Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


J A Vitovsky Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
Subject matter seems to be taught sporadically and without a systematic plan; not enough review. The kids are "worksheeted" to death!

J A Vitovsky Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
My child is in second grade and gets 2 to 3 sheets front and back plus 20 minutes of reading. Sometimes the homework takes 45 minutes to an hour to complete per school night. It's a bit much.


J A Vitovsky Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
It has not been the experience of my child. Faculty are generally cordial to parents face to face but say cruel and disrespectful things to children; this doesn't build respect in students.

J A Vitovsky Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
The school motto sounds really good, but once the classroom door is closed with the one adult in the class, that motto doesn't exist.

J A Vitovsky Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
Teachers should lead by example. They say the rudest things to children but expect the children to "do as they say."


J A Vitovsky Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a community member
JAV is an excellent campus, the very best. Each teacher is involved in the success of the individual student. Every cent spent is to better the students and enrich their learning. This is a school where the students really are put first, and it shows. The faculty respect and love the kids. If any individual child struggles with any concept, they are given extensive help and tutoring all through the year as needed. Everyone gets involved with student success. The atmosphere is uplifting and loving. I cannot say enough good things about this remarkable campus.

J A Vitovsky Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
I have never had a issue with this school. If my child needs extra help the teachers Never hesitate. I really enjoy this school for my children.

J A Vitovsky Elementary School 1

Posted July 20, 2014
- a parent
I despise this school. My son should have a comprehensive 504 plan in place, after pushing for two months to have the meeting, very little accommodations were actually implemented. My daughter, an A/B student, was having a hat year with math. I requested numerous times that she receive additional support. She was denied that support throughout the school year. Then came STAAR testing. She failed math. All of a sudden, to protect their school rating, she was given intensive math counseling for 3 weeks so she could pass it. They do not listen to parents input, are not supportive, the walls are prison white when every other MISD elementary school is colorful an displays children's artwork. Speaking of which, in the 3 years my kids have attended, I have NEVER received any artwork. They are fully aware the art teacher throws it away. Nice way to build them up JAV!


J A Vitovsky Elementary School 1

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
Had a parent/teacher meeting, which also included the principal. Meeting was upon parent request. We asked how the teacher introduced certain routines in the classroom. The teacher replied that she had introduced routines the same way every year and would not change anything that she was doing. Surprisingly, the principal seemed supportive of the teacher's response, because he sat silently. Neither the principal nor the teacher seemed to truly care about our child. They were very defensive, and their attitudes never portrayed one of wanting to be helpful but of being argumentative. I have never witnessed such unprofessional behavior; especially from a principal. Instead of answering parent questions, the principal and the teacher rolled their eyes and never offered any helpful suggestions or answers. It leads me to assume that answering parent curriculum questions is very much frowned upon. I question whether the principal has ever taught elementary education. The teachers that our child was "learning" from seem to be ill-equipped at managing and teaching young children. Professional development in classroom management and professionalism is greatly needed.

J A Vitovsky Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is great. The teachers are caring and purposeful in their teaching. I had one son complete his elementary education here and my second one is in the 4th grade. I love the bilingual interaction that all students share.

Nearby schools

J A Vitovsky Elementary School
333 Church Street, Midlothian, TX  76065
(972) 775-5536
Last modified J A Vitovsky Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top