Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Longbranch Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 699 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Extreme favoritism is shown to certain students based on popularity, not achievements. Especially if you are a teacher's child. The principal and counselor actually sponsor a sorority type girl's club. They pick and choose who they want to be in this club. Good grades and behavior are supposed to be pre-requisites. However, their personal favorites are the chosen ones. Also, teacher bullies as well as student bullies exist, but the principal defends her crew regardless. The most important thing to her and the rest of the teachers is fashion. Parents are not informed about what they can do to help their kids. Most work is to be done in class so parents are not involved. I thought teachers used to want parents to help educate their kids. Strange philosophy and dictatorship going on at Longbranch. But, if you complain, you risk worse treatment for your child. What a facade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2014

We moved here from a more urban areas and we love it. This school is like going back in time, where the character and actual education of children are valued. It has been a huge blessing to my children and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

My kids have been coming to this school 2 years now and I'm not very happy with the outcome. With the school being over 80% Caucasian and not very many Hispanic children my children seem to be treated differently. Seems like there is a lot of bullying and nothing being done about it. My son was stung by a bee came home with a knot on his head and I never received a call about it. They are good about helping the kids and trying to help about with kids who need the extra help. The teachers worry to much about fashion and ways to stand out then other things that are more important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2012

This is the only school system and the only area I would live in, in Midlothian due to the Smokestack Report by USA Today--it's the only area with clean air, so I am happy to report it is a wonderful school with caring teachers, involved parents, good families, good kids. High standards and great programs! If you are considering moving the Midlothian, you definitely want to stay in the Longbranch area--if you find a house for sale in this area, grab it quick!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

Awesome school. Principal is tough but fair, wont bend the rules for anyone but cares about everyone. Both my children love it and we have not had any issues with any teachers from kinder to 4th!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2012

The teachers at this school are great. My children have loved their teachers! Parents are very involved. The only bad part is the principal. I have never met anyone who is happy with her. I have very bad experiences myself with her. I've heard that some have moved out of the district because of their problems with her! It's really sad because there are wonderful teachers there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

We love, love, love this school! Longbranch has outstanding teachers, great staff, and the overall atmosphere of this school is amazing! When my daughter was in 2nd grade, she was lagging behind in reading, and they worked so hard with her, and brought her up to grade level by the end of the year. Now in 4th, she is doing great, and being challenged daily. I am so blessed to live in district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

It was the best school I ever worked in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

Principal rating should be marked higher. During the spring of '08 Kelly Madden became the new principal. She has a warm and pleasing affect and is highly visible and involved with both the students and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

Longbranch is a wonderful school! We have been a part of the Longbranch 'family' for four years now. The teacher's genuinely care for the students. The teacher's at Longbranch set high expectations for their students and then teach to those expectations. There is much communication among the school and parents. Parents are always kept informed. The Specials teachers give 100% all the time when instructing their students and always seem to make it fun. Math Mania night, the Art Show, Jump Rope For Heart, Musical productions by each grade level, talent shows, and the student wax museum are some of the wonderful things Longbranch puts on for its students and parents. There is much parent involvement and many opportunities to get involved. The Principal and Assistant Principal are wonderful as well. You will see many smiling happy faces at Longbranch from faculty and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

This is our first full year at Longbranch and we are very happy with the education our son is receiving. We came from a great school in a larger district and were afraid LB would not measure up but it has exceeded expectations. The teachers are caring and use a lot of imagination in there teachings. The extracurricular activities such as music and P.E. are very enriching . I have been very impressed with the level of parent involvement . I would recommend LB to any parents looking to buy a home in the Midlothian area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2006

THis School has a great principal and is a wonderful school, i can't say enough good about this school. they have done a good job helping my child get ready for the taks test. i would recomend this school to anyone. music, art, and pe are all available in this school and my child is very happy with all of these classes. the teachers really go above and beyond there call of duty. the lunches in this school are very healthy and tasty. my child has improved in all areas. we even had a pep rally before the taks test this week and my childs teacher called our home and wished her good luck on her test the next day. we have plenty of playgounds for the children to play on and the programs done each year by the music teacher are so cute and fun i just cant say enough
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

My kids hated Longbranch and I am so glad they will be going to Baxter this year. I can definately see why their test scores went down. Although my son received commended performance on his TAKS. His grades were horrible. The teacher kept loosing his papers. I have heard similar stories from other parents. The principal did not care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

My daughter loves this school! The teachers and staff know each child by name and treat them as valued members of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Longbranch is an excellent school. I have been through 3rd and 4th with one child and now a have a kindergartener there. The leadership is especially good but above all what makes it an above average school is the parent participation. This carries over into exracurriculars and academics. This school keeps parents involved and most parents in this district really are concerned with their childrens education. There is a growing over crowding problem that has caused the quality of teacher to lower somewhat recently but as the new schools are added I hope we will be able attract better, more seasoned teachers to our district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Longbranch is an exemplary school. The teachers and principles are too wrapped up in test scores. My kids do not like this school. There is not many extracurricular activities. They take away recess and school parties too soon. I havent see much parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

127 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

126 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

118 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

115 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female93%
Male100%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Male96%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education71%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female86%
Male91%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education67%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students84%
Female85%
Male84%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education63%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female88%
Male89%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education75%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education60%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students87%
Female91%
Male81%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education50%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education75%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students93%
Female91%
Male96%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education58%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female77%
Male90%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education45%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 29%
Hispanic 15% 52%
Black 5% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 2%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6631 Farm-To-Market 1387
Midlothian, TX 76065
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 775-2830

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Life School Red Oak
Waxahachie, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT