements on extra curricular activities are biased and/or totally false. I would not trust this website. I also feel as though the parent reviews are overly biased and way too positive. No school is perfect there has to be a negative review out there. It all depends on your own personal experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2009

Great school. Felt so safe with my son there. Discipline is no problem as the school does not have to put up with it. Children and parents that pay to go to school are there because they WANT to be, not becaue it is free or they have too. Great teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2006

Good solid academic program with strong focus on Christian foundation. There are sport teams and football is pretty good. There's a band and choir - not bad considering the size of the school. The classes are relatively small and the school buildings are very nice - the new elementary building is done in red, white, and blue and it's very cheerful. Parent involvement is high - most families are upper middle class. Very few minority students. Students are expected to follow Christian principles. I thought this was a great school! My daughters liked it at first, but after a few years got tired of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2005

Very good educational wise for gradesk-5. Not much different socially from public, if fact probably worse due to smaller population of children to choose from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2003

This school is top notch. My son attended kindergarten through 4th grade at MCS, and we could never say enough good about them. They are the best there is, and we hope MCS continues to grow and flourish in it's attendance, so that more and more young minds gain not only a wonderful education, but the knowledge of a relationship with Christ. We love you MCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 31%
Hispanic 8% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of christ
Associations
  • NCSA
Fax number
  • (432) 694-5281

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2001 Culver Drive
Midland, TX 79705
Phone: (432) 694-1661

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Lee High School
Midland, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT