Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Washington Math/Science Institute 2

Posted April 22, 2015
- a parent
As an educator with Midland ISD, I had high hopes for Washington and was thrilled when we were chosen from the lottery. Unfortunately, they do not live up to their reputation. Being a magnet school, I expected better than the traditional campuses around Midland. But instead I found a group of educators that had unrealistic expectations for their students and an unwillingness to meet the needs of the children in their classrooms. My child enjoyed her year there, unfortunately we will be moving on next year and repeating the grade due to a completely wasted year.

Washington Math/Science Institute 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a parent
Washington is the VERY BEST school I have ever had the chance to be a part of. I am a veteran (25 years) teacher and have 2 children that are part of Washington. My oldest, attended K-6th grade and my younger daughter K-5th (currently) attends. The programs in themselves are great, but the faculty (including other staff) are amazing! The attention to every child and their needs is obvious just upon entering the school.


Washington Math/Science Institute 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
Love it, both my children are in the first grade at Washington and I cannot speak highly enough of the principal, the teachers and the curriculum. My kids love it, they enjoy school and I think are learning alot.

Washington Math/Science Institute 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
This is one very amazing school! Excellent education program, excellent teachers! I am a very overly protective mom and actually wanted to home school my children, I am so glad I didn't. I couldn't have found a better place! Washington is an A++++++++

Washington Math/Science Institute 5

Posted August 09, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is in going into the fourth grade. She has been at Washington since Kindergarten. She has had excellent teachers. They push her to do her best, and they have built her confidence. My second child will be in Kindergarten this year. I am looking forward to watching them excel in school.


Washington Math/Science Institute 5

Posted May 07, 2007
- a parent
Both of my daughters attend this school, in my opinion this is one of the best schools in town, this campus meets the individual needs of all their students.

Washington Math/Science Institute 5

Posted August 17, 2006
- a parent
This school runs the way all elementary schools should. The staff is great from the principal to the custodians. I can't imagine sending my daughter anywhere else!

Washington Math/Science Institute 5

Posted August 16, 2006
- a parent
Last year was my son first year at the school. The teacher made the transition very easy and the principal made it very easy as he was very much available to talk to. My son performed execellent on both the reading and math. He did not miss any on the reading and only missed two in math. This was because his teacher took the time with him that was needed and gave him alot of attention. He was kept busy the whole time he is at school and the after school program is wonderful. I was very pleased with the level of parent involvement at this school. I would recommend Washington to anyone.


Washington Math/Science Institute 4

Posted January 23, 2006
- a parent
Excellent school, there is high parent participation as well as a majority of teachers that are dedicated to student learning.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Math/Science Institute
1800 East Wall Street, Midland, TX  79701
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (432) 240-8300
Last modified Washington Math/Science Institute is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top